We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Honeymoon Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Reve Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Le Reve Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Xcalacoco, Fraccion 2A, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Del Mar, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ideal Honeymoon Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon at the Le Reve hotel and we would recommend this to anyone looking to get away on a romantic and relaxing trip! The pictures on the hotel website are exactly what this hotel looks like and nothing is better than looking out your hotel window and seeing their beautiful pool with the Caribbean ocean behind it. This is the most relaxing place we have ever been and we never got tired of laying by the pool and the ocean. The service is incredible and we just had to think of wanting something and someone was there. Also, the two chefs at the hotel restaurant were amazing and it was some of the best meals we had on the whole trip.

If you are looking for a place to honeymoon, the complimentary honeymoon package can't be beat. All of the staff went out of their way to make this trip special and they provided us with a dinner on the beach, matching bathrobes with our names, a commemorative stone on the property, champagne in our room, transportation from the airport, complimentary breakfast each day and much more.

The hotel is beautiful and Playa del Carmen has tons of things to do and we are already planning our return trip for our anniversary!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Master Suite and had an amazing view with our own private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    93
    29
    19
    17
See reviews for
47
354
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from our stay at Le Reve. We found the hotel well appointed, we had a good size room (garden room), and the staff were very welcoming. The food is good and reasonably priced. My husband enjoyed the roman bath while I mainly lounged by the pool (which is quite beautiful). The beach is okay (rocky with coral near the water), and the hotel provides water shoes. The gym is really the only serious drawback. Its dated, very little equipment, and not well kept. Other than that, everything else was as or better than expected.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011 via mobile

This is the perfect place for a quiet and relaxing vacation. The hotel is simple and beautiful, the pool area is so picturesque and the beach is secluded and gorgeous (although there are big rocks at the entrance to the water which make it difficult to get into the water, but you can just walk a bit to the left or right and it's fine). The staff were all so sweet and attentive and the food was great! I definitey hope to return...

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

My wife and I booked 6 days at Le Reve. We got in just before a wedding party bought out the hotel (more on that later). We stayed in a garden room which is one of their smaller rooms but we never felt cramped. The one thing I wished we had was a chair. The only thing to sit on besides the bed was a bench at the end of the bed and the lounge chairs outside. However, if this was important enough to me to request I'm positive they would have accommodated me.

When we turned off the highway we noticed the road deteriorated. There is about 5 minutes of bumpy dirt road that makes you think, "What did I get myself into?" When you reach the hotel all of our doubts evaporated. We were greeted in the open air lobby and while we were checking in we were served fresh juice.

The service was excellent. The price of the food in about the same in town if you go to any of the nicer eating establishments. The quality of the food was ALWAYS good. I thought the cost of the water was a little steep but if you consider that everything needs to be hauled into the Cancun area this is understandable. On the third day my wife and I figured out that it was going to get expensive buy lunch and dinner everyday so we went into town and took a trip to the grocery store. We bough some lunch items to keep in our room so we could eat a mid-day snack and save about $30 a day on food. Remember pick up Ziplock bags and containers and clean up after yourself if you eat in the room. This is a tropical environment, people, and there ARE going to be bugs! We had some leftover bananas at the end of our stay and we took them to be bar and they made a wonderful rum drink for us. Since we supplied the fruit they only charged us for the booze (about half price)!

On our last night we were the only couple left that was not part of a wedding party. Not wanting us to feel left out the staff set up a private table pool side and served us a special meal (Thank you Antonio).

We did not want to go home from our stay. The hotel was so nice and the staff so warm it felt like leaving family behind. This place is definitely going to see us again!

On a side note, my wife does an online cooking show. On our last day was asked if we could interview the head chef. He agreed to come out and do a demonstration on how to make ceviche which my vegetarian wife LOVED! Then they took us into the kitchen and allowed us to film how they make their lime soup (delicious by the way). Having seen behind the curtain I can say that their food prep areas are impeccably clean. Anyone we spoke to who got "sick" were positive that they picked it up in town. I'd like to thank the management and staff at Le Reve for taking such good care of us and giving us access that would normally be refused anywhere else.

Room Tip: If you want modest accommodations request a garden room. Remember, no TV or fridge but you are here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

My wife and I just returned from our honeymoon and would highly reccommend Le Reve to any couple looking for a relaxing, romantic adventure together. We stayed in a bungalow suite: the view was perfect (uninterrupted ocean), the room was romantic (nightly turn down service and lots of beautiful lighting).

What will keep us coming back:
The Service: Was excellent. Very attentive staff at the pool bar and restaurant, would respond to requests, very kind and personable. Tips are included in food and drink, but we felt very comfortable tipping more. Great concierge that would plan activities and set us up for wonderful adventures.
The View: Seriously, it's perfect.
The Pool/Beach: Cleaned every day, plenty of places to lay, hammocks, can order a drink every-where.
The Food: Very good, good variety, we reccommend dinner on the beach (amazing), and the tacos from the pool side lunch menu.

What we didn't love:
-No door on the bathroom in the suite, it is tucked in a private corner
-The internet signal was not strong in the suites by the beach (but of course, who really needs internet when you are 30 feet from the ocean)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Our friends selected this hotel for their wedding and we decided to make it our holiday destination. From day one the staff was ultra-friendly and did everything possible to make us feel welcome. Prior to arrival we informed them that our flight was 12 hours late and hence we would arrive in the early morning (2am), and they left some sandwiches in our room and were even kinder to warm them up at that hour making us forget all troubles with the airline.

The hotel is very simple but very elegant. It’s not child friendly so makes it ideal for couples and honeymooners. We went to other hotels nearby and this was by far the best one based on excellent food, friendly staff and secluded location. They were also amazing and very accommodating to the bride and groom requests and the wedding was a wonderful and very happy day.

Room Tip: Garden suite is big enough but the garden isn't anything especial. Next time I would ask for a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We had a fabulous time at LE Reve. The peacefulness, beauty and overall ambiance made us want to stay there for far longer than we did. The staff was extremely helpful and always willing to help. The restaurant food was amazing, especially the presentation. The infinity pool, the bungalow, the beach views were incredible. We definitely plan on returning to Le Reve as soon as we can. Such a nice getaway from the hustle and bustle of the real world.

Room Tip: If you have the means to spring for a bungalow, I highly recommend it. Having a plunge pool that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Reve Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Reve Hotel & Spa

Address: Playa Xcalacoco, Fraccion 2A, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Reve Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Rêve Hotel & Spa, a 25 room boutique hotel right in front of the Caribbean sea, located 10 km North of Playa del Carmen. Enjoy excellent Mexican hospitality and cuisine in a setting of splendor and tranquility. Enjoy a majestic comfort just for adults, in the middle of nature, great privacy, delicately personalized service and a splendid view over the sea. Le Rêve Hotel & Spa, the dream becomes real. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Le Reve Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Reve Hotel And Spa
Le Reve Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Le Reve Playa Del Carmen
Le Reve Hotel & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Reve Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;