We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Ticul to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Ticul
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida entre calle 38 y calle 40 lote 8 | Zacil Ha, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A superb boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We are a Dutch couple (28 & 30 years old) who went to Casa Ticul for their honeymoon.
We really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful boutique hotel. We had a standard king room that was perfect. The mattress and the pillows were really comfortable. Bed size was perfect. The cleanliness of the room was really good. Large bathroom with a rainshower. We had new towels (daily they made funny towel-art) and sheets everyday. The pool is OK, not really big, but perfect to have quick refreshing dip.
The service of the hotel was perfect, nice friendly staff (except the guy who was there on our day of arrival). The location is good, settled on a quiet part of the 5th avenue. 5 minute walk to the beginning of the vibrant part of the 5th. 15 minute walk to the bus station on the 5 th, perfect if you want to explore all the tourist attractions on your own (saves you money as well). 8 minute walk to Mamitas Beach club (beds and parasol free of charge for Casa Ticul guests. Don't forget to ask for a voucher at the reception of the hotel). The breakfast at Casa Ticul was really nice, daily fresh squeezed juices (The pineapple & mint juice was the best!!) There was also a daily Mexican breakfast special which was good as well.

Only thing that disappointed us was the day of arrival. We actually hoped for a bit of extra service because it was our honeymoon (the hotel knew it was our honeymoon). For example a romantic decorated room when you arrive or at least someone who helps you carry your 3 suitcases up to your room. My wife and I had to drag our suitcases up the stairs (not cool after travelling for 12 hours) while the male employee was sitting behind his desk doing nothing. Maybe a thing to consider for Casa Ticul. And a WIFI range extender for the hotel would make things really perfect.

Besides these small downsides, Casa Ticul is a perfect place to stay!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    161
    33
    8
    3
See reviews for
31
417
50
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This was my first stay with Casa Ticul and I will definitely be back.

Here are my top 5 reasons why I enjoyed my stay at Casa Ticul.
1. Great Staff...Service Oriented and Friendly...I have very high expectations and they met and exceeded them.
2. Great Location...Upper end of 5th avenue, away from all the hustle and bustle, but still very close to the beach, restaurants and shopping.
3. Modern and Hip decor with a good amount of amenities...complimentary breakfast, complimentary beach passes, use of the upper deck for you and your guest to enjoy sunsets.
4. Most Comfortable and Plush beds that I have experienced in the Riviera Maya.
5. A very well maintained property, with cold a/c, your fridge for your own refreshments and very clean.

This hotel is a very good value for what it has to offer, I travel quite a bit and in this economy I think you get a big bang for you buck or peso with Casa Ticul.

Casa Ticul is Very Ticul with 2 thumbs up.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

My wife and I had a great experience at Casa Ticul – it largely exceeded our expectations. The two main points are their focus on details and helpfulness of the receptionists.
The mattress was great (comparable to a 5 star hotel), they offered Mexican breakfasts and varied them daily, and according to my wife the decoration and finishing was really good (I am an engineer and she is an interior designer  )
The second great point was the staff – they were really helpful suggesting us activities and tours. When we had a problem with a tour that they suggested, they were particularly active trying to help us to solve the problem.
Probably the only downside was the location, about 5 to 10 minutes’ walk from the part of the main street with the most activity. At the same time, it was nice to be on a quitter location.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Owner at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
We are happy that your stay has been excellent, sorry you had a bad experience with the tour operator.

Always the most important thing for us is that our guests enjoy and know the best places that offers Riviera Maya.

Martin Ruiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corozal Town, Belize
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Great place to stay in Playa del Carmen. Close enough to amenities but far enough from the hustle and bustle. Short walk to the beach where they have a deal with a resort for folding chairs and umbrellas. Don't miss Chez Celine the French bakery two blocks into town.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Nice place, close to the beach and the main street, and good breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Casa Ticul when we went to Playa for a friend's wedding. The wedding was at one of the huge resorts at the southern end of town, and we definitely got the better deal!! Casa Ticul is very personal because of the small number of rooms. We got to know the front desk staff fairly well and even saw one of them on 5th Avenue a few times. Our room was very clean, and very well appointed. The breakfast on the roof patio was amazing and definitely got the day started off right. Also, the passes to Mamita's beach were wonderful and helped us spend a relaxing day on the beach. The hotel staff also helped us book our tour of Tulum and Coba, which were both great. The only thing that wasn't 100% awesome was that the wi-fi did not reach into our room; however, the computers in the lobby worked well and I try not to be completely connected when I'm on vacation anyway!

All in all, a great place to stay and enjoy Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Thank you for your comment!
We are happy that your stay has been in your total pleasure and you meet some of the cultural sites of the Mayan Riviera and taking you great memories forever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We only stayed 4 nights but loved it here so much. The shower is ultra modern with a rainfall shower head, they have wonderful toiletries including even mosquito repellent (I didnt notice any mosquitos however) and a nice TV. The WiFI was easy to use and fairly fast, although sometimes I had to stand near the window to get a good signal.

The room has a fan and a good air conditioning unit, we turned off the air conditioning everytime we left the room for the day yet it was always nice and cool in the room. I saw other guests just left their windows open to allow the breeze in.

The mini bar has very reasonably prices, $1 water, $1.50 gatorades. This was the first time in my life I actually helped myself to the minibar since it was reasonably priced.

The breakfast on the rooftop is so wonderful. There are plenty of seats, plenty of shade, and plenty of options.

The room cleaning was always great, we'd come back to really intricate towel sculptures. It seemed the more we tipped the more amazing the sculpture, it was fun!

They give you coupons for free chairs and umbrellas at Mamitas beach club. I highly recommend you go there, its on a great spot on the beach, has a great bar and restaurant or they bring the food to your chair. Try the fried fish, its good. Try and get there before noon, the chairs and beds fill up fast.

The design of the hotel was genius, it allowed for the pool to remain in the shade almost the entire day, so that you always have a refreshing swim away from the intense sun beams of doom that are plentiful in that tropical part of mexico. They always played tasteful background music that seems to only be audible if you are in the pool area.

It was always quiet, we never heard another room. The only sounds I ever heard was the weird tropical birds in the morning that live in that part of the world.

This hotel is located in what I kept heard being called "The new avenida quinta". If you are familiar with SoFi in South Beach, the area south of 5th street in South Beach Miami, this part 5th street in Playa del carmen is very similar.

I don't think any travel guide or forum I visited prepared me for how tacky and awful 5th street /avenida quinta is in terms of tourist trap hell. Thankfully Casa Ticul is in the very nicest part of Avenida Quinta, at the very northern end.

Also I noticed even if I caught a cab on that part of 5th street, I never got charged tourist prices of 50 pesos for any distance. It was more in the 25-35 peso range per ride.

There are two small tiendas (convenience stores) located right next to the hotel, making it very easy and very cheap to get whatever small things you need, from beer, wine, lighters, snacks, water to aquas frescas.

The restaurants near the hotel are the best. You are a short cab ride from El Dogon for authentic Tacos al Pastor, or a stone throw away from excellent steaks at El Facon, best breakfast at La Cueva del Chango, best small dive bar/lounge Casa Rosa, and best Mojitos and salsa dancing at La Bodeguita del Medio. This is the absolute best part of Playa del Carmen, there is no doubt.

One tip: don't use the ATM right outside the hotel, it charges a large fee. Instead take a cab to a ATM located around 30th street for the best rates. I used Santander bank near the MEGA on 30th.

Also the hotel offers many convenient tours. We did not use them for this, but they seemed to have many options at good prices.

They have a nice computer area near the front desk if you want to check your email or the weather or whatever you need. It seems the front desk staff speaks good english and gives great advice for what to do or where to eat.

The only downside is it is adult only, no kids allowed, so if you are looking for a family hotel this is not the one for you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
We appreciate your excellent commentary, analyzing every part of our service and it always helps to be better in every detail.

We hope to give a nice and new surprise on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#23 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique
La Pasion Hotel Boutique
#10 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#16 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#29 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 904 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel...
#26 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 976 reviews
0.6 mi away
Acanto Hotel and Suites Playa del Carmen Mexico
Acanto Hotel and Suites Playa de...
#5 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Ticul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Ticul

Address: Avenida entre calle 38 y calle 40 lote 8 | Zacil Ha, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Ticul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated style with Mexican tradition - for adults only, this is a restful and exclusive hideaway in Playa del Carmen where tradition and modernity merge - making the ideal escape for couples looking for a romantic get-away. Casa Ticul is much more than just a hotel; it is a home away from home where our personalized service and warm atmosphere ensure a peaceful vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Casa Ticul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ticul Hotel
Hotel Casa Ticul Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Ticul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.