We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Boutique Hotel on edge of 5th Avenue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Ticul to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Ticul
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida entre calle 38 y calle 40 lote 8 | Zacil Ha, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #34 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Huntsville Al
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice Boutique Hotel on edge of 5th Avenue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Casa Ticul. It's a beautiful place, inside and out, and the staff is tremendously helpful. The room was also quite spacious, and the breakfast on the rooftop was good. On the downside, our balcony room faced the bar across the street, which was a bit loud, so if you don't stay up late, make sure to ask for a room not facing that bar (I think there are some). As far as the beach access, it's a short walk to a place to lay out, but if you want an umbrella, it's a slightly further walk to the "clubs" that the hotel has an agreement with - these aren't a bad deal, as you have to buy $16 (200 pesos) worth of food or drinks in order to use the umbrella (for the closest location). There is a great place for lunch next door (good Ceviche), and a quite elegant place across the street. The location on the north side of 5th Avenue was a little bit out of the way, but not bad. If you have a car (which I recommend if you like exploring), there is plenty of free and close parking. One more comment; it seems like hotels are moving away from having furniture with drawers! I don't understand this - I really like to put my clothes away in drawers, and I like to have my bedside stuff in a drawer. Having everything out really makes it seem cluttered.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from street if you plan to go to bed early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks for the comment! is true that the Fifth Avenue now has nightlife, but our location is a privileged to be surrounded by good gastronomic proposals.
Walking to the beach in just 5 minutes, you can make a day easy and fun.

Thanks for the suggestion of the closet, take consider your opineon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    141
    32
    7
    2
See reviews for
24
373
39
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kongsberg, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at Casa Ticul for 4 nights. The jr. Suite was nice. We are very satisfied with our stay. The staff was friendly and helpful at all times. Rooms nice and clean. Bed was comfortable. Great to have breakfast at roof the terrace. Super location. Quiet, yet in walking distance of everything. Beach, restaurants...
Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Jr. Suite has a balcony and was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
The junior suite is our largest room with a balcony overlooking Fifth Avenue, it is true that many guests love, although the standard rooms are just beautiful!

Thanks for the nice comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Casa Ticul is a nice hotel at the less busy end of Aveninda 5 but still close enough to the shops and restaurants and a short walk from the beach.
Rooms are clean and spacious and breakfast is served on the rooftop by friendly staff.
We enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
walking distance to all the beaches, shops and restaurants is what characterizes our location, so our guests return year after year with us!

Thanks for the comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you are traveling without kids and you don't demand beachfront then this is the hotel for you. The value, service, comfort, and cleanliness are all top notch.
We stayed in the junior suite to enjoy the balcony. The bed alone would bring me back! This area of 5th is quieter and we never had a problem with noise. The wi-fi works perfectly and the roof top breakfasts are lovely. We used the beach passes at las Palapas and had lunch and drinks on the beach every day.
You are directly across from an amazing restaurant, Luna Maya. This place is a must for a special experience! We also enjoyed Como Como right next door.
Many thanks to the wonderful staff for a great experience!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Our breakfast is always a great surprise to all who stay with us for its rich flavor and after
it is true that all around us we have a great variety of good restaurants that our guests love

Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baar, Switzerland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel as recommended by TA and it is situated just outside the main tourist area of Ave 5. Check in was super efficient and Diego was very friendly. The room was nice and clean. Wifi is complimentary and fast. We love the breakfast especially the burrito and fresh papaya. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend as it is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thanks for the nice comments!

Our staff is always looking to be efficient with the information we provide to guests, these kinds of comments lets us know that we are on track.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We visited Playa del Carmen in low season, but even so the crowds still overwhelmed me. Casa Ticul was the perfect retreat away from all the hustle and bustle and huge sprawling resorts. It is only a block away from the beach and a ten minute stroll from the main downtown strip. The building itself is quite small,it is more of a boutique hotel, and has been styled in nice contemporary colours. Our room was decorated nicely and and although fairly compact it was comfortable. No terrace or balcony though, as we had an atrium room.
We loved the breakfast, which is included in the very reasonable room rate. It is served on the roof top terrace and in addition to the continental buffet there is a daily hot item cooked to order - the omelette was great. The breakfast waitress and chef were really friendly, it was a nice place to start the day.
Another thing included in the price is the use of a beach club - with sun loungers and a parasol - which is a bonus. You have a choice of three, we used Mamitas as it looked the most comfortable and was close by.

I'm not sure I would return to Playa del Carmen, but if I did I would happily stay at Casa Ticul again - great value and a welcome change from the soul-less resorts there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thanks for the good comments, our Mexican breakfast has always been something that our guests have enjoyed, our location allows just steps visit the beach club options!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at CT for 6 nights and it is a great boutique hotel. Centrally located you can walk to the beach, restaurants and bars. The staff are very friendly and as in the name. The owners want it to feel like your home in style and atmosphere.

Positives. It's comfortable, clean and close to everything. Good buffet breakfast and staff very friendly. And it's a cheap place to stay
Negatives. It is at the end of the 5th ave strip but some nights it was noisy - 2 nights. That's the price you pay to be centrally located but despite this I would stay again.

There is no gym but the have an association with one nearby so we went there. It was fully equipped.


Tip - don't buy tours. We got the bus to Tulum and it was cheaper and you can go to the beach there on your own. Also we hired a car on Cozumel and drove ourselves. Cheaper and means you control your days events. And there is no traffic so it's safe. The beaches on the west side are not to be missed!

Room Tip: See review
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Our location is one of the features that our guests enjoy while we're on Fifth Avenue where there is less noise, as you say the ambience of the hotel our guests feel at home, we always try to keep it!

Thanks for your comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Ticul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Ticul

Address: Avenida entre calle 38 y calle 40 lote 8 | Zacil Ha, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Ticul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated style with Mexican tradition – for adults only, this is a restful and exclusive hideaway in Playa del Carmen where tradition and modernity merge - making the ideal escape for couples looking for a romantic get-away. Casa Ticul is much more than just a hotel; it is a home away from home where our personalized service and warm atmosphere ensure a peaceful vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casa Ticul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ticul Hotel
Hotel Casa Ticul Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Ticul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.