We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tonya & Russ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hacienda Tres Rios to your Saves list
Hacienda Tres Rios
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
South Jordan, Utah, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tonya & Russ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The staff at this resort were great. Alejandra Esparza Ordonez (Area AyB) was so helpful and sweet especially in the coffee shop. She also waited on us in the buffet restaurant. We also had excellent service from Gaudencio Arias (Area Alebrije Rest). He totally accommadated mine and my husbands meals with no dairy. The staff at the resort accommodated us so well but I will be honest, the food was not that great. We also did a snorkeling adventure at the resort and they scheduled the Kayak tour at the same time and the kayaks were literally hitting into us and we had to keep getting out of their way. The staff is excellent but I feel the resort still has some learning to do.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delight to read you had a good time and enjoyed what Hacienda Tres Rios has to offer. Guests’ feed back help us improve our services and we apologize for the incident during the snorkeling tour and have shared your comment with our memory makers team.
Please come back soon, remember your Mexican private retreat awaits you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,600
    603
    266
    134
    143
See reviews for
1,243
930
22
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at this resort for 4 nights 5 days and mostly enjoyed our stay. Here are a few tips/reviews.

The good-
- Very beautiful
- kids club was great for our 4 year old. He loved choosing activities and loved Sylvia. We even hired her one night to babysit since the kids club closes at 6.
- Beds on the beach were great
- we liked the entertainment although most of it started too late for our kids to stay up.
- The mexican restaurant was ok but the service is miserable

The bad-
- The italian restaurant was AWFUL!!!!! There was a HUGE cockroach and the waiters didn't even say sorry or do we want to move. They just smashed it in front of us and walked away.
- I got food poising the night after I ate at the italian restaurant :((((
- our room was SOOO noisy- we could hear carts being rolled all night outside our room. Do not stay in or near 2003.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 2003, it was super noisy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, NH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is the second year that my sister and friends have come to Hacienda Tres Rios for a girls week. After a bit of a rocky start over issues with our reservation, we had a wonderful week enjoying the amenities of the resort. We all enjoyed our chosen spa service to get us into the vacation spirit. The staff throughout the hotel and restaurants are very attentive to your needs and desires. We especially want to thank Gregorio who served us at the buffet for breakfast and at the Grill in the afternoon. Wonderful service all around!

Room Tip: Higher floors provide a wonderful view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your nice comments. It is always a pleasure to see you come back and we hope you give us the opportunity to accomodate you for the third time.
Remember that you Mexican private retreat awaits you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, OH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We just returned from a week at Tres Rios. We have done several previous all-inclusive vacations - one other in the Playa del Carmen area. We travelled as a family: grandparents, parents and kids (ages 9, 12, 14). We had a GREAT trip!
Highlights of the trip: beautiful, well kept grounds/pool areas; attentive service of wait staff at pool/beach and restaurants, plenty of beach/pool lounges/beds; spacious comfortable rooms (BEST beds we've encountered in the Caribbean) - we had 2 adjoining rooms and it worked out great; plenty of on-property activities - kayaking, snorkeling (not great sights but still interesting), swimming in cenotes, biking around the property, catamaran rides and the BEST was the segway tour (w/ Federico and Jonathan). (The segway tour was the only thing we paid extra for but was well worth the $25 USD). They also had a variety of daily classes that were very good - Spanish lessons, stretching on the beach, water aerobics, cooking classes, etc that the activites staff (including Erick, our favorite) conducted. The property was not crowded and overall the experience was very relaxing!
Cons: food - Through the course of the week, we learned the best options: the Hacienda Grill outdoor/poolside restaurant served good lunch/dinner, the poolside pizzeria for lunch was good, the Italian restaurant (dinner only) was very good but was for adults (>13yrs) only. Buffet breakfast was good - fruits, french toast, omelets - but not varied. Otherwise, the food was average at best - buffet lunch/dinner, Mexican restaurant, Asian fusion restaurant - but from our experiences this is similar to other all inclusives. One nice thing about the food/restaurants was that there was no limit or reservations required for the specialty restaurants. Beach - one smaller section of beach was very nice but the majority of the beach was rocky w/ mucky water. This wasn't a problem for us as it was still beautiful to lounge in the palapas on the beach and we spent most of our water time in the pools, cenotes or rivers. "Kid" activities - there was a kids club for up to 12 year olds but it was really more appropriate for kids 5-8. Again, this wasn't a big problem for us as we like to spend time as a family on vacation but is important to know if you're looking for it. There really wasn't anything aimed at teens/tweens. Evening entertainment was good but limited - Pop Legends and Michael Jackson shows, karaoke and casino nights (Casino night was GREAT!) We unfortunately missed the final Circus show (along with many other hotel guests) because the daily schedule was misprinted. There was a beach party mid week - tables for 250+ were set up on the beach w/ live music and dinner buffet. Food again was fair but the concept was good and the experience fun.
We were "invited" to the sales pitch - as many other reviews reference - and were offered MANY incentives to go (excursions, massages, special dinners, transportation, etc). We declined and received no further pressure or expenses.
Overall, we had a great, relaxing and family friendly trip which was our goal!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This all-inclusive resort gives every penny worth and more. We came for a friend's wedding and got an incredible vacation with nice, clean rooms, great service, and lots to do. Price included several different restaurants, 4 different activities, 2 big pools with drink/food service, beach front cabanas, and lots of extra amenities. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Some rooms have Jacuzzis on the balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saxonburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

If you are a peson who is a selective then Hacienda Tres Rios is the place for you. The staff members are very kind and accommodating. They pay attention to detail. There are and array of activities for adults and children to enjoy. The resort is very well kept. They have a low turn over of employees. The employees seems to be invested in their job and they make customer service their number one priority.

The resort is environmentally friendly. They've 326 acres of land. There is a nature park on site. There are many water activities on site such as kayaking, snorkling and diving. They can also arrange off site activities such as horse back riding, para sailing and an array of tours.

The resort has four a la carte restaurants. They have a very great selection of gourmet dishes. They have a Mexican restaurant-- one of my favorites, An Italian restaurant--very intimate and romantic, an Asian infusion--great sushi, and there is an open air grill which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Upon arrival, they greet you with fresh juice! Check in is at 3pm but if you arrive early, they'll keep your luggage and you are allowed to use the facility. A concierge is always present to assist you and give you an itinerary of the actvities for the week. Children have their own check in welcome desk. They receive balloons--the children really have fun.

This is not a resort for loud young people but perfect for families and adults who enjoy nature and tranquility. They do have bands who come in and they have a welcome and a farewell party. There is a theatre on site and at least once a week they have a performance.

They do carry prime brand liquor. They have two bars at the beach, a sports bar, one at the grill, a full bar at the breakfast buffet and in the evening, there is a martini bar overlooking the river. The clientelle is mostly polite and well mannered. Their wine selection has gotten much better over the years.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your kind comments.
We are glad to read you were able to enjoy our property and your son had a great time at the Kids club.
Our guest satisfaction is our main concern at Hacienda Tres Ríos and reading your comment inspires us to continue working hard to keep our quality and standards but most of all to continue providing the excellent service we have become known for.
It will be our pleasure to have you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Hi everyone - I spent a week Hacienda Tres Rios, Riviera Maya last February. I have to say neither the food or the service were great, however we were having a good time until a member of the hotel's personnel stole my sunglasses right from my table while I was having breakfast. The hotel was terribly slow to try to figure out a solution. I had to follow up with them almost to the degree of chasing them down for two months and after all of that time they just told me that they were unable to cover my loss when even their security personnel acknowledged that it was clearly a straightforward robbery and they have already asked me for my financial information to reimburse me for my loss. If you do end up staying at this resort, please beware to take care of your personal belongings a bit more than usual and be prepared to deal with an incredibly incompetent management!

By the way, the resort offered 2000 mxn credit on my next visit...of course I am never going back but seriously if anyone wants it, I can transfer the benefit!! Let me know.

P.S. There are plenty of options in Cancun & RM, I would not book here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The safety of our guests and their belongings if of the upmost importance to us. As part of our efforts to avoid an incident of this nature we take all necessary precautions including surveillance, security staff around the clock and a thorough check in and out process which all staff members undergo, making it nearly impossible for something of this nature to occur.
Even though your report regarding this incident differs from what was originally declared onsite we did everything possible to assist you in recovering your sunglasses.
Unfortunately we were not only unable to recover them but also unable to confirm they were misplaced at the Grill Restaurant, however in a good faith effort went ahead and offered you a credit towards a future stay which we hope you will change your mind about using.
Hacienda Tres Rios has become known for providing memorable vacation experiences which are meant to relieve our guests from the stress of everyday life, we trust that aside from this incident we were able to deliver the service experience we have become known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Tres Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tres Rios

Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#50 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Tres Rios 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and sustainability create unforgettable vacation experiences at Hacienda Tres Rios, an all-inclusive resort located in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Nestled in a 326 acre pristine nature park, this natural paradise boasts three fresh water rivers and 10 cenotes (natural occurring sinkholes) and is home to over 90 species of fauna and 120 species of flora. Hacienda Tres Rios resort brings together luxurious accommodations, gourmet dining and a wealth of activities on the shores of the spectacular Caribbean Sea in the Riviera Maya.The resort's 273 spacious suites feature a modern design inspired by the Mexican hacienda style. Each suite features 300 thread-count Egyptian cotton linens, extra thick luxury mattresses and a pillow menu. Most suites also have a Jacuzzi for two and spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea. Designed to ensure you never run out of dining choices, Hacienda Tres Ríos resort offers countless options; private dining alternatives, a sommelier (wine steward), 24-hour room service and a variety of specialty restaurants ranging in taste from Italian and Mexican to French and Asian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda Tres Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tres Rios Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Tres Rios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.