We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel in downtown Playa Del Carmen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Ticul to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Ticul
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida entre calle 38 y calle 40 lote 8 | Zacil Ha, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel in downtown Playa Del Carmen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at Casa Ticul on January 2013. This is a great boutique hotel located on 5th avenue in Playa Del Carmen. The hotel is not on the beach and has a swimming pool, though a really tiny one. We never tried it :) However, we loved the location of the hotel - downtown area, really safe right next to tons of restaurants, bars, lounges and shopping area. 5th avenue is the happening place in Playa del Carmen, so the location was superb. The hotel itself and the room was cute, clean, beautifully decorated. Each morning we got delicious breakfast. The staff in the hotel was super helpful, especially on the front desk. The guy there went out and beyond to help us plan our trip to Chichen Itza, recommended money exchange places, bars to go to and local food. Also, he gave us passes to 3 hotels at the beach (walking distance 2 minutes), so we had no problem lounging at the beach. Great place with great service. Would go back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Of the most important values ​​for ticul House is the Mexican hospitality that always attentive and helpful, so that you feel like you're in your own home.
thanks for the comment! We do know that we are on the right way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    155
    33
    8
    3
See reviews for
30
402
47
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is a pretty good hotel, in a quietish part of the strip (if you can call it quiet) and good proximity to the beach.

They have incredibly amazing breakfast every morning and the staff on the rooftop deck and so helpful and attentive. This was the best part of the stay for me.
The rooms were ok nothing special, large and comfy beds though but I will said the cleaners did a remarkable job daily.

Cons
- Bathroom smelt stale, not ventilation or perhaps another problem not sure. But really after a few days it good really bad. We were in Room 12.
- Noise outside our room was bad, staff constantly chatting right outside our room, probably the same for anyone staying on the 1st level. Mentioned this to the duty managers.
- Rented a car through them for ease and peace of mind. Ended up costing more and they charged me for petrol I did not use (without my permission!) I complained to Caroline the DM and she said she would fix it. When we returned a few hours later Diego was on and knew nothing about it. Hence we have been charged so poor service here.
Basically you should rent direct, save yourself the hassle.

Apart from that they were helpful organising tours (though I wouldn't recommend the Chichen Itza Tour use a car) and always very helpful.

If I came again though I would probably try somewhere else.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on 1st level as they are probably more noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Always the good reviews are the ones that make you realize points for improvement.
We appreciate your comments, it is true that we always have to work and you have given us more ideas.

Thanks for the comment! The idea is to always be better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We are a 30yo couple who spent 3 nights in Casa Ticul and would absolutely stay there again. The hotel is quiet but close enough to the action should you want big nights out. Breakfast on the rooftop was simple but delicious and the 2 chefs were lovely women. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and the staff could not have been more helpful. They also have access to a great selection of beach clubs.
If you want the resort experience, then this isn't for you. If you just want a place to stay that is comfortable and amazing value for money, then just book it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks for the comment!
If you are looking for a hotel to be pampered in the morning with a delicious breakfast and later you can walk into any of the 3 beach clubs ofrecemos.Nosotros are the best option for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Hotel Casa Ticul is a great little boutique hotel on a quiet part of the strip. The rooms are clean and modern, and the beds are incredibly comfortable.
The staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly.
They serve a nice breakfast every morning on the rooftop. The young women who cook up there are very charming. It's a great way to start the day.
The hotel provides you with beach passes to a couple of the beachfront resorts (The nearest and best one is Las Palapas).
A tip: Take the ADO bus from Cancun and get off at the first stop in Playa. The hotel is an easy walk from it.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice. Probably the lower level rooms are quieter because the music from the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Hotel Casa Ticul is a lovely hotel located at the beginning of Playa del Carmen's main street. Due to its location at the beginning of the main street, it is quiet and peaceful in the evenings. Nevertheless, it only needs about 5 minutes walking time until you are in the heart of Playa del Carmen. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. There are very good traditional Mexican restaurants around the hotel. The hotel rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast is served on the beautiful roof top on the hotel, the perfect start into a new day. We will definitely come back to Hotel Casa Ticul the next time we are visiting Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Our guests love the authentic Mexican hospitality we offer to all who choose to spend their holidays.

Thanks for letting us be your hosts in our beautiful Mexico!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Fantastic service me and my partner where continualy amazed at the travel advice from small local eateries to guided day trip services, very friendly staff, clean and close to everything you need in playa

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks for the comment!

If you just want to have a vacation where walking can accomplish several of the main activities of the destination as walking down Fifth Avenue, pick your favorite beach club and enjoy the Caribbean, we are the choice for excellence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is lovely. We stayed for 3 nights at the end of our trip around Mexico and found it very relaxing while it also gave us good access to the local restaurants. Our room was spacious and furnished to a high standard. The breakfast each morning was delicious and all of the staff we extremely friendly and helpful. This hotel offers great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are sure that we are a good choice if you're on the end of your trip and want to have a few days of peace and real Mexican hospitality.

Thanks for the comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Casa Ticul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Ticul

Address: Avenida entre calle 38 y calle 40 lote 8 | Zacil Ha, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Ticul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated style with Mexican tradition - for adults only, this is a restful and exclusive hideaway in Playa del Carmen where tradition and modernity merge - making the ideal escape for couples looking for a romantic get-away. Casa Ticul is much more than just a hotel; it is a home away from home where our personalized service and warm atmosphere ensure a peaceful vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Splendia, Odigeo, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Casa Ticul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ticul Hotel
Hotel Casa Ticul Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Ticul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.