We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yaxche Maya Cuisine

Yaxche Maya Cuisine
Av. 5ta y Calle 22 | Colonia Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 (984) 8733011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #126 of 768 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Yaxche (pronounced jag-shey) Maya cuisine restaurant is located in Playa del Carmen, Mexico. We serve the Maya culinary art in a unique style. Dining at Yaxche will be a quest into the Mayan World where you will find the flavors of the region in a unique environment that combines both ancient and cosmopolitan elements.
Yardley Gobion, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Yaxche is slightly overpriced, it on 5th avenue mind you. But the food is good. I had the Pibxcatik which was lovely and quite spicy, they did warn me! The ambiance is quite good and the selection is great. What took the gloss off slightly was the service and the waiter taking our photo (insisting) and then disappearing never to be seen again without any reason as to why. Was a bit odd. However, the food was good, we had lunch and it was very quiet but in the evening it gets busy so be prepared.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    235
    122
    47
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely delish food with top notch service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The food was wonderful which was pleasantly surprising since it was in a tourist area. The staff was very accommodating and even helped us change our flight!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Haute Mayan cuisine ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

You can miss and experience the peculiarity of the Mayan cuisine and this is the right place to go. A mix of traditional dishes surrounded by a nice atmosphere and a great service. You might not understand some of the Mayan names of local fruits or vegetables, but take the chance and try them. Totally worth it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice meals at American prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We visited this restaurant with friends for their birthday and enjoyed the meal and the cake. The food was good quality but we felt it was overpriced. The service was great. A nice night out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Mayan delight in Playa del Carmen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Playa del Carmen is filled with nice restaurants, local ones and touristic ones. It was our last meal before going back to California and we wanted something different. We also wanted Air Conditioning!!! after eating in so many places outdors ( Nothing like Mexico for "al fresco food").
It was early, most people around 5ta avenida were eating brunch or breakfast but we were ready for a light lunch. Yaxche had a nice menu, we try the tamales plate and the tacos one but mayan style. Interesting flavors and very fresh. The service was wonderful.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yaxche Maya Cuisine also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Yaxche Maya Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yaxche Maya Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.