We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hacienda Tres Rio for a luxurious getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda Tres Rios to your Saves list
Hacienda Tres Rios
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Portsmouth, NH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hacienda Tres Rio for a luxurious getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Hacienda Tres Rios is a wonderful all-inclusive resort in the Riviera Maya. The facilities at the hotel are top-notch. The rooms are spotless and comfortable and the service that we experienced at each of the 5 restaurants was superb - not to mention the wonderful and friendly service by the pool or lounging by the ocean. I would definitely recommend this for a luxurious vacation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,688
    651
    285
    143
    152
See reviews for
1,304
980
24
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

We booked thru expepedia who we used before and were satisfied. This time we found them in attentive, difficult to reach by phone, and our itinerary was not updated. Yet they called us 1 hour after we checked in to sell us side trips.
As for the resort, the only real negative was the pressure to participate in a sales meeting to purchase a time share. We had to be aggressive to avoid this. A lot of guests weren't so fortunate. A lot of activities for us(we are active 65 yr olds) kayaking , biking, snorkeling, walking and more. Part of an ecological park. Dont miss this. Not much else near by which was ok for us. No need to go off the grounds. We observed lots of organized activities for young children. Loved the adults only pool. Restaurants were from ok to good. Presentation nice. Drinks were constant albeit not much alcohol in them. Grounds were meticulously maintained. Main beach a bit disappointing. But smaller adjacent beach pretty but shallow water. Definitely recommended. To repeat, the staff make the resort. See jerry and lizbeth for biking/kayaking.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The accommodations were great for my family of 5 and were comfortable. the food was very good especially since my family is gluten and dairy free. We had a lot of repeat items during out week stay but they all tasted good. The lunch buffet at the hotel was great

Claudia at the grill was especially wonderful. She was very helpful to us with our food allergies and was very kind and warm. Thank you Claudia!

Room Tip: i think most of the rooms were the same but ours had a pull out couch and slept 5 and was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Readlyn
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel ~ Anything you want is at your fingertips, the staff is extremely cordial, and it is meticulously clean. It is a perfect get-away.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I Never write reviews...but in this instance, I know I have to. I am sitting by the pool at this place as I write, and let me tell you my story.... Upon arrival of a family vacation of 16 people... We went to check in... I have 3 kids... 3, 6 and 7 months...we paid for a room with an outside tub, but were told that they didn't have one... How do I give a 7 month old a shower? They asked us to provide proof that we paid extra to have a room with a tub... We provided it and they moved us the next day...they did this to everyone in our party... So I suggest you travel with a copy of your reservations....the above is small potatoes compared to what happened next....

My sister was on the first floor... Room 4014.... And while we were at the pool for the day... Someone prayed her sliding glass door open with a crowbar and robbed it... iPods, iPad Nintendo ds.. Games, backpacks, headphones, chargers, and they even stole the clothes out of the dresser drawers! ..
When we went to the front desk they said they would tell us how to get to the police station to file a report.. And that they would fix the broken lock on the door, but they did not have another room for them to stay in! They also said that because everything was not in a safe... They were not covering it. We never got the memo that your CLOTHES had to go into a tiny wall safe too!

They said the general manager was on vacation, and would speak to us today at 9am..... We have yet to speak to him!

We are here until Friday 4/13... And I cannot wait to go home! Not only do u have to feel unsafe at a family vacation, you are now forced to stay in a room with a broken lock that someone broke into... They will give you directions to the police station, and will not call them to file a report!

On a better note... Manuel that is a waiter at the hacienda grill is AWESOME! The staff at the pools, places to eat, and housekeeping are awesome!
However, the staff at the front desk needs training on how to deal with people.... As they are clearly not trained to deal with people...

I am from new York, and where I come from... The way this is being handled... Is completely unacceptable...

If you come to this hotel.... Do not stay in a room on the first floor, and if you do ... Make sure all your belongings are locked in the safe, including your clothes!

Theresa

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We got in this place through time share exchange. For us was an All Inclusive, mandatory. We travel during spring break, not such a good idea as the airport was a completely caos and took us more then 2 hours to get out. On the way out we were aproached but an army of time share sellers offering the heaven in earth. We were able to scape and after boarding the van from the hotel that was waiting for us we finally made it in the hotel. Once there the feeling was better. Jet we were not givien all the information about the hotel and what was included in our all inclusive until the next day (20h later) as we had to talk FIRST with another time share seller from that hotel!!! We had prepaid everything in advance and nothing was exchanged for our time so there was no reason for us to have to wait for this. The rooms are very spacious and modern. I can imagine because of the season they "run out" of TV controls and pillows. We had 2 rooms with 2 TVs and one control. And the extra sofa beds for my three kids did not have a pillow. Even when I asked for that in multiple occations. Not all the guests go with all inclusive, there are American and European plans. At the time for meals you feel the "discrimination" from the weitresses as our plan had all tips included and the others not, so they prefered to serve those that were going to tip at the table. The national/international alcoholic beverages was limited to one type of beer (Corona) and one type of wine (Paso Fino). The 3 different locations were you can get something to drink did not share the whole list, were you find a Martini, no other drink were available, were you get the beer you could not get bottled water, and the one next to the pool closes at 5pm!!! and no icecream are available but in just one restaurant. Buffet is always the same items, and the menus in the 3 restaurants is limited to 5 main courses and couple of appetizers, no change in the whole week.
Prices for spa are very high, service is good though. Jet the spa instalations are just regular rooms conditioned for that. The "wet" area is to laugh. 2 portable saunas and one build in vapor, with no area to change.
The eco park is nice, people giving the tours are friendly. The sensorial tour is very interesting.
I just think there are better places for the price that you pay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Our room was fantastic and the resort is immaculate. We had a problem with our in-room safe and they sent someone to re-program it in less than 5 minutes.

We spent most days on a four-post canopy bed on the beach having drinks served to us.

I cannot give the food 5 stars but we had several dinners that were 5 stars - other meals there were only so-so. The resort is mainly for families, if you are looking for a couples resort with nightlife - go somewhere else.

The concierge is useless... I actually complained after getting wrong instructions for a third time. The bellhops were very helpful - I ended up using them as my sudo concierge.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Tres Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tres Rios

Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Tres Rios 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and sustainability create unforgettable vacation experiences at Hacienda Tres Rios, an all-inclusive resort located in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Nestled in a 326 acre pristine nature park, this natural paradise boasts three fresh water rivers and 10 cenotes (natural occurring sinkholes) and is home to over 90 species of fauna and 120 species of flora. Hacienda Tres Rios resort brings together luxurious accommodations, gourmet dining and a wealth of activities on the shores of the spectacular Caribbean Sea in the Riviera Maya.The resort's 273 spacious suites feature a modern design inspired by the Mexican hacienda style. Each suite features 300 thread-count Egyptian cotton linens, extra thick luxury mattresses and a pillow menu. Most suites also have a Jacuzzi for two and spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea. Designed to ensure you never run out of dining choices, Hacienda Tres Ríos resort offers countless options; private dining alternatives, a sommelier (wine steward), 24-hour room service and a variety of specialty restaurants ranging in taste from Italian and Mexican to French and Asian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda Tres Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tres Rios Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Tres Rios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.