We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Archaeologists Like it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montejo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Montejo to your Saves list
Hotel Montejo
Street 57 No. 507 | between 62 and 64, Merida 97000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 87 Hotels in Merida
Kutztown, PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Archaeologists Like it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I was staying with an educational group at a hotel on the same block. My original hotel, the Castellano was quite fine, but a bit pricey. My wife was coming to join me for a stay in Merida. So I asked our local guide, Alfonso Escobedo to recommend something in the same central historic neighborhood, but more affordable. He highly recommended the Hotel Montejo, telling me, oddly enough, that "a lot of archaeologists stay there."

I did walk around the neighborhood and poke my head in a few other hotel options, some were a little cheaper. I went with the Montejo and have not regrets. The Montejo was about 600 pesos, about $55 U.S for a double with a/c. We didn't meet any archaeologists. it wasn't crowded, seemed the other guests were Mexican tourists from other parts of the country.

The colonial-style courtyard is lovely, looked like a Zorro movie set. The room had giant doors, comfy beds, large bathroom. One nice thing was two large complimentary 1 liter bottles of water. The other, more costly, hotel charged 20 pesos for opening their water bottle, even to make coffee.

There is a pool at the Montejo, it is small, clean and refreshing. Free wifi. The free continental breakfast was frankly minimal, but a welcome start to the day: toast. fruit plate, and decent coffee.

The folks working the front desk were all very nice, especially David. Right across the street is Maya Chaya, a wonderful restaurant that always has a line.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St.Louis, MO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stay here every summer and have found it to be clean with good water pressure in the shower and plenty of hot water. The hotel has a bit of character as it is a renovated Spanish colonial building. There is a pool on the first level and a sitting area on the second floor overlooking the central courtyard with fountain. During some months the price includes a continental breakfast of toast with juice or fruit and coffee or tea. This was the first time I had the suite in Room 16. It had two full beds in one area and two sofa sleepers in the other room. These could be closed off with doors. Each side had its own minisplit and TV. There were 3 adults in my party, but this room could accomodate 4 adults or 3 adults and a couple of children. It has a great location with only a short walk to Calle 60 and the Plaza Grande. The staff will call a taxi for you and they are all very helpful. This hotel is not fancy or sleek, but atmospheric and convenient!

Room Tip: You can reserve online at the website or call for reservations. They have rooms for 1,2 or 3 people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

Hotel Montejo is in an excellent location close to all the attractions in the centre of Merida. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and we experienced very good service. The building reflects a lot of colonial charm. Breakfast was simple but adequate: fruit or juice, and plain toast. Everything was quite clean. Wifi was included. We were asked to pay for our room each day -- seems to be common practice in Merida.

On the downside, we found the interior of the rooms to be rather old and not well updated; the mattresses were very uncomfortable. Our downstairs room also was prone to noise from the street and the internal courtyard. Overall, it was reasonable value for money, however we also found better value for money elsewhere in Merida.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

I moved to Hotel Montejo after spending one night in run-down Hotel Santa Lucia near Parque Santa Lucía. I discovered the Montejo when walking down Calle 57 and had the receptionist show me a room. Rooms are around a nice patio. They are painted in a bright yellow, have a new and efficient AC and TV, antique style furniture and comfortable beds. The bathrooms are small but nice, washbasin and mirror are in the room. Everything is very clean. There is a swimming pool, but I did not use it. Attached to the Hotel is a small restaurant called Café Royal where you can have a modest breakfast (toast, jam, butter, tea or coffee and fruit) which is included in the room rate. If you order more you'll get a discount on the price listed in the menu. I payed 530 pesos for the room and found it exellent value. Two insignificant 'cons': 1) In the morning you might wake up when the receptionists do their handing-over because the front desk is open air and you can hear them talking. 2) The shower head in my bathroom was a bit fossil. Apart from that, Hotel Montejo is a very nice and peaceful place to stay right in the center of Mérida.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2008

My wife, our 3 teenage kids, and I stayed at Hotel Montejo for 4 nights, and it was excellent. Because we are a party of 5, we rented the Master Suite. The suite was spacious and extremely functional. The complimentary continental breakfast at the hotel restaurant, Cafe Royal, was delicious and the wait staff efficient and friendly. If you're there during the winter months you should make acquaintance with Bob, a U.S. retiree who winters in Merida at the Hotel Montejo. He had many pieces of advice that were quite helpful. Overall, our stay was well worth the price, and we highly recommend it.

  • Liked — courtyard with fountain, hotel restaurant
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montejo

Address: Street 57 No. 507 | between 62 and 64, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 87 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Montejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montejo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.