We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so off putting i didn't stay to eat” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amaro

Amaro
calle 59 numero 507 x 60 y 62 Centro Historico, Merida 97000, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 430 Restaurants in Merida
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“so off putting i didn't stay to eat”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

it seemed creepy -- weird descriptions of the food, and it was advertised as being vegetarian friendly, but i had trouble finding anything vegetarian that seemed at all appealing.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    145
    46
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice courtyard lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Liked the outdoor courtyard. Very pretty. Good, attentive service by older gentleman. A little pricey for what we got, but ok - we're on vacation. My gazpacho was very different from mine, but it was cold and tasty. Michael had a lasagna that he said was very good.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The atmosphere was wonderful - sitting in the courtyard with a folk singer performing and art around the perimeter! The food was excellent and we were not rushed. We are not lovers of spicy food and the food here was perfect. Don't hesitate to dine here!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Traditional yucatecan food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Lovely courtyard, food was excellent. Highly recommended for lunch or dinner. Close to historical centre.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great food, drinks and music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Got here early one night to let our food digest before the music started but the music turned out to be a great low-key singer with acoustic guitar that didn't intrude. The guacamole pizza is great and the berenjenas rellenas were nice and plain if that's your thing. Also had guacamole, but you can't go wrong here. Deserts were also really nice. Afraid of it being too touristy menu-wise but turned out to surprise us. Also as a meat eater I wasn't left feeling empty after a full vegetarian meal (their specialty). Margaritas had a nice strong kick off them too. Recommended. The nicest restaurant of three we ate in in Merida.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amaro also viewed

 

Been to Amaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.