We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Julamis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Julamis
Save Saved
You added Hotel Julamis to your Saves list
Calle 53 #475B x Calle 54, Merida 97000, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Merida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This small boutique like hotel was wonderful, starting with its owners who are two of the most delightful and helpful guys ever! Great location, walking distance from everything but quiet and delightful, the terrace to chill out in the afternoon after walking all day is fabulous! Great views of the city, it is the perfect place to enjoy the sunset savouring a beer or drink that the owners leave for you in your minibar! Adorable! Nice and cozy, we would definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    39
    3
    4
    6
See reviews for
33
301
61
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a very, very nice place at a good location in Merida. Even though the hotel is very nice and rooms are beautifully decorated, what really makes this place fantastic is the owner. Alex is the best host i've ever met in a hotel and he will do everything in his possession to make you feel comfortable and at home. As he used to be a chef, his breakfasts are to die for - he makes his own croissants and in addition each day breakfast includes a different dish. Everything he serves is home made. If you need something, just ask and he will help you - this guy likes what he does and you can feel it. If we will be around in Merida again, we will definitely return to this place. Highly recommended and the #1 place in tripadvisor is the absolute minimum this hotel deserves.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Hotel Julamis is a hidden gem of Merida. The hotel is centrally located on a quiet street and is convenient to attractions. The main plaza ("El Zocalo") and Avenida Montejo are both within walking distance.

Room designs vary, but all are clean and well-decorated, so you won't be disappointed no matter which you choose. Complimentary breakfast is served-to-order in the beautiful courtyard each day. The hotel features free WiFi and complimentary mini-fridge in each of the rooms.

The hotel proprietor was extremely gracious, even dropping us off at the bus station so that we wouldn't have to pay a taxi. He is a wealth of knowledge concerning Merida, and our best meals and shopping experiences were results of his recommendations. Small touches and details – along with personalized service – make this the best hotel in Merida!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The location of Hotel Julamis is perfectly situated within walking distance of the heart of Merida, yet far enough away from the touristy areas and busy streets. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable. The complimentary breakfasts are out-of-this-world delicious and served daily on the beautiful patio. The owner, Alex, is very kind and helpful. He consistently went out of his way to help make our trip to Mexico worthwhile, offering to do anything from booking a last-minute tour to finding the address of an obscure museum. Also, he is the person to ask for restaurant recommendations!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a very nice, friendly hotel. Well located, you can walk to the center of the city or Avenida Montejo, both the main tourist attractions. The owner and manager is very caring to your needs and serves a delicious breakfast every morning in a relaxing garden. The rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated. Excellent option to stay in Merida.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Julamis Hotel is the best place to stay!!! The hotel itself is beautiful and well thought out and appointed!! It is quiet, perfectly situated, and a wonderful place to both relax and also to use to explore, both Merida and places near-by! We arrived late at night and were greeted by Alex, the new owner, who showed us to our room and made us feel very welcome. He is a knowledgable and gracious host who goes out of his way to help you feel at home and comfortable. Our room was very very lovely: large, well -appointed, with large bathroom and an outdoor patio! Although we didn't use the patio much because of the intense heat, the large door and windows that lead onto the patio allowed our room to be flooded with light. The hotel itself is filled with beautiful hand-painted murals. The "wallpaper" in the upper hallway, is actually a beautiful mural. Breakfasts are served in the courtyard, surrounded by hanging vines and other plants, and centered around a small Moorish fountain. As mentioned by others: the breakfasts are gourmet. All the care to details that is shown in the breakfasts is equally shown in the rest of the hotel! On top of that, Alex is very helpful, kind, and caring!
The Julamis is in easy walking distance to the main Zocolo and also to Paseo de Montejo.

Merida has a lot to offer! It is a beautiful, beautiful city and on Saturday nights, the Zocolo and other important centers in Merida, open their important buildings and all museums to the public for free! There is dancing and singing i offered as well to the public. The Julamis is in EASY walking distance to all these events. We walked everywhere. That's how well placed the Julamis is! Despite being close to important cultural centers, it is located on a quiet and a safe street. we were never bothered by any noise at any time.

Most beautiful place with the best owner-host ! He is the best resource for just about anything!Alex is extremely generous with his time and with his resources. He went out of the way for us: An example: We were leaving the hotel to walk to the Paseo de Montejo and he asked where we were gong. he then offered to drive us there as he a=had a number of errands to run! BTW: There is great Wi-Fi connections, even in your room. Room top garden is very beautiful, as is the rest of the hotel! Can't recommend The Hotel Julamis highly enough!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The new owner Alex is a swiss master chef and it is obvious when you taste his gourmet breakfasts......smoked salmon, baby asparagus, fresh baked croissants and champagne on Sunday...just to name a few. Quiet, romantic hotel within walking distance to main square and outdoor cafes. Beautiful large rooms with excellent beds and a/c worked great. In the evening Alex does tequila tastings on the roof top which allows all the guests to relax, mingle and share tips on Merida and surroundings,
Alex arranged tours and a rental car for us so we did not have to hassle with it,
We already booked the house next door for our next trip to Merida...its an old historic house with antique furniture...lovely...alex manages the house also so will be sure to have gourmet breakfasts! It's a real gem!!!

Room Tip: ask about house next door when you book..a bargain and same great breakfasts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Julamis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julamis

Address: Calle 53 #475B x Calle 54, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#1 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#10 Business Hotel in Merida
#12 Family Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julamis is an urban affordable retreat located within Merida’s Historic District where its personalized service will meet up your expectations and guide your daring explorations throughout Yucatan’s Mayan world, ecological reserves and tranquil beaches. The hotel is composed of two floors accommodating one master suite and 6 standard guest rooms, each with private bathrooms, A/C and mini bars. There is a central courtyard with a lush garden where a complementary… ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Julamis Hotel Merida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Julamis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.