We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hacienda Tresrios - Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios

Save Saved
You added Hacienda Tres Rios to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hacienda Tres Rios
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 199 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Ashland, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hacienda Tresrios - Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

we spent 2 weeks at hacienda. We found the food and services to be OUTSTANDNG!!! Our experience began with Rene Hernandez. He assisted us in making certain our stay at Hacienda was delightful. Rene made certain we felt WELCOMED to Hacienda! He also informed us of all the activities offered at Hacienda and sights worth seeing in surrounding areas(including information of transportation to surrounding areas). The pool area was beautiful and the food was exceptional -5 star! Francisco Carmona took superb care of our room every day! He not only cleaned our room but gave special attention to details! He provided clean daily clean towels , placed creative towel creations on our beds and made certain we had what we needed everyday in our rooms! One of our highlights in staying at Hacienda was the Gymn and the Trainer (Manuel). The gymn is small in size (they do need a larger gymn due to the large number of people using the gymn) but it is clean and well equipped for small numbers. The best part of the gymn is Manuel ! This trainer is EXCELLENT!! He makes everyone feel welcomed to the gymn and is not Intimitating! Manuel is so knowledgeable in Yoga, Pilates and Weight Training! We have stayed in many resorts with a fitness center but this is the first time I have experienced a resort providing a trainer as excellent as Manuel! I would go back to Hacienda for the opportunity to work further with Manuel. Without doubt he was MY HIGHLIGHT of my stay at Hacienda!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,604 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,519
    562
    255
    132
    136
See reviews for
1173
892
19
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had a lovey week at the HACIENDA TRES RIOS, great staff very friendly and food and drinks of a very high standard. Would go again at the drop of a hat. The pools are well laid out so you can have a kid free time if you want it, or can go and lay on the beach.

Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Have a spa massage if you can, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I booked this hotel for my proposal/engagement dinner and to check out the resort as a possible destination wedding venue. Needless to say from the title of my review, I will not be returning for my wedding here.

When I arrived to the resort, it was very disorganized. We came at 3pm for check in. They were unable to print out our room keys, because the guy in charge of printing them was out eating lunch. Some woman took us to our room to let us in with her master key, and they told us we had to go down later to pick up the room key.

The actual engagement dinner was excellent because I was paying additional money for it, but the food/service the following days was on a rapid downward spiral. To sum up my experience...

Pros: Gorgeous grounds, amazing beds (pillow menu), Enrique is an amazing waiter!
Cons: Where do I begin.... The food is horrendous. The breakfast/lunch buffet food is horrible and cold - there is no variety between the days and you have to wait on a 20 minute line to get an omelet since there is only one cook at the omelet station. The Japanese restaurant food is a poor excuse for Japanese cuisine - every piece of sushi had cream cheese or was deep fried - tempura style. The taste was horrible, anybody taking a one day beginners sushi course could have made sushi better tasting than this. The italian restaurant was the only restaurant that had delicious tasting cuisine with one small issue - there was a long black HAIR baked into the bread that got caught between my incisors. When I showed the waiter he sincerely apologized and gave us a free bottle of wine. Drinks are NOT top shelf liquor, and are watered down and served in dirty plastic cups. Con #2 - They force you to go to a high pressure time share presentation for those who book through travelocity. They first wanted us to pay 40,000 US dollars, and then told us they would give us a discount for only 15,000 dollars. Once you politely decline, they bring on manager after manager for a hard sell pitch. My fiance and I left feeling extremely uncomfortable, and wasted 4 hours of our last day at the hotel. Con #3 - Cleanliness. Our shower had mold growing on the ceiling, and the soap holder had extensive mold growth. They should have their chefs wear hairnets due to the aforementioned hairy bread incident. Since a few of the staff elevators were out of service, the cleaning staff was hauling bags of garbage in the elevators with guests. At one point my fiance and I were crammed in an elevator with bags of garbage.

I proposed to my fiance at this hotel and there was zero recognition from the staff. After the proposal moonlit dinner that I paid ALOT for, the following days there was no recognition from any of the staff. We had let the hotel know months prior to our arrival that we were looking to have our wedding at this hotel. Nobody ever congratulated us, nobody ever asked us to talk to the wedding concierge, no small bottle of champagne sent to the room, nothing. The service at this hotel is substandard, and contrasts completely to the hotel we stayed at a year prior: Secrets Silversands - a gorgeous hotel with amazing food and five star service.

Travelers beware, this hotel is by no means a five star hotel despite their claims. Food is horrible, service horrible, and expect to spend half a day during a high pressure sales pitch where they do not take no for an answer and call you disrespectful when you decline purchasing.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your review, we are terribly disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay.
All of your comments have been taken into consideration and carefully investigated in order to avoid them from reoccurring as we strive to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations. Even though our kitchen staff take every precaution standard in the industry to assure the highest level of cleanliness with our meals, we reiterate our apologies and at that time made a good faith effort to correct the situation, we regret to hear it fell short.
You can rest assured that all precautions have been followed up with and reinforced as we make every effort to provide a high quality product and must maintain our certifications and awards in our bars and restaurants.
We reiterate to you that we did everything possible to provide you with a pleasurable vacation experience and show that our wedding coordinators welcomed you and met with you several times during your stay. We do hope you will reconsider choosing us for a future vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at Hacienda Tres Rios for two weeks and would not recommend it to anyone under the age of about sixty-five. There is one "bar" in the resort with bright lights, no entertainment, and no audible music played with, on average, two to three people inside at any given time, The beach was completely wiped out with a steep bank and a rocky shoreline. This, of course, is through no fault of the resorts but not what one would expect when coming to the Mayan Riviera.The worst part of all was the timeshare meeting. We were planning on going into Playa Del Carmen that day and expressed no interest in purchasing at the resort, however they were relentless in trying to persuade us to buy to the point that it was very frustrating and ate up the majority of our morning.

The food at the Hacienda grill was good, but the Mexican, Italian, and Japanese food was very average, at best. All in all, I would seriously consider one of the many other resorts in the area before I planned on going to Tres Rios.

Room Tip: Don't expect to get the room booked in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa Ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from our second trip to Hacienda Tres Rios. I would like to give a shout out to Gregorio, a waiter in the buffet who remembered us and was very attentive and helpful. Our favorite staff member was Aracely, a poolside drink server who always wore a smile and provided great service. Make sure you take a trip to the Sunset Fishermen, the sister resort. The beach there was incredible. The main downside to Hacienda is the beach. The main beach has washed away and is not swimable. Hacienda is the place to go for luxurious relaxation. The pool is phenomenal. There is no night life except for some evening "shows". Oh and be prepared for a 2hr time share presentation. Overall it is a great place for the price.

Room Tip: Some rooms have hot tubs on the balcony so if that interests you make sure you ask for one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

In order to fully appreciate this resort, you must see the ecological side! Kayaks in mangroves, snorkeling, nursery tour, and history are an important aspect! Our VIP rep, Luis was so accommodating and helped us with scheduling and general comfort and information. Thank you Luis Aragon! You are excellente, Amigo! The resort and rooms are very clean. Variety of restaurants is good. Loved the brick oven pizzeria. Claudia gave us a VIP nursery tour and was very informative! The segways with Federico and Jonathan were a new and unique experience that we really enjoyed. Took a class on towel art!! Have taken tequila tasting class in the past. This resort helps connect one to the Mexican cultures. Thank you very much for an awesome experience once again!!!

Room Tip: Studio unit is good but 1 bedroom suite would be more comfortable. All rooms have balconies, some wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your kind comments.
We are glad to read you were able to enjoy our property.
Please come back soon, It will be our pleasure to be accomodate you for the 4th. time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The food was overall excellent. The Grill was the best but the pizza stand was a close second. The Mexican Restarunt is only open for breakfast and dinner. Portabella is the nicest the reservations are required. Pay attention to dress codes as it is appreciated. Although this place caters to Americans they don't do American food well. What you expect most likely will disappoint you in some way. All food service is compartamentalized. Meaning what is available at one location may not be available at the next. The pool area was very clean. Playa del Carmen is a short ride away as is the ferry to Cozumel. I would come back here anytime except for May - October. The humidity is a killer.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
Romantic, Beach...
Show More
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#27 of 199 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,273 reviews
Restaurant, Fre...
Show More
7.1 mi away
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
#87 of 199 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
4.0 mi away
The Royal Haciendas
The Royal Haciendas
#39 of 199 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Luxury, Q...
Show More
6.6 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#16 of 199 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Beach, Pool, Lu...
Show More
6.6 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#10 of 199 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 810 reviews
Restaurant, Bea...
Show More
2.3 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#8 of 199 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tres Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tres Rios

Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#50 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacienda Tres Rios 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and sustainability create unforgettable vacation experiences at Hacienda Tres Rios, an all-inclusive resort located in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Nestled in a 326 acre pristine nature park, this natural paradise boasts three fresh water rivers and 10 cenotes (natural occurring sinkholes) and is home to over 90 species of fauna and 120 species of flora. Hacienda Tres Rios resort brings together luxurious accommodations, gourmet dining and a wealth of activities on the shores of the spectacular Caribbean Sea in the Riviera Maya.The resort's 273 spacious suites feature a modern design inspired by the Mexican hacienda style. Each suite features 300 thread-count Egyptian cotton linens, extra thick luxury mattresses and a pillow menu. Most suites also have a Jacuzzi for two and spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea. Designed to ensure you never run out of dining choices, Hacienda Tres Ríos resort offers countless options; private dining alternatives, a sommelier (wine steward), 24-hour room service and a variety of specialty restaurants ranging in taste from Italian and Mexican to French and Asian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Otel, Prestigia, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hacienda Tres Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tres Rios Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Tres Rios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.