We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for reading!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merida English Library

Merida English Library
Calle 53 #524 x 66 y 68, Merida 97000, Mexico
999 924 8401
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 41 Attractions in Merida
Type: Libraries, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Merida English Library is based on the model of the classic, local public library, which is the centerpiece of every community in the United States and Canada. Its mission is to provide English language materials in all formats to meet the information, educational and recreational needs of English-speaking people of all ages in the diverse communities which make up Merida, Yucatan, Mexico. Its also a great place for a visitor to meet other English-speaking people and see what is going on in the expat community in Merida. Everyone is welcome!
Merida, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place for reading!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I love the atmosphere there! I highly recommend this place to find some interesting books and meet friendly people

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    19
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Books & connections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I do not know of a better source of books and, or social connections in Latin America. + an attractive garden

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Something new has been added.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The English library in Merida offers so much more than what you would expect. Yes, they have books and DVD's and lots of information on local happenings. It's a great place to meet and greet but now something extra is happening and I want to share the fun experience I had. On Tuesdays you can meet around nine in the morning and after some coffee and pastries an informative talk is given on Merida homes and then we were taken to see 4 different homes. The walking was easy as none of the homes are very far away. And what a variety! I was really impressed with the different look and feel of the homes. This is something that could be enjoyed many times. The owners were friendly and the person leading the way was well versed on Merida.
I know I am going again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

right downtown, this is a surprise addition to merida...yes an actual English Library, but as well a gringo social center with many social and fund raising activities.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Friendly staff, pleased to accept your donated books, have books for sale at reasonable prices.
A temporary membership would be a good idea, as the cost to join was quite expensive if you are only in the city for a few months.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merida English Library also viewed

 

Been to Merida English Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merida English Library, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.