We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langosteria Maya Restaurant

Langosteria Maya Restaurant
Avenue 30 Frente Centro Comercial Mega | Colonia Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 984 873 1037
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 842 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Langosteria Maya Restaurant Founded in October 2005, our menu offers the highest quality in Seafood fres co day. Prepared with a good flavor and magical touch of our chef combined with the personal attention of its owner in order to satisfy the most discerning palates. In our cellar we have an extensive collection of national and international wines. The main hall has a palapa waterfall garden terrace that blends a fresh and pleasant environment to make your stay a pleasant ...
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

This was very reasonably priced. You can pick out your fish if u care to do so. Lobster is huge. We weren't hungry when we left. Food is great recommend fish tacos too. Chicken nachos are great for an appetizer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    78
    20
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Seafood Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

That's it! Top notch seafood and great warm service!
Went to celebrate my birthday with my wife, we shared a mixed ceviche an octopus ajillo and chilli and we also shared a live lobster...it was to die for!
Don't be fooled by the fact that these lobster don't have claws they are very meaty and juicy, not rubbery at all, and much better than the US lobsters and as expensive. We got a 1.3 kilo lobster enough to be shared by two people. We also had a bottle of their best Chilean white wine and our bill was around $160 US without tips. We also had coffees and shared a dessert! besides the fact that seafood in the US is tasteless ;) now try to have a similar dinner in NY and you're gonna spend more than double the price!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mind Blowing Lobster”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Looking to recreate our Lobster fantasies from a culinary trip to southern Italy two years ago we headed to this La Pesca for a shellfish themed birthday dinner. We started with the Grilled Octopus appetizer which sent shivers up and down my spine. Soft silky texture, succulent and fresh, it was grilled and served warm over a bed of crisp shredded lettuce with strips of sweet (not spicy) pepper. This dish is indescribably tasty with a balance of flavor that puts the very best restaurants in Greece and Italy to shame. Absolutely not to be missed! The main event was the freshly caught local grilled lobster, a 2.25 kilo specimen that was the sweetest, most decadent, self indulgent thing we ate in recent history. A spicy garlic/picante pepper oil drizzled on top elevated the dish to utter perfection. The plate was served with lovely steamed veggies and a small side of rice. To top it off, we had the most extraordinary coconut ice cream made by an artisanal local group and served artistically in a half-shell of a coconut, a feast for the eyes and the palate. The service was warm, friendly and very professional. Needless to say we will be returning before the end of the week!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We ducked into this place to get out of the rain and ended up staying for lunch. What good timing for us. Our fish was perfectly prepared and everything tasted great. The drinks were very tasty and by the time we got done with our meal the rain stopped. Excellent service! We'll be back again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Still the best place in Playa for seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I've been coming here for years, and while a part of me is disappointed that it's become more touristy (they all know English now, have English menus, and even sell English T-shirts) it's still the same great food and reasonable prices. I always get the pulpo al ajillo (octopus with garlic - not everyone can cook it as good as them! the ceviche is also excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Langosteria Maya Restaurant also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Langosteria Maya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langosteria Maya Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.