We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ajua Maya - CLOSED

Ajua Maya
5a Avenida entre Ave 38 y Calle 40 | Via 5a en Playa by the Sea, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 984 873 2523
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Steakhouse, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fine dining in a casual sophisticated atmosphere with live Latin jazz and salsa every night. Specializing in Flambes at your table, Lobster, Steaks, authentic Mayan and Mexican cuisines, Mestizo recipes and, of course, our fabulous staff and excellent service. Perfect for a romantic dinner or a group event, wedding receptions or rehearsal dinners.
Edmundston, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Went to Ajua on the recommendation of Isabelle at the resort and was not disappointed. Good waiters, good service and food. Very fun night in Playa del Carmen!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    10
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Lively place but probably better places to go for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

A lot of seafood and steak on the menu with a Mayan flair. I would not call this a mexican restaurant if you are looking for tacos and enchiladas. The waiters carry drinks on their heads and the service is wonderful. Fresh tossed caesar salad made right in front of you. Food cooked at your table was enjoyable to watch. Fun atmosphere. The food was decent. Not terribly expensive but wouldn't say it was a value. However, the kids quesadilla was terrible. I tried it and told my child not to eat it. Later that night my tummy had rumblings. Not sure if it was the eggs in the caesar or the ice in the drink but it was the only time in my trip that the food did not agree with me. So many hip and hot restaurants downtown that I wish we would have researched a bit more.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We helped to host our daughter's wedding reception at the Ajua Maya. We were so pleased and everything was great. Brenda and her staff were easy to work with in planning the party. Everything was set up beautifully and they even incorporated some decorations we had brought down. The food and service were both excellent. The staff made it a very fun and enjoyable experience. Thanks to Brenda, Jorge and all the staff who helped us make an important day even more memorable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I loved the old Ajua.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have been to Playa del Carmen 8 times in 13 years. We love this destination. We first came upon Ajua by accident, and became fan favorites. each year we would come back and bring new friends along to experience the wonderful, fun staff and the quaintness of the resaurant. It was rustic and so very mexican. The waiters were so much fun. They would bring your drinks to you on their heads and pretend to drop them in your lap. They even had a pillow sort of thing that they would place on your shoulders.. It was a funny stuffed mexican figure that brought much laughter and a perfect picture moment. The food was always good and reasonable. We always ordered the lobster and never disappointed. We loved this place. I have many scrapbooks with our visits to Ajua.

This year we took a cab to the old location only to find that it is closed and now located on 5th Avenida and Via 38. Way up North from the previous location! We decided to walk the distance and had to ask several times how much longer. It gave us an oppuritunity see how much Play del Carmen has grown since our last visit. I saw lots of shops with glass doors and windows. Much has changed from the quaint fun town to more upscale shops along with several new American shops and fast food joints. Sad. We finally arrive to Ajua and find that it is like the new stores along 5th Avenida. Glass doors with a few tables outside. It was much smaller that the last location. I noticed the heavy leather menu's and said Oh Oh. Big changes. This place has become pretentious We noticed that the prices have increased considerably from our last visit. The waiters were attentive but subdued. We ordered the ceaser salad made tableside and it was such a long presentation that I got bored. The salad was just OK. We ordered the 10oz lobster tail and it was on the dry side. We spent 2,155 pesos for four and felt so disappointed. I dont like to write bad reviews as I try to see the positive in all, but this was a hit that hurt. We went back to Play del Carmen and went to another fan favorite restaurant and enjoyed it much better than Ajua.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Expensive but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We ate there one fine evening and had great service except we were behind a couple of large parties so the service was off a lot. They brought the salad with the mains and we sent it back. No problems with it being taken off the bill and they comped some after dinner drinks as a token of thier regrets. Overall great food and very nice wait staff. The owners came by and we super nice. Tableside service is fun.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ajua Maya also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ajua Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.