We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible value and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Julamis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Julamis
Save
You added Hotel Julamis to your Saves list
Calle 53 #475B x Calle 54, Merida 97000, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Merida
Biarritz, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Incredible value and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We loved staying here whilst in Merida for 3 nights in December. The place was spotlessly clean and Mel & Eddie couldn't do more to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable from the quick late-night check-in, collecting emergency mail for us, orientating us in the city, sight-seeing and restaurant recommendations and helping with directions to drive out of the city. The breakfasts were lovely and enjoyed in a pretty courtyard. Especially for the price, I wouldn't hesitate to stay again and recommend highly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    47
    4
    4
    6
See reviews for
39
347
62
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Julamis was our home away from home for the past 4 nights, currently staying at another hotel (they didn't have room for all of our days) and can't wait to get out of here.
Julamis on the other hand is peaceful, it is central located but not on crazy main street, great beds, breakfast not only delicious, but INCLUDED! in their already reasonable rates, great coffee, room fridge daily stocked with cerveza gratis, WiFi that works, and best of all: great owners who will give you no bs about what's to explore, where to eat, and when to go.
Cannot fault it, we highly recommend it!

Room Tip: All beautiful, Ramon is sexy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Super clean, nice and friendly hosts giving great hints and fabulous brekfast, all sites in walking distance, cool rooftop with small jaccousy and free tequila and daily refilled free minibar. Absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

As other reviewers have noted, a pleasant stay in a comfortable room with a good breakfast was elevated to excellent by the attentive service by Mel and Eddie. They recommended the Celestum trip to see the flamingos for us, which we highly recommend. We stayed in the Corazon room and really enjoyed having the private balcony.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Our stay couldn't have been better, really.
The small hotel is very cute, our hosts were very nice and helpful, the location was ideal and the breakfast was delicious (and the little courtyard where we had it was so beautiful)...

The rooms are decorated very simply but with taste and includes some of Mel's art.

The breakfast includes fresh fruits, fresh bread, fresh orange juice, eggs (a la mexicana or omelett) and as much coffee as you can drink :)

The heart of Mérida is located about 15 minutes walk. It's very safe to walk back even at night.

The hotel is also very close to the Paseo De Montejo which has a few places to eat and a different style than the rest of the city.

The room includes a small fridge with drinks free of charge.

And the hotel has a nice roof top terrasse, with chairs, a bar, a jacuzzi (although too cold when we were there)... and tequila in the evening...

Without any doubts, if we come back to Mérida, we'll come back to Julamis.

Thank you Mel!

Room Tip: We were staying in the room "El Ramon" which we really liked, on the first floor. The bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We visited Merida in December for 4 days. What a wonderful choice in Hotel Julamis. My room was so clean and comfortable and had a wonderful little private patio (Corazon). The owners, Mel and Erid are warm, friendly and very helpful. Their personalities truly make this hotel special. They provide a delicious breakfast every morning that I looked forward to each day. Everything is delicious, fresh and I never had scrambled eggs that tasted so good. The breakfast toast each day always different and seemed to be homemade organic breads along with an amazing bowl of fruit. One morning after breakfast we spent an hour talking to Mel about travel, politics, people and life! The hotel is very clean and the beds provided the best sleep. Every evening at 6 pm guests retreated to the rooftop deck for tequila happy hour that is provided by the hotel. Walking around the town is very easy from this hotel. I highly recommend a stay at Hotel Julamis on your next visit to Merida!

Room Tip: Corazon has a king bed and private patio and is very nice, but each room has it's own charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Hotel Julamis is a small boutique hotel with a 5-stars service. My partner and I had been traveling through the Yucatan for a week before arriving in Merida, and my partner came down with a bout of diarrhea. Mel and Erid provided us with medication and care that save the rest of our trip. Hotel Julamis is a beautifully designed hotel and our room (Tekit) was very comfortable with a King-size bed. There are organic toiletries in the bathroom and hot water was always available. A bonus is that there were beer, soft drinks, and water for free in the little fridge. A big closet with plenty of hangers was also a plus. We also appreciated that the curtains used were good enough to block sunlight since the sunrise was quite early (around 6 am).

Down at the reception area, there was also a computer with Internet access for guests if you don't bring your laptop or smart phones with you. Breakfast was served in a small but beautiful courtyard. Mel and Erid prepared delicious breakfast for the 3 days we were there. The last day, we had to leave early to catch a flight to Mexico City and they even prepared a breakfast for us to bring to the airport!

The hotel is located on a small street within walking distance to both the Main Plaza to the south, and the Montejo Avenue to the north. From the bus station, a taxi will cost you about 40 pesos (about $3) to the hotel. To the airport, I think it was 120 pesos ($10). Merida is a wonderful town to visit with cultural activities every night. Make sure to be there during the week-end especially Sunday when they close the main street for pedestrian and bike traffic. At night, restaurants will have tables/chairs right on the closed street. Mel makes really good recommendations for restaurants to try.

All in all, Hotel Julamis was the best hotel we stayed in during our 17 days trip to Mexico. And, oh yes, the hotel also has a beautiful terrace on the top floor!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Julamis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julamis

Address: Calle 53 #475B x Calle 54, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#1 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#7 Family Hotel in Merida
#16 Business Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julamis is an urban affordable retreat located within Merida’s Historic District where its personalized service will meet up your expectations and guide your daring explorations throughout Yucatan’s Mayan world, ecological reserves and tranquil beaches. The hotel is composed of two floors accommodating one master suite and 6 standard guest rooms, each with private bathrooms, A/C and mini bars. There is a central courtyard with a lush garden where a complementary… ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Julamis Hotel Merida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Julamis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.