We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold beer and swings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pez Vela

Pez Vela
Calle 2, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
(984) 873 0999
Improve this listing
Ranked #245 of 787 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Cold beer and swings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The first time I came to mexico I found this place and enjoyed drinking cold beer and swinging at the bar. Now many moons and trips later we still enjoy this place. We recently enjoyed many beers at this bar waiting for a certain store to open. The store open but we stayed and enjoyed the bar longer. The guacamole and quesadillas were both very good. As was the surprise I recieved before we left. We always have a good time here. Say hi to Pepe for us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    82
    32
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pez Food Rules!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I can not specify a meal that was the best .. but I just went to the restaurant Pez Vela and I got a chicken breast stuffed with cheese and spinach, with a mushroom sauce and pasta.

As it was so good I ordered the same dish twice that time ... in fact right now is making my mouth watering just to remember ...

The drinks were fantastic, My best recommendation if you are going to Playa del Carmen look for the swings, and ask for the marketing manager Pepe, usually this walking down the tables making sure all is well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome restaurant and bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Thanks for the great food and service. We eat breakfast here every time we come to town. Our favorite waiter is Luis who works breakfast and lunch such a great person. Everything we have eaten here has been great, my wife loves the fresh cut fruit with yogert and granola, I get omlets; all items are awesome. We really enjoy the mornings setting out front relaxing and enjoying our meal and conversation. They also serve the best Magaritas in Playa you must try them but be careful they will sneek up on you. If you visit Playa stop by here you will know it because it is on the corner and has a very large Ficus tree and swings at the bar, ask for Luis.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice but a bit pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Visited the restaurant with our family. We found it to be overpriced for the caliber of food served. Service was slow and the food average.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had breakfast every morning during our week stay in PDC. GREAT chiliquilles (regular and Mayan), Chorizo Omlet was quite tasty, and the salsas were fresh and spicy!!! The staff provided great service and were very friendly and helpful. Best location for people watching as well. Didn't try for other meals but for breakfast a must try.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pez Vela also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Pez Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pez Vela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.