We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes! Go to this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Julamis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Julamis
Save
You added Hotel Julamis to your Saves list
Calle 53 #475B x Calle 54, Merida 97000, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Merida
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yes! Go to this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Not much to add to the existing reviews. Lovely place to stay, sad to leave. The rooms are unique, amazing hand-painted murals throughout, spotlessly clean and great breakfast. A haven of peace and quiet in a manic city!
Breakfast was tastefully served in a lush inner courtyard, with some of the best coffee we've had in Mexico and rustic local made bread. Erid leaves fine bottles of Mezcal at the upstairs bar for guests to access, Tequila la Llave our favorite.
This petit hotel is well run by lovely people. It's position at the top of the table is well earned.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    40
    3
    4
    6
See reviews for
33
307
60
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have recently returned from our third stay in three years at Hotel Julamis and even with all the lodging choices available, we can't imagine staying anywhere else when visiting Merida.
The location is great, within easy walking distance from the plazas, shopping and cultural points of interest, that make Merida a travel destination in the first place.
The rooms are clean and comfortable and the full breakfast, served in the hotel's courtyard is sure to start your day off right.
It's clear that Mel and Erid appreciate their guests and you can expect to be treated like family at Hotel Julamis.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was our third trip to Merida and our second stay at Hotel Julamis. We had originally planned to go to another city in Mexico but when we contacted Mel and found out they had a room available we changed our travel plans and returned to Merida. We have found out in the past that a good hotel can make all the difference in your trip and Hotel Julamis is not just good it is excellent. The hotel is centrally located, quiet and the rooms are very comfortable. Guests are provided with a lot of little extras that mean so much. Rooms come with a refrigerator which is restocked daily with bottled water, sodas and beer. There is a wonderful rooftop terrace which is great for early mornings or for viewing the city lights and stars at night. We enjoyed a special treat this visit when we got to watch a fireworks display from the rooftop terrace. Of course, another special treat is the wonderful breakfast served each morning with juice, coffee, fruit and a choice of eggs. The accommodations are great but the best thing about this hotel is the warmth and hospitality of Mel and Erid. They are truly the best hosts we have ever had at any hotel. They go out of their way to be friendly and to help you with any concern you may have. They are also a wonderful resource for information about the city or day trips. We hope to return soon to Merida and to Hotel Julamis.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Julamis is such a sweet, small hotel.....one cab driver called it a "casa hotel". Its location is just enough out of the bustle of Merida, but near enough to be able to walk to just about all the sites of note in the city. Can't say enough about the very special hosts, Mel and Erid. They are pleasant, more than helpful, and have wonderful senses of humor. The breakfasts, served in a lovely patio, are delicious and substantial. The whole place is clean, clean, clean. Our bed, we had the Corazon room, was good and firm. The decor throughout is interesting, artistic but simple. We stayed here for three weeks, taking day trips out just about every day. That plan worked great for us, the hotel was our respite after a busy day or evening. We would recommend the Julamis to anyone, it is special placet!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is a no brainer. After reading the many wonderful reviews for Hotel Julamis we booked and stayed 5 wonderful nights in Merida. We were not disappointed in any way. We booked the two room Suite Colonial which was spacious and well equipped and had its own private entrance off the main lobby. The breakfast had a very generous fresh fruit bowl and eggs made to order and was a great beginning to each day. We greatly enjoyed the morning conversations and interaction with other hotel guests. Mel was a wealth of information and travel tips and it is easy to see why he has the top-rated hotel in Merida. We had an early departure on our last night and he was quick to prepare a packed breakfast to go - certainly not a normal nor expected service. The location of the hotel is in a very walkable and safe area of the historic centro and was a few short blocks from the main square and other tourist attractions. Safe on street parking was available but I won't spend the money for a rental vehicle on my next trip and will rely on public transportation and the many tourist daytrips which are available with front door hotel pick-up . Thank you Mel for helping to make our first visit to Merida a truly enjoyable and memorable one.

Room Tip: Any room is fantastic. Our Suite Colonial was spacious and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonoma county, ca
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful stay! Mel, the owner, is so very helpful and knowledgeable. Fabulous breakfast and in the eve., on the deck he serves tequila. There is some activity going on in the eve. every night in Merida and Mel will tell you all about it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Our family stayed at the Hotel Julamis during Christmas and it could not have been a more pleasant and special experience. The proprietors have a way of making each guest feel special. The guest rooms and public spaces are both very welcoming a thoughtfully designed, including the murals painted by Mel (owner) and his high quality art objects. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Julamis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julamis

Address: Calle 53 #475B x Calle 54, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#1 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#10 Business Hotel in Merida
#12 Family Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julamis is an urban affordable retreat located within Merida’s Historic District where its personalized service will meet up your expectations and guide your daring explorations throughout Yucatan’s Mayan world, ecological reserves and tranquil beaches. The hotel is composed of two floors accommodating one master suite and 6 standard guest rooms, each with private bathrooms, A/C and mini bars. There is a central courtyard with a lush garden where a complementary… ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Julamis Hotel Merida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Julamis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.