We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, as always!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palms Condominiums

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Royal Palms Condominiums to your Saves list
Royal Palms Condominiums
26th Street and 5th Avenue, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Dallas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful, as always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I can't say enough good things about this place, but I will try! As a point of reference I should start by telling you that I have been coming to Playa since 2003 and have stayed at many of the more prominent hotels including the Royal Porto Real, the Royal Hideaway, Mosquito Blue and the Riu Palace and those hotels were all excellent choices. However, several years ago I discovered Royal Palms Condominiums and I have stayed there every visit since --- sometimes even twice in the same year. Let's start with location ---- right on the corner of the 5th Avenida and in the newer, more upscale stretch of the avenue to boot! Wonderful restaurants to choose from and very easy walking distance to the beach [a couple of blocks] and a mega supermarket! The finish out of the condos [I have stayed in at least 4 different ones and have seen 2 others] is top notch and at least as nice [in my opinion nicer] than that of the rooms/suites of any of the top flight hotels I mentioned above. The condos are all well appointed with TVs, internet access and all the cooking utensils/place settings you might want. The maid service they provide is flawless. I have never had a single security issue and have always felt safe as it is a gated access condominium and they always have a very pleasant security attendant on duty in the evening. You also get complementary access to a state of the art gym [beats the heck out of my Gold's Gym in the U.S.!] which is located a mere block from the condo. They can coordinate a car service to pick you up from Cancun airport at a very competitive rate. Last and certainly not least ---- the staff at Royal Palms is top of the line from the time you start booking your stay and throughout. Claudette and Juan in particular have been extremely helpful and will do everything to make your stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

This is an extremely well located small condominimum on the corner of 5th Ave (the main street) and Calle 26. It's at the newer, more up-market end of Playa del Carmen, very close to the Mamitas Beach club, which has far and away the nicest beach.

The condo (number 8) is spacious, well furnished, carefully and creatively decorated, and very comfy. Cable tv in the living room and master bedroom (with flat-screens with HDMI inputs - at least in the bedroom - so you can watch movies from your PC). Great roof terrace with seating and a jacuzzi, second jacuzzi in the master bathroom.

Everything required for a comfortable stay is here - plenty of sheets, towels, beach towels, beach umbrellas, extremely well stocked kitchen. They also provide plenty of soap, bath products, loo roll etc, and a proper water dispenser thingy - you don't need to buy any of that stuff yourself, which is nice.

Staff are great - invisible other than when you need them, when they're super helpful and attentive. 24 hour security - absolutely no issue with bringing guests into the building.

One small downside - there are several quite noisy bars nearby, which tend to be busy on different nights. My bedroom happens to face one of them, which makes for a noisy night on Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturdays. A glass of wine and some earplugs and the problem evaporates, however!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

After years of staying in hotels we finally decided to try a condo vacation. We were fortunate to spend a week at the Royal Palms Condos in suite 3, February 20 - 27, 2011. Upon arrival we were very pleased to see that the condo - building, pool area, and suite - were exactly as shown in photos on their website and Tripadvisor.

We booked directly through the Royal Palms website. Our thanks to Juan who responded to our emails and was very helpful answering our questions, taking care of our needs during our stay, and arranging our transportation to the airport. We appreciated meeting Dave and Claudette, who checked us into our suite and made sure we were comfortable. Great people, great staff!

Suite 3 was fully equipped with everything we required; a/c; safe; washer and dryer; full size fridge and stove; plenty of hot water; full bathroom upstairs off the large loft bedroom, and a bathroom on the main floor. The kitchen in this unit is small, which was fine for us as we only used it for breakfast or light cooking. Everything was in good working order and the housekeeping staff (very nice ladies) came through the unit twice during our stay.

The condo location is ideal - 5 minutes to the beach and only steps away from the always entertaining 5th Ave. It’s less than a kilometer to the Mega store for all your grocery and bakery needs - for us it was a novelty to grocery shop while on vacation. My husband fell in love with Mega’s bakery department and had to make frequent trips there.

This was a scuba diving vacation and this condo is only a four minute walk to Mexico Blue Dream’s dive shop located on Calle 28 on the way to the beach. We snorkeled with them last year and returned as divers this year. Excellent service!

This was our fourth trip to Playa del Carmen, we always fly in and out of terminal 2 at the Cancun airport, and for the first time we discovered there is a very nice park area just across the street from the main doors into the terminal. It was a very restful place to relax while waiting until we were ready to go through the security screening.

Everyone we met at the Royal Palms added to the enjoyment of our vacation; the staff, and the guests - many of whom we met were repeat customers to this condo and we can understand why they keep coming back. This is truly a beautiful building, very well maintained, and cared for.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennesse
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

If you are ready to make the jump from all-inclusives to condo living, this is the condo for you. It has the comfort and security of being at home and is a block from the best beach and beach clubs in all of Playa. The Royal Palms is professionaly managed by a Canadian couple(Dave and Claudette) with an excellent native staff who are among the friendliest people you will ever meet. The facility is kept in like new condition by the maintainence crew that responded immediately to any needs that we had. The Royal Palms is located on the north end of Playa del Carmen thirty feet away from 5th Avenue and a block or so from the ocean. The north end has the better beaches and is far enough away from the nightclubs, that go until 3 or 4 in the morning, to be able to get a good nights sleep. It also has the better restaurants and upscale shops but is a nice stroll to the older section of 5th Ave. The management gave quick response by phone or e-mail and answered all our questions as well as arranged for our transportation needs. Taxis are readily available and cheap. Plenty of supermarkets to stock your kitchen and bar from.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

My wife left her purse in the ladies room at the Cancun airport. Upon arrival in PDC she realized her purse was missing. The staff at the Royal Palms (Claudette and Dave) jumped through hoops to get through to the airport lost and found to retrieve it. It was found cash and credit cards intact (a Mexican Miracle!). They got a temporary hold on the credit cards. They arranged for a cab driver to pickup and return it. Can not say enough about their efforts. Now, on to the hotel. Beautiful, quiet oasis. A perfect get away. Well maintained, great staff (thanks Juan, Claudette and Dave), wonderful landscaping, great maid staff. We return year after year. Yeah Royal Palms!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

behind this locked gate there are clean, charming, very comfortable and upscale units. We stayed in four differents so far and they are all superb. The fact that there are only 11 units make this place unique and private. You meet the same tenants over the years. That a sign!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Stayed in unit #7 for several days, Beautiful set up with two master bedrooms. Unit is clean and the roof top space is functional and fun. The location is fantastic and the beach nearby is the best. I highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Palms Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Condominiums

Address: 26th Street and 5th Avenue, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palms features our high-end, luxury collection of private homes for rent.The Royal Palms is a boutique collection of 10 private condo homes, each offering a vast and unique array of amenities and serviced by Playa del Carmen's leading vacation condo rental company, BRIC Vacation Rentals. The Royal Palms offers 1, 2 and 3 bedroom homes, available for weekly and daily rentals with the benefits of hotel like service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Palms Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Condominiums Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Palms Condominiums Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palms Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.