We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Reve Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Reve Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Xcalacoco, Fraccion 2A Playa Del Carmen Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

my fiance and I wanted a quite small hotel on the beach and Le reve provided all of that and more!
We had a wonderful stay the staff was extremely helpful. They suggested great day trips ( we rented a car).
I am a vegetarian and there was no problem having the cook prepare meals for me upon my request.
The hotel itself is very basic but clean and well maintained. The setting is lovely and the views from the pool are wonderful.
Our trip was just what we wanted!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeReveHotelandSpas, General Manager at Le Reve Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
On behalf of the all members of the Le Rêve Hotel & Spa family, we would like to thank you for choosing our property as your vacation escape.

We hope to have exceeded your expectations and to have fulfilled all your wishes. It was a pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you as our guest.

We are very grateful that you did your review about us on TripAdvisor. We appreciated your time on writing about your experience.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Le Reve Hotel & Spa the next time you're in Playa del Carmen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    115
    39
    21
    20
See reviews for
55
409
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 5-night stay at LeReve. It is a private, peaceful hotel without the hubbub of many of the mega-chains around it in Riviera Maya. The food is tasty and the service is gracious but not cloying. It is a short ride to downtown Playa del Carmen and only 45 minutes from the Cancun airport. We would certainly return and recommend it to others.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I just got back after 5 days at Le Reve and were very pleased with our stay. We travel well and reasonably often and know what we like. The resort is just the right size for an intimate feel. There are 25 rooms, so a maximum of 50 guests at any one time. There was never any need to worry about getting a nice spot on the beach or by the pool, the size seemed just right. The beach itself was small, but very nice. The water in the Playa area has a rocky under bottom, so bring water shoes. (They have a reasonable selection for you to use, but there is never a size 13s in anyone's basket)

We ate at the restaurant for all but one meal and we were impressed. We are quite the foodies and found the food to be delicious and fresh. They incorporated all the fresh fruits and vegetables from the region and there was a nice mix of authentic Mexican dishes (civeche menu) and foods that less adventurous eaters would enjoy (burger). As part of our package, we had a complimentary dinner on the beach one night and I ordered the steak with unclear expectations based on past experiences of getting a good steak in the tropics, but it was very good. Not Ruths Chris mind you, but this is Mexico.

We found the staff to be quite accommodating and never refused a request. On day three I had a taste for a mudslide, but did not see it on the bar men. No need to give up, just ask...delicious and no questions asked.

We stayed in a Master Suite and it was very nice. Huge room, wonderfully comfy bed, enormous private deck overlooking the beach with chairs and a teak bed under the umbrella to relax. Nice bathroom, with the exception of the shower in our room. Luke warm seemed to be the best it could do and water pressure was not great. We mentioned the lack of truly hot water to the front desk three times and were assured it would be addressed, but it was not. It was not a huge deal and I have never found water pressure, quantity and temperature to be up to standards in the tropics.

The transportation the hotel set up was first rate, but a bit pricy at $190 RT. Professional staff and Chevy Suburban. I plan to rent a car next time as the drive was easy and safe.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would have no reservations about returning to Le Reve.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeReveHotelandSpas, General Manager at Le Reve Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Fred

Thank you very much for your complete review , but specially thank you for all culinary compliments.

On behalf of the all members of the Le Rêve Hotel & Spa family, we would like to thank you for choosing our property as your vacation escape.

We are very happy to read that we have exceeded your expectations and have fulfilled all your wishes, it was a pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you as our guest.
Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Le Reve Hotel & Spa the next time you're in Playa del Carmen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Le Reve is almost a good hotel. They may have a beautiful location and great design, but they also have a “get over it” attitude when they screw up.

Our last night at the hotel was pretty bad. Coming back early that evening, we were stopped and told to immediately pack our bags and change rooms. The beach bungalow we were in was not ours anymore, it had been an upgrade, and the appropriate guests would be arriving shortly. We needed to move. Immediately.

The concierge admitted it was the hotel’s mistake for not saying anything before then. We were a little confused, but accepted the offer to move from the bungalow to the ‘master suite.’ The ‘master suite,’ however, magically became unavailable the moment our bags left the original room.

The concierge admitted the hotel had made another ‘mistake’ but there was nothing that she could do. When I politely brought up the situation again upon check-out, the manager said I should be thankful for having been given the bungalow upgrade in the first place. No other consideration would be given. (I’m paraphrasing, but that was the message.)

Mistakes happen. A good hotel makes mistakes but then goes out of their way to make guests feel valued. Le Reve doesn’t take this approach. Book with caution.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel has several great attributes but fails to be a good value at the price.

The good: very small and quiet (almost feels like you are on your own much of the time), great pool, on the beach, good view, and very good food

The bad: The rooms are very small and are lacking maintenance. We had a broken safe, broken mini-fridge, an underpowered A/C unit, and problems with our front door lock.

Other notes: you need to take a cab to go anywhere although you can walk to a few other resorts (e.g., The Viceroy) on the beach. They have a "no outside food policy" which makes the menu at the restaurant old by the end of a one-week stay.

The hotel feels like it could be great but it stops short. If the rooms were about $80 / night less expensive, we would have been happier with our choice. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Horizon room. These have excellent balconies but our room had maintenance issues (#2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We found Le Reve on Groupon when we were searching for a vacation deal. It was the first time we did a Groupon getaway and we are so pleased that Le Reve was what we chose. Everythig about it was absolutely perfect! The pictures on the website are not exaggerated at all. It's a small, intimate resort right on the beach. We were there for Valentine's Day and were told that the place was sold out. This made us a little nervous because we didn't want to be crowded. We didn't have anything to worry about. There was always space at the beach or pool when we went there. And the pool and beach are fabulous.

The staff was amazing our entire stay. Carlos and Roberto always had smiles on their faces and were quick to ask if we needed anything to eat or drink. The two ladies at the concierge desk were very friendly and helpful. One even helped us with our day trip to Chichen Itza, she got the company to come to our hotel to pick us up and saved us $30 on a cab. The staff is what makes Le Reve a real gem. We stayed at Sandals for our honeymoon a couple years ago and they could learn a lot about how to treat a couple from the staff at Le Reve. There are so many little surprises they do for you throughout your stay that make you feel like they are glad that you are there.

The food in the resturaunt was AMAZING. I highly recommend the nachos, chicken tacos, and guacomole. But the sopes de tinga were by far my favorite. If you can get a package that includes the continental breakfast, its a good deal. They also have a special Mayan menu to order from and when we were there, they had a BBQ buffet you could get for dinner. We saw a bunch of beach dinners too. They go all out for those as well.

Some of the complaints we read about before we chose Le Reve are kinda silly. Yes, you drive down a dirt road before the hotel for less than 5 minutes. Its not even bumpy (I've driven on worse here in the States). There are signs clearly marking the way to Le Reve once you turn off the main highway so you don't have to wonder if you are being kidnapped, which was another complaint listed here on tripadvisor. The beach is rocky, but walk about 50 ft to the left and it gets better. The hotel provides shoes for you to wear in the water and life vests and snorkels.

The bed in our room was also the most comfortable we've ever slept on in any hotel. Ever. We got a garden room with a balcony and I loved it. We watched the sun rise from bed every morning and the shower felt like our own little spa.

All in all, I can't say enough good things about Le Reve. I HIGHLY recommend staying with them. They gave us a second honeymoon and made us feel so special. We will definitly be going back.

Room Tip: We had a garden view room. Great beds. Quiet. Spa-like bathroom. No TV or clocks, just peace and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We just came back from our trip to Mexico and it was perfect! Our photographers recommended Le Reve when we asked for a small boutique resort that is relaxing and quiet. What a great choice!! Our photographers from Del Sol (delsolphotography.com) also has great deals with the hotel for brides considering their wedding here! This place is absolutely perfect for weddings/honeymoons as it is quiet and has a really romantic ambiance.

The staff are all excellent! They come to the beach every 15 minutes or so to ask if you want a drink/meal and they deliver it right to you on the beach! The room is always clean, and they left a little plate of cookie snacks for us every night. The hotel is very well kept, the food is always AMAZING! We had a Valentine's Day dinner by the pool with live music and it was absolutely perfect. The tenderloin was really delicious and the shrimp avocado salad was to die for! After dinner, we fell asleep on a lounge chair they set up surrounding a bonfire. Nothing can ever beat that! Every night, we have seen the staff set up romantic dinners right on the beach for couples. We did not try this, but wish we did as it was so beautiful!

As for the things some people complain about:
There is a small section of dirt road that leads up to the hotel, but it was no big deal for us. The beach is quite rocky, but we actually enjoyed wearing our flipflops in and discovering sea urchins and small marine life between the rocks. They also have water shoes you can use for free as well as life vests and snorkel gear. We enjoyed not having a TV in the room as we just spent our evenings on the beach or in the small dip pool in our garden suite. Free wifi was always available in the lobby, dining room and by the bar.

All in all, I am very please with the hotel. It was the perfect place for our honeymoon. My photographers have photographed many weddings here and they were all beautiful. Definitely recommend for weddings/honeymooners/couples!

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden suite with our own garden and dip pool. It was perfect for us. Bungalows have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Reve Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Reve Hotel & Spa

Address: Playa Xcalacoco, Fraccion 2A Playa Del Carmen Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Reve Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Reve Hotel & Spa, a 25 room boutique hotel right in front of the Caribbean sea, located 10 km North of Playa del Carmen. Enjoy excellent Mexican hospitality and cuisine in a setting of splendor and tranquility. Enjoy a majestic comfort just for adults, in the middle of nature, great privacy, delicately personalized service and a splendid view over the sea. Le Reve Hotel & Spa, the dream becomes real. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Reve Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Reve Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Le Reve Hotel And Spa
Le Reve Playa Del Carmen
Le Reve Hotel & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Reve Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.