We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place has it all. Amazing views, beautiful rooms, personalised service, infinity pool and an awesome bed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Reve Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Reve Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Xcalacoco, Fraccion 2A Playa Del Carmen Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“This place has it all. Amazing views, beautiful rooms, personalised service, infinity pool and an awesome bed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

I agree with the posts mentioning that the bed was amazing. I liked it so much that we took a photo of the brand and make (Sealy Comfort Side) so we can buy it at home! The room was very tastefully decorated (we got the standard downstairs suite), which included a garden. The rain shower was beautiful, we heard no noise from the other suites at all. The hotel has a turndown service was lovely.

The staff greet you by name and were friendly and extremely helpful. Mayra helped us book tours (I can recommend Aventuras Mayas snorkel adventure) and even our next hotel. But the thing I loved the most was the infinity pool overlooking the ocean. It was like being in a post card.

Yes, it is true that the water in front of the hotel has a few rocks in it, the upside is that few people swim there making the view even more perfect.

It was absolute heaven, and you can rent out the whole place (25 rooms) for a wedding if you want.

The food was not stellar, breakfast, which was included to our surprise was just fine. However, dinner was a fancy but not particularly good and very expensive. It's worth paying the taxi to go into town. Lunch however was excellent we stayed for lunch on our last day so that we could the chicken tacos. They were expensive but awesome!!

The pool was perfect and yes, the temperature was perfect as were the cushioned lounge chairs. There was a couple during our stay who were making out in the pool like they invented sex! However, we can hardly blame the hotel for that.

If you like to sail you can rent a catamaran from the all inclusive further down the beach (who also have a nice beach) called Sandos Caracol for about $30 US for an hour.

If you like the look of Le Reve you might also like to spend a couple of nights at Hotel La Amada in Playa Mujeres.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    115
    39
    21
    20
See reviews for
55
409
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

My husband and I were on a road trip across the Mexican Peninsula and had the best stay by far at Le Reve, even after spending more money and having bigger expectations for other places.
Le Reve was our favorite because of its great location, serenity and comfort.
Location:
Other places we stayed in were in the middle of the action (downtown Merida and Cancun) or too isolated (Tulum) and Le Reve hit the perfect balance for us. We could take a short drive in our rented car and be in Playa del Carmen's 5th Ave. for a walk with all of the other tourists and do a little souvenir shopping. There are plenty of stop lights on the way into town to slow you down even though its supposed to be a highway, but it was about 15 minutes.
Serenity:
My husband and I both agree that this has something to do with the location since the hotel is fairly isolated, but it's more than that. We stayed at another isolated hotel and never really got the same feeling. Maybe it was the waiters who brought us drinks on the beach or breakfast in bed as we looked out over the palm trees and beach. It's something you can't really put your finger on, but the mix of a great staff, location, food and the building itself come together to create a sort of contagious "vibe" that really put us at ease.
Comfort:
Great bed. Really. I can't say enough about it. Our room had a shower looking over the ocean that we really enjoyed. The pool was also at just the right temperature and the reclining deck chairs felt like they were made to fit our bodies perfectly.


In short, great place. I'd definitely recommend Le Reve (we already have!) to anyone for just about anything, but especially for a vacation for couples.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

This place is AWESOME!!! My Wife and I got married here last weekend and had amazing time. Food was excellent. Drinks were strong. Wedding was beautiful. Arlenis, our wedding coordinator, did an excellent job! The rest of the staff was very very friendly and took great care of all of us. I miss it already.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Arrving to Le Reve takes you away from it all.
The sense of arrival is extra ordinary. You start out at the very modern Can Cun Airport and travel through a high way that was fine and going to get better since they are building super high speed overpass highway. You then turn into what seems a small street that brings you back to the 1960 Mexico only to arrive at the hotel on the beach. Fantastic the sense of arrivle. I came to Mexico looking for character. Something I can’t experience in the US.

You arrive at the lobby that has the most incredible view of the ocean framed between two walls that begs of you to take a picture. This is how they have set up the experience for you. Starting out with this splendid view framed between the beautiful architecture of the hotel. As you go down the stairs you are greeted by the most original pool that windes its way through the grounds and tress only to invite you in. I LITERALY wanted to stop the walk to the room and jump in.
We stay in a bungalow and I can’t suggest that everyone stay there. From your room you can open the back sliding window and walk a few steps right into the torques water! You can t do this in many places and for the price we paid you cant even dream about doing this. The neighboring hotels, the Mandarin Oriental and the Fairmont are charging you 1,500 per night for similar rooms. No one give you this view and proximity to the water ate the price we paid.

Loved the place we are coming back next year for sure.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

This was hands down the WORST experience my husband and I ever had at a resort hotel. DO NOT STAY HERE. The hotel is filthy and the staff is completely non-responsive almost to the point of being mute. The food is disgusting, the rooms are gross and very small. We vacation ALOT and this was so bad that we almost left early. I cut my foot on a piece of broken glass in the room and the staff woldn't even bother to help us. Luckily we salvaged the rest of our vacation by checking into the TIDES (directly next door). If you are going to Playa Del Carmen, stay at the TIDES, not the Le Reve....otherwise, you will regret it!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeReveHotelandSpas, General Manager at Le Reve Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2010
Le Reve Hotel & Spa respects the opinion of its guests however in this case would like to add the following:

As a generous gesture of good will, despite the fact that all other guests staying at the hotel with “Helen 1027” and her husband very perfectly happy with everything, ”Helene1027” and her husband were reimbursed the value of all the nights spent at the hotel plus all the food and beverage consumptions charged to their room bill.

It is true that “Helene1027” cut her foot. It must be mentioned that the cut was minor and the hotel’s staff did professionally take care of the issue. No doctor’s assistance was needed.

Le Reve Hotel & Spa is well known for its personalized service, its nice installations as well as for its excellent cuisine, enjoys reading its very positive reviews on Trip Advisor and is sad that some Trip Advisor users use this platform to publically damage the hotel and its reputation when there is no reason to do so whatsoever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed at Le Reve. As soon as we arrived, the friendly staff welcomed us back and it felt like a homecoming. This place is perfect if you are looking for a scenic and serene getaway. The staff is extremely attentive yet not intrusive and they make sure that all your needs are met. If you call for room service or a drink or even a beach towel, you get it promptly unlike in large resorts where it is so crowded that you sometimes have to wait a bit for service. This hotel is a rare find. Go if you are looking for relaxation, beautiful views and romance!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

I celebrated my birthday with some friends in Le Reve. The hospitality and comfort exceeded my expectations. Excellent hotel to relax and enjoy nature and the beach, super quiet and impeccable service. Thank you Le Reve team. I will return soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Reve Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Reve Hotel & Spa

Address: Playa Xcalacoco, Fraccion 2A Playa Del Carmen Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Reve Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Reve Hotel & Spa, a 25 room boutique hotel right in front of the Caribbean sea, located 10 km North of Playa del Carmen. Enjoy excellent Mexican hospitality and cuisine in a setting of splendor and tranquility. Enjoy a majestic comfort just for adults, in the middle of nature, great privacy, delicately personalized service and a splendid view over the sea. Le Reve Hotel & Spa, the dream becomes real. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Reve Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Reve Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Le Reve Hotel And Spa
Le Reve Playa Del Carmen
Le Reve Hotel & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Reve Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.