We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectations - Awesome place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda Tres Rios to your Saves list
Hacienda Tres Rios
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Vail, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded my expectations - Awesome place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the La Herencia (Hacienda Tres Rios), and it was one of the most relaxing vacations that we have ever had!

The rooms and service at La Herencia were excellent. Our Butlers were fantastic, continually making sure we had everything we needed. My wife and I “salute” Adrian, Miguel, Emanuel, and Rodrigo for looking after us during our stay... They made restaurant, activity, and excursion reservations for us, reserved beach loungers/beds each day that we needed them, and of course the special touches to the room that made this a vacation to remember ... Also, the maid service with the special towel decor was an outstanding touch and shows the elegant side of the service at Hacienda Tres Rios, and made for fantastic memories! Elo the La Herencia (roof top bartender) was awesome; made every drink we asked for and was always pleasant and very helpful.

There were so many different activities to do, which also made this an adventure… All of the staff emphasizes the beautiful natural resources of this property. The Catamaran trip with Miguel at the sail was fun and informative... He maid us feel part of the team! Additionally, I would like to pass on a special note about Jonathan.

Our first experience with Jonathan was in the sports bar Saturday night where he was emceeing the guessing game for TV shows, movies, and cartoons. He was very entertaining, and kept the crowd enjoying themselves... we had a great time! His personality and energy kept the crowd engaged and we were very pleased.

Our next experience with Jonathan was on the Sunday afternoon Segway tour… Jonathan was very thorough training us on the Segway's and keeping us entertained while also watching out for our safety. We also learned a lot about the history of the Hacienda Trace Rios and the Cenotes, what a fantastic experience… Jonathan is definitely a person that I would recommend to anyone for any tour.

I would like to pass on a few more kudos… our restaurant and service experiences were unique, fun, and most of all, rewarding. Luis was our server on a couple occasions for Lobster and Fillet night and also at the Portobello restaurant. He kept us entertained, while providing excellent service during our dinners. Additionally, our waiter (Speedy Gonzales) at the El Alebrije for dinner on our first night provided an outstanding start to the experience at the resort.

A special thanks goes out to Barbara (our concierge) for an informative welcome and first experience at the resort. She explained in detail the welcome package, and made sure we had a great experience out of the gate!

Additionally, Shauna (spelling) was very helpful about other activities at the resort, the local area and adventures, and helped us feel comfortable and secure. Kudos for her team!

I know I have missed many staff members at the Hacienda Tres Rios resort that in one way or another made this a rewarding experience… Thank you so much for the great experience!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your lovely comments and will make sure to pass them along to our staff.
We hope you will come back to your home away from home soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,920
    759
    331
    159
    175
See reviews for
1,500
1,111
31
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I visited The Tres Rios for second time this May.The resort is very nice and clean. Great food! It was hard to decide where to eat and what to pick from great selections:Start day with cafe latte and pastry at Cafe de Paris, breakfast at Alebrije served with big Gonzalo or Gregorio smiles ; a bite or two of fresh wood baked pizza at Il Forno pizzeria. Refreshments around the pool and on the beach served by Filiberto Pootpout who never seems to slow down! If you also like to explore underwater beauty of Riviera Maya I highly recommend you look for Sophie Bouziri and the Coconut Divers. With all this great experiences I almost forget about our room refrigerator which didn't work for over 24 hours -even my husband went in person four times to reception to complain about it. I still love Tres Rios and I will be back as many times as I can . Tatjana S.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I must say everything was great, from the hotel to the cenotes. My husband and I went snorkeling and also did the bike tour; it was beautiful. We managed to relaxed by going with Mau on the catamaran it was just awesome, he was super friendly without overdoing it. I recommend every bit of it.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I made the huge mistake of using this trip for our honeymoon! we knew we would have to sit through a 90 minute sales pitch, but it ended up being 6 hours of sever High pressure sales tactics, they promise you the moon and stars, and make you think its for free. I am a sales person so I had no concerns going into the pitch, I was confident they wouldn't talk me into anything.. But after 4 hours of pressure from the entire sales staff they broke me. I can't explain how they do it?? But I know it should be illegal!!! Don't waste your time. The place isn't that nice and the beach is horrible. It looks more like the Mississippi River then the ocean. it was a Horrible experience, I would not recomend it to anyone.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
We regret to hear your honeymoon experience at Hacienda Tres Rios did not meet up to your expectations.
We do hope you will give us a second chance to provide you with an excellent vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Love Tres Rios. I would highly recommend going here. Did not want for anything.
Erick Lopez the bell boy was fantastic.
The Segway trip was loads of fun. Very easy to master. of course Omar the instructor was so great. Enjoyed stopping and swimming in the Cenotas. I had a massage everyday. Both Isabel and Nelsy were fantastic made me feel very relaxed and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomita, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Activities emphasize the beautiful natural resources of this property. This includes the staff. The Catamaran cruise with Miguel enthustically at the sail was fast, fun and safe. Wind matters! Alejandro, Diana and Michel were all equally fun with the Kayaking and snorkel tour. For a surprise delight enjoy the Sense Adventure. Once more the staff adds flavor to the adventure - naturally.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The resort is very nice. Comparable or nicer than Sandals resorts we have stayed at in the past. The rooms are good sized. The vegetation is really unmatched compared to other places we have been. What really sets this place apart is the staff. They all seem so genuinely nice. Alejandra runs the Kids Club, and does an amazing job. She kept 10-12 kids busy with activities from 10-6 each day. We really can't say enough good about that part. Our two daughters loved it. Alejandro took us on a fun Segway tour, and Tony is a lot of fun whatever he is doing. The nightly shows we saw were dramatic and well done (Mayan Show and Michael Jackson tribute). The beaches are very nice as well. We read a lot of negative things about the beaches, but we disagree. There is some seaweed that washes up, but the staff cleans the beach each morning. It had no effect on us. The food is very good as well. We particularly liked the Hacienda Grill near the pool. Sol and Miguel treated us to excellent service more than a few times. We really don't want to leave in the morning, but we will come back a second time.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Junior Suite, which was two connected rooms. This was comfortable for our family of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor.
We are glad to learn you are having a wonderful time and are already making plans to come back. It will be our pleasure to have the opportunity to be your host again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hacienda Tres Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tres Rios

Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#50 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Tres Rios 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and sustainability create unforgettable vacation experiences at Hacienda Tres Rios, an all-inclusive resort located in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Nestled in a 326 acre pristine nature park, this natural paradise boasts three fresh water rivers and 10 cenotes (natural occurring sinkholes) and is home to over 90 species of fauna and 120 species of flora. Hacienda Tres Rios resort brings together luxurious accommodations, gourmet dining and a wealth of activities on the shores of the spectacular Caribbean Sea in the Riviera Maya.The resort's 273 spacious suites feature a modern design inspired by the Mexican hacienda style. Each suite features 300 thread-count Egyptian cotton linens, extra thick luxury mattresses and a pillow menu. Most suites also have a Jacuzzi for two and spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea. Designed to ensure you never run out of dining choices, Hacienda Tres Ríos resort offers countless options; private dining alternatives, a sommelier (wine steward), 24-hour room service and a variety of specialty restaurants ranging in taste from Italian and Mexican to French and Asian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hacienda Tres Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tres Rios Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Tres Rios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.