We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“E1 at Luna Encantada...Great review...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Encantada Vacation Condos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Luna Encantada Vacation Condos to your Saves list
Luna Encantada Vacation Condos
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Calle 6 y El Playa, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“E1 at Luna Encantada...Great review...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We just got back from 8 nights in E1. We had a wonderful experience with the condo and would highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in downtown Playa. We have been going to PDC for years and this was the first time we rented a condo vs staying at a nearby hotel. I was a bit apprehensive at first but the minute we walked onto the property everything was perfect. I was more than impressed with the cleaning folks and having a security guard at the gate 24/7 is nice. You can also get food and drinks from the friendly waiter who serves the property. The location can not be beat, just steps from 5th Ave and even closer to the Caribbean! E1 is on the ground floor which we thought was ideal as we have young kids and a grandma traveling with us, so no stairs and to slide your door open to the pool was perfect. Each of the units look pretty similar as well. It is very likely that we will stay at Luna Encantada again. I liked the fact that its a smaller property, some of the competing properties nearby like El Faro or El Taj seem too big, too many rooms, etc. Luna is much more intimate and peaceful. As no review can be 100% perfect the only real criticism I can make is that the king bed in the master sweet was a bit hard. I did not mind but that would be about the only change I could see them making, a softer mattress. It would also be nice if there was some form of gym membership nearby, some of the other condos on the north side of town come with a gym membership to get a workout in, but hey, running on the beach and morning laps in the pool does the trick.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    20
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
55
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is a relatively higher end condo building right on the beach. There's a lovely (though small) infinity pool from where you can watch the ocean waves. The beach location is awesome - Fusion restaurant to the left, which has fantastic food and will serve you on your beach lounger in front of Luna Encantada. To the right is a place that has massages and a rental place for water scooters and snorkeling and diving trips. It's right on 5th avenue, the pedestrian street with restaurants and shops that is great to walk on for people watching, food and shopping. We were two families with one ground floor condo right on the beach and one rooftop condo with a terrace. They have their own pros and cons so it all depends on your preference. I like to be able to instantly walk out on the sand so I preferred our ground floor. We could also hear the live music from Fusion and they always had good bands. Once we went into the condo and shut the door we could not hear anything so it was perfect! The terrace in the other condo was lovely to hang out in the evening with drinks - it has fabulous views of the ocean. But you have to climb three flights of stairs or wait for a slow elevator to get to and from the beach. The furnishings and condition of this condo are much nicer than some of the other condos in the area.

Room Tip: Ground floor for beach house feel. Top floor for terrace views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We have stayed countless times at Luna Encantada in different condos & they are all unique. (C3, B3, C1, E1, E3, B2, G3) We have enjoyed many stays in E3 which is a 3 bedroom with a rooftop with loungers, hammocks and sitting area. Amazing views from there. We used the charcoal grill many nights. Our kids love the infinity pool, and going back & forth to the ocean. It's a wonderful perk to have private loungers on the beach (no chair wars) & service from Fusion next door if you want a drink however being a big group we just pack snacks (bought at Walmart) & throw them in a cooler and eat/drink on the beach. Great housekeeping, spacious condos & everything at your finger tips! Playa Beach Getaways & Tonya Sarina are #1 to work with, and have always provided us with an amazing vacation at Luna. Once you stay at Luna you'll never go back to a busy resort!! PS make sure you take a day trip to Xel Ha waterpark. Great prices, all inclusive food & drink!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We have stayed at this complex 3 times and it has always been the perfect place. right on the beach in the front, and in the middle of town in the back. Our favorite place to vacation. There is also a bar and restaurant right next door that usually delivers to the beach!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We were in Playa del Carmen from February 6 - 21, 2014 and stayed in two seperate units in Luna Encantada - A3 and B2. It was a great place to stay! Staff were very accommodating and friendly. Both units were very clean when we checked in. Although, the previous guests in one of the units had cooked fish and stored fish in the automatic ice cube maker - once the smell dissipated and we cleaned out the automatic ice cube maker all was well. Along with "no smoking in the units", if I was an owner, I would also not allow fish to be cooked inside - only on the BBQ. Wifi and phone service was promised in the advertisement and delivered! When we return to Playa del Carmen we will definitely look to stay here again. Just outside the hotel on the beach you can get a relaxation massage for $20.00 - well worth it! There is little bar outside the front locked gate and the bartender makes a drink called a "Miami Vice"( pinacoloda and strawberry daquiri combined) - delicious. Quiet place to stay with dancing and shopping a 2 minute walk upto 5th Avenue.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We rented a beach front condo on the ground floor. I cannot say enough about how much we loved our stay. Steps to the pool or beach. Well stocked condo even with laundry facilities. The service staff were friendly, kind and helpful. Especially enjoyed Gabriel who looked after the beach area.
The location to all amenities was great. Very close to the restaurants and shopping of Fifth Ave. But if you want cheaper, more local options all you have to do is walk up to 30th Ave where the locals eat. Several good places up there. There is an Oxxo store just up 6th St from the condo for any last minute groceries. Walmart and Mega up on 30th Ave have everything else you need.
It is also close to the ferry over to Cozumel.
The only negatives we found were that the dishwasher did not work (it ran but I don't think the water got hot enough to actually clean anything. Even an ice cream bowl came out with ice cream still in it!). The small third "bedroom" was quite bright at night from the light outside. It is the walkway area for the upper condos.
These are pretty small issues. Would totally recommend this place if you are looking for a great alternative to an all inclusive. We felt safe and had a fantastic holiday. Definitely recommend the van pick up from the airport as well.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Luna Encantada is an "upscale" ocean-front condo complex with the best location In Playa Del Carmen. There is a beautiful pool area, plenty of beach chairs & umbrellas, and underground parking. You can walk to dozens of restaurants and Fifth Avenue is just a short block away. The management is very helpful and provide excellent security.

We stayed one week in H2 and could not have been more pleased. It is a spacious 2 bedroom/2 bathroom unit on the second floor and has incredible views of the pool and beach. The furnishings are very nice, kitchen is extremely well equipped and beds are comfortable. There is a washer & dryer and plenty of towels.

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Encantada Vacation Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Encantada Vacation Condos

Address: Calle 6 y El Playa, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luna Encantada Vacation Condos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 luxury condos ideally located on the beach in the charming and bustling village of Playa del Carmen. Walk to everything from your vacation home by the sea. You'll make this vacation again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Luna Encantada Vacation Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Encantada Vacation Condos Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Luna Encantada Vacation Condos Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Encantada Vacation Condos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.