We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet, Modern, Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa Ticul to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Ticul
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida entre calle 38 y calle 40 lote 8 | Zacil Ha, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$83 (USD)
Ranked #36 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sweet, Modern, Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Hotel Casa Ticul is a great little boutique hotel on a quiet part of the strip. The rooms are clean and modern, and the beds are incredibly comfortable.
The staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly.
They serve a nice breakfast every morning on the rooftop. The young women who cook up there are very charming. It's a great way to start the day.
The hotel provides you with beach passes to a couple of the beachfront resorts (The nearest and best one is Las Palapas).
A tip: Take the ADO bus from Cancun and get off at the first stop in Playa. The hotel is an easy walk from it.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice. Probably the lower level rooms are quieter because the music from the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    140
    32
    7
    2
See reviews for
23
367
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Hotel Casa Ticul is a lovely hotel located at the beginning of Playa del Carmen's main street. Due to its location at the beginning of the main street, it is quiet and peaceful in the evenings. Nevertheless, it only needs about 5 minutes walking time until you are in the heart of Playa del Carmen. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. There are very good traditional Mexican restaurants around the hotel. The hotel rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast is served on the beautiful roof top on the hotel, the perfect start into a new day. We will definitely come back to Hotel Casa Ticul the next time we are visiting Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Our guests love the authentic Mexican hospitality we offer to all who choose to spend their holidays.

Thanks for letting us be your hosts in our beautiful Mexico!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Fantastic service me and my partner where continualy amazed at the travel advice from small local eateries to guided day trip services, very friendly staff, clean and close to everything you need in playa

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks for the comment!

If you just want to have a vacation where walking can accomplish several of the main activities of the destination as walking down Fifth Avenue, pick your favorite beach club and enjoy the Caribbean, we are the choice for excellence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is lovely. We stayed for 3 nights at the end of our trip around Mexico and found it very relaxing while it also gave us good access to the local restaurants. Our room was spacious and furnished to a high standard. The breakfast each morning was delicious and all of the staff we extremely friendly and helpful. This hotel offers great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are sure that we are a good choice if you're on the end of your trip and want to have a few days of peace and real Mexican hospitality.

Thanks for the comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville Al
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Casa Ticul. It's a beautiful place, inside and out, and the staff is tremendously helpful. The room was also quite spacious, and the breakfast on the rooftop was good. On the downside, our balcony room faced the bar across the street, which was a bit loud, so if you don't stay up late, make sure to ask for a room not facing that bar (I think there are some). As far as the beach access, it's a short walk to a place to lay out, but if you want an umbrella, it's a slightly further walk to the "clubs" that the hotel has an agreement with - these aren't a bad deal, as you have to buy $16 (200 pesos) worth of food or drinks in order to use the umbrella (for the closest location). There is a great place for lunch next door (good Ceviche), and a quite elegant place across the street. The location on the north side of 5th Avenue was a little bit out of the way, but not bad. If you have a car (which I recommend if you like exploring), there is plenty of free and close parking. One more comment; it seems like hotels are moving away from having furniture with drawers! I don't understand this - I really like to put my clothes away in drawers, and I like to have my bedside stuff in a drawer. Having everything out really makes it seem cluttered.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from street if you plan to go to bed early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks for the comment! is true that the Fifth Avenue now has nightlife, but our location is a privileged to be surrounded by good gastronomic proposals.
Walking to the beach in just 5 minutes, you can make a day easy and fun.

Thanks for the suggestion of the closet, take consider your opineon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongsberg, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at Casa Ticul for 4 nights. The jr. Suite was nice. We are very satisfied with our stay. The staff was friendly and helpful at all times. Rooms nice and clean. Bed was comfortable. Great to have breakfast at roof the terrace. Super location. Quiet, yet in walking distance of everything. Beach, restaurants...
Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Jr. Suite has a balcony and was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
The junior suite is our largest room with a balcony overlooking Fifth Avenue, it is true that many guests love, although the standard rooms are just beautiful!

Thanks for the nice comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Casa Ticul is a nice hotel at the less busy end of Aveninda 5 but still close enough to the shops and restaurants and a short walk from the beach.
Rooms are clean and spacious and breakfast is served on the rooftop by friendly staff.
We enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
walking distance to all the beaches, shops and restaurants is what characterizes our location, so our guests return year after year with us!

Thanks for the comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Ticul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Ticul

Address: Avenida entre calle 38 y calle 40 lote 8 | Zacil Ha, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Ticul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated style with Mexican tradition – for adults only, this is a restful and exclusive hideaway in Playa del Carmen where tradition and modernity merge - making the ideal escape for couples looking for a romantic get-away. Casa Ticul is much more than just a hotel; it is a home away from home where our personalized service and warm atmosphere ensure a peaceful vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casa Ticul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ticul Hotel
Hotel Casa Ticul Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Ticul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.