We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and perfect service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carboncitos

Carboncitos
4th Street | Between 5th and 10th Avenues, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 984 873 1382
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: ****** We Do Not Accept Credit Cards ******Carboncitos serves authentic Mexican, Mayan, Charcoal Grilled Steaks & Seafood at an attractive price. Be it breakfast, lunch, happy hour, or dinner; it's the consistently delicious meals served that keeps guests returning again and again.
Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good food and perfect service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a mixed plate for two and it was a feast. We loved the food and also the very kind service. It was 50 USD for two persons total.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you Kili for taking the time to write your review.

We know you traveled a long way for your vacation & we a are delighted that we were able to create a great dining experience for you both.

Thank you for the kind words & we hope to see you return one day.

Kili, we know there are many restaurants in Playa del Carmen so thank you for choosing Carboncitos.
Owner
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,111
    410
    103
    35
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Opelika, AL
Level Contributor
109 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Awesome food and drinks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We went here after reading all the reviews on Tripadvisor. It was a $5 cab ride from Gran Porto Real. Not bad given the heat in July. The Margaritas were great (not a usual thing in Mexico, for me) and the beer was cold. We got the salsa wheel and concocted our own special mixes for ourselves. Too fun! That was filling enough. Then we got real food! Everything we had was great. Would order anything there. Excellent!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you Jerri S for taking the time to write your review.

We really appreciate the kind words & we are delighted that you had a great dining experience.

Jerri, we know there are many restaurants in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Carboncitos & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera
Owner
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tacos al Pastor for me, Grouper for my wife.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We've been coming here for 3 years, and Carboncitos is one of my favorite places to stop and get the tacos al pastor platter and a bucket of cervezas for happy hour, right after coming up from the beach. My wife was burned out on tacos, because that's all I seem to eat, so she ordered the grouper one afternoon. It looked fabulous, and she said it was simply fantastic. We also came here for dinner another night, and I once again got the tacos al pastor, but this time she ordered the lobster. She said to die for! Also, check out their breakfast if you want some great enfrijolados or huevos a la Mexicana. A must stop while you're in Playa del Carmen! And the price and service is just right.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you Dan for taking the time to write your review.

It was a pleasure to have met you and your family & we are delighted that you really enjoyed yourselves .

We really appreciate the kind words & the recommendation.

Dan, we know there are many restaurants here in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Carboncitos & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera
Owner
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Truly Authentic, great food, great location the real deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We keep coming back this is what Playa del carmen is about......this is real Mexican food and drink in a casual setting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you Noconnor for taking the time to write your review.

We really appreciate that you enjoy your selves enough to keep coming back & for the kind words.

Noconnor, we know there are many restaurants here in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Carboncitos & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera
Owner
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pastor al carbon - the best in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This simply the best mexican food in the world.

Me and my wife been there to have our first meal every time we go in Playa del Carmen.

It been 8 year that we travel to Mexico for a few months and we been to hundreds of places, nothing compare to the Carboncitos.

Now our daugther loves it as much as we do.

The staff and the owner are awesome and will never try to rip you off with the prices, the tip or other classic Mexican tactics.

Every one speak english and smile all the time, you can tell that they love the place even more than we do.

Long life to the Carboncitos.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you Nicolas for taking the time to write your review.


We are just delighted that you feel we are the best in the world & you had a great dining experience.

Thank you for the kind words & we really appreciate the fact that you have been our guests for over 8 years, it really means a lot to us.

Nicolas, we know there are many restaurants in Playa del Carmen so thank you for choosing Carboncitos & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera

Owner
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carboncitos also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Carboncitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carboncitos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.