We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Sacnicte Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Sacnicte Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Casa Sacnicte Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Calle 62 # 562 por 69 y 71 | San Juan Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 77 Merida B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Lovely B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The owners were very nice, the rooms very clean. The courtyard area is beautiful. They had excursions available to buy and a very modest fruit heavy breakfast to offer. One road leading there from the CAME/TAME bus stations is not so nice, but the other road (more north) is better. Just a few blocks from the central park area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    26
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
37
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well presented. The owners were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was nice (fresh pastries, fruit salad and yogurt with orange juice and tea/coffee). Recommended.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms would get more light and thus be a bit brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamburg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here in January 2013 friendly genuine people good location nice clean rooms very lauded back. Breakfast is served mornings its simple and delicious fresh fruit toast coffee fresh juice. I found this place great value for money and would recommend it to anyone looking fir a comfortable central and quite enought place to stay

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We are at present staying at the Casa Sacnicte, and wow what a beautiful, charming and wonderful place! Our room is on the ground floor, it is large, beautiful, very comfortable beds, big walk-in closet and large bathroom. Very clean and spacious. The family are wonderful, the breakfast large and hearty and eating it in that gorgeous kitchen is just fabulous. I highly recommend staying here. You can guess where I will be staying when we come back.

I don't understand how anyone can rate this place as average.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was a wee gem of a place - just a few minutes from the main square, with pretty, quiet rooms and brilliant breakfasts. The best thing though were the owners, they were just so lovely and charming. Having breakfast in the kitchen and chatting to the owners was an unexpected highlight of my trip. This wasn't in any of the guidebooks I read, but I picked it because of the reviews on TripAdvisor. I'd highly recommend it to other travellers looking for a cheap and cheerful place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Originally Casa Sacnicte was chosen because of its quiet but central location. What I stumbled onto was an incredibly beautiful, clean and welcoming oasis!
The authentic colonial building has been lovingly renovated to a high standard and hosts Wilbert and Guadalupe went out of their way to make me feel cared for and comfortable. Wilbert is a fountain of information (and help) with his perfect english and deep knowledge of the city. The stunning view from my patio of San Juan Church and the Cathedral was a bonus. . . especially in the evening when they glowed in the twilight.
Starting each day eating breakfast and drinking coffee with this remarkable family was a blessing. I'll be back again and again and will recommend them whole-heartedly to all my colleagues. Thank you!! Gracias!

Room Tip: Room 7 has a huge private patio with a stunning view. I highly recommend this upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Wilbur and Lupita are wonderful hosts. Friendly, helpful and Wilbur is fluent in English.
Casa Sacnicte is located 10 minutes walk, south of the Zocalo in a quiet neighbourhood with few tourists.
Room was splendid, clean, very spacious, Queen sized comfy bed with cable TV and air conditioning. Everything worked fine with no problems. We had our own private and spacious bathroom. Every window had a mosquito net fitted. Free wi-fi worked in the room. Wilbur was very helpful in giving us directions, recommendations of restaurants, even where to find reasonably priced jewellery shops.
Breakfast was delicious, of fresh fruit, fresh local pan de dulce, toast and yoghurt. Fresh coffee, juices and all served in their traditional kitchen. One day we asked Wilbur not to prepare breakfast as we wanted to sleep in, but we came down at 11am and found breakfast waiting for us!
General surroundings are very quaint with a back patio with furniture to sit down. It is in a period building, traditionally decorated and tranquil.
You can book tours directly through the B&B. We booked two tours (Uxmal and Chichen Itza), which were satisfactory, however we were unaware that the entry ticket price of the sites was not included in the tour package.
Overall we thoroughly recommend that you stay at Casa Sacnicte, it was pleasant, relaxing, incredible value for money and exactly what we were hoping for!

Room Tip: If you like this review, we stayed in Room 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Sacnicte Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sacnicte Bed and Breakfast

Address: Calle 62 # 562 por 69 y 71 | San Juan Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest Colonial Family Owned Guest House, we are located in the heart of historical San Juan barrio, just three blocks south of Main Square and bus stations. Eight rooms each with private bathroom and quiet air unit. Experience the concept of complete relaxation in our beautiful colonial decorated house. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Sacnicte Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.