We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda Tres Rios to your Saves list
Hacienda Tres Rios
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
West Palm Beach, Florida, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was a very good place to enjoy some rest, beauty and nature. The service was excellent, with lots of kindness, great food, and very timely. The rooms are comfortable and clean, location very convenient to visit Playa del Carmen and Tulum. I personally enjoy everything. The only disappointment was their beach, currently it supposed to be in "remodeling" process, we were not able to enjoy that, otherwise a very good place to stay, with activities for the children and adults.

Room Tip: Comfortable, nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,021
    804
    341
    166
    185
See reviews for
1,609
1,148
31
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murphy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I walk into the resort and Samuel greats us like we are super stars. There is not one person who does not deliver excellent service. This is the hardest working staff I have ever seen. It does feel like home a comfortable paradise.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

great and safe place to stay, nice jungle and sea. the staff are truly amazing, food and drinks are awesome. we are treated like a family. the best place so far that I visited. try the once in a life time wonderful experience in this resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The staff was excellent; maids and waiters and servers. Gregori was the best ever. Always had a smile and made you feel right at home.The rooms were nice and we had a great view. The price of the all inclusive was too high for what you get for food choices. The least favorite of foods from everywhere we have went all inclusive. The bars were hard to get drinks from and not very many open at different times of the day or night. Once the main staff knew we were not going to sign on as our home vacation spot they ignored us so hard to know what all there was to do and see around the hotel. We went to their sister hotel the Fisherman (that we found out about on our own) and got better service there. Paid $25 each to go on a tour around the nature park and the tour guide took us on a 10 minute jaunt and barely said 2 words about the history of the nature park. That could be improved a bit. Otherwise the beach was nice, pool was awesome and we totally had a good time in spite of the other factors above. Made some good friends with other vacationers and It is all in what you make of it yourself. Probably won't go back there because we have stayed at many places that had better hospitality and food choices.

Room Tip: Beach view awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We recently spent a week at Tres Rios. The resort is beautiful, our room was lovely with a jacuzzi on the balcony. What really impressed us was the excellent service and friendly attitudes from all the staff!! We enjoyed kayaking, walking through the nature preserve, and especially going out on the Hobie-Cat with Joel - he was so friendly and pleasant and took us out for about 2 hours on the beautiful water where we saw sea turtles, sting rays, and people riding camels along the beach! Really enjoyed having the beach beds right down near the water! Beautiful pools, great service from the staff there. The restaurants were all excellent - many thanks to Marianna for preparing delicious omelets each morning, to Ruben and Ferdinand for outstanding service, to Neftali for such attentive service, among others. It was a nice touch to meet Executive Chef Oscar on several occasions out greeting the guests, and he was very gracious in giving us recommendations for his favorite restaurants in the hotel zone in Cancun. Looking forward to going back soon!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Our stay was wonderful!! Excellent room, wonderful staff and great food!! As always Sammy makes our stay "special" Thank you, Sammy. We have stayed here many times and always look forward to our return! The only small thing not to our liking this time is no choice of beer. They only carry one brand, would have liked to have a couple of choices.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The staff especially Ruben made my stay a great one he always had a smile and a willingness to please.Also the staff that took care of the kayaks and sailing were top notch.The rooms do lack ventilation and had a very musty smell and the hotel seems to be aging with paint missing in spots and the tiling on the roof had bad patch jobs which makes it feel like whomever owns the place is just maintaining and not upgrading.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.0 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Inclusive
The Royal Haciendas All Inclusiv...
#52 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,833 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#42 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,816 reviews
1.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#10 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Kin Sol Soleil
Kin Sol Soleil
#5 of 146 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#6 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,841 reviews
3.1 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#16 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tres Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tres Rios

Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Tres Rios 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and sustainability create unforgettable vacation experiences at Hacienda Tres Rios, an all-inclusive resort located in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Nestled in a 326 acre pristine nature park, this natural paradise boasts three fresh water rivers and 10 cenotes (natural occurring sinkholes) and is home to over 90 species of fauna and 120 species of flora. Hacienda Tres Rios resort brings together luxurious accommodations, gourmet dining and a wealth of activities on the shores of the spectacular Caribbean Sea in the Riviera Maya.The resort's 273 spacious suites feature a modern design inspired by the Mexican hacienda style. Each suite features 300 thread-count Egyptian cotton linens, extra thick luxury mattresses and a pillow menu. Most suites also have a Jacuzzi for two and spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea. Designed to ensure you never run out of dining choices, Hacienda Tres Ríos resort offers countless options; private dining alternatives, a sommelier (wine steward), 24-hour room service and a variety of specialty restaurants ranging in taste from Italian and Mexican to French and Asian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hacienda Tres Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tres Rios Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Tres Rios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.