We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Arcos Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Los Arcos Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Los Arcos Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Calle 66 #448-B | (49 x 53 ) Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 72 Merida B&B and Inns
Monterrey, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

As other reviews have said, this place is truly a gem. Since you arrived to Los Arcos you feel that you picked the right choice. The house is beautiful, you feel like you are staying in a museum, everything is nice decorated (mexican style). Our room was beautiful, very comfortable and spacious. The B&B is located very close to the main sightseeings (5 min walk to Catedral, La Mejorada, Paseo Montejo), so you can go around and then come back to have a "siesta" and then continuing visiting this amazing city.
Until this moment I've just talked about the accomodation (which let me say again, it is wonderful), but what I think is the main reason that makes this place really enjoyable, is David and his staff (including his beloved dog, Nina). David is the most helpful and attentive host you could expect. He is always trying to make you feel like home and giving you tips to enjoy the city. The breakfast prepared by David and Conchis are marvelous, you should ask for "huevos rancheros" or "tamales", we think they have been the most delicious dishes we had on this trip!
We just have to say thank you David, Juan Manuel, Conchis and Nina, our staying was very pleasant, we really appreciate all of your attentions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
170
16
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Breathtaking and totally charming place (oasis) in the heart of Merida.
You would never suggest what David, the owner of Los Arcos, has bulit in his backyard. It took our breath when we first entered his place. It literally is a peaceful, cosy and quite place in the bustle of Merida. His B&B is quite central, only a few blocks away from the Zócalo. The rooms are a mixture of old & new style. It's amazing. Entering the shower & bathroom you feel like in an ancient Roman place. The pool is worth a swim. David is an awesome host. He cared much about us without being pushy. His breakfast was delicious. We would surely come back when in Merida and would recommend anyone how loves quality B&B and a good chat to come to David's place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

This little 2 room B&B is located in the old city core within easy walking distance of both the main plaza and the lovely paseo Montejo.
From the street you just see a nicely painted old fashioned home with a tall narrow front door flanked by dark colored glass windows.
Ring the bell and David the gracious innkeeper and his cute schnauzer helper will welcome you in to a cool dark antique filled traditional house that is his home.
Walk through the straight dark, high ceilinged hallway to a exuberant back patio with a lovely pool, framed by a variety of tropical palms and other plants.
At the far end of the lovely patio are 2 small buildings each is a guest room.
The rooms are lovely with 14 feet ceilings, filled with art and handicrafts. The air conditioners are powerful. The rooms are unbelievably quiet as they are buried in the center of a large city block. We woke up to bird song every day.
David was a wonderful host, provided good sightseeing tips and gave us excellent breakfast choices. He even lent us towels for our trip to celesta to see the flamingos.

Strong internet signal in the patio.

The patio and pool were delightful. We took a dip in the pool every evening.
Would definitely make this our first choice when returning to Merida.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Los Arcos is the perfect place to stay in Merida, Mexico! It is a lovely B & B, and hidden garden retreat all rolled into one, and the location is within easy walking distance to the central plaza or Paseo Montejo. We stayed for 4 nights (April 2014) in the spacous and beautifully furnished double room. The house and rooms are beautifully designed and decorated with an extensive collection of antiques, artifacts, and art (with quite a few original paintings by the owner/host at Los Arcos). The daily breakfast was a culinary adventure that began with a generous bowl of fresh local fruit and yogurt, orange juice, and all the coffee one could possibly drink (which in our case was a considerable amount). . . followed by dishes such as huevos rancheros, huge omelets, and even assorted gourmet tamales. The pool and garden area is a great place to enjoy breakfast, and/or to cool off and relax on a hot afternoon - a gorgeous and peaceful oasis. David, Dona Conchi, and the friendly fur babies (3 dogs and 2 cats) all made us feel so welcome. We will definitely consider this to be our home away from home on future visits to Merida.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Los Acros B&B is the place to stay in Merida, it is hidden like so many colonial gems behind simple facade, once you enter there awaits you wonderful experience, from the artist interior to the garden area which is a stunning oasis. The pool is a welcome delight to cool off in after exploring Merida.
David was the perfect host, offering a selection of breakfast options of wonderfully prepared food that sets you up for the day.
The room that my husband and I stayed in was fabulous, clean and quiet away from any city noise.
I highly recommend that anyone traveling to Merida spend some time at Los Arcos, it is tranquil, great location with many wonderful restaurants within walking distance. Indeed a hidden gem. Thank you David for a very memorable stay at your beautiful home.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

David welcomed us extremely warmly at Los Arcos. We stayed with David (and his cute adopted stray dogs) back in November 2012 and stayed in a garden room - gorgeous.

The house is beautiful, the breakfast just kept coming and David was super helpful and knowledgable (even dropping us at the bus station when we finally had to leave).

If we go back to Merida, there is absolutely no question as to where we would stay. Los Arcos everytime!

(Top tip: get up to the roof terrace for a sundowner or daytime sunbathe).

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Los Arcos turned out to be a real jewel. Hidden behind blank walls on a quiet street in Merida, you would never guess what a paradise lies behind the door. The pool area is magnificent, surrounded by a lovely garden, and quiet. At the back are 2 gorgeous rooms, beautifully appointed. There is a third, glorious suite upstairs, but we stayed near the pool. David, who runs the B&B, is so nice and helpful. He was attentive and sweet without being overbearing, helped us with everything, made delicious breakfasts to our specifications--even to the point of going out and getting something we asked for that he didn't have--and gave terrific restaurant suggestions. I would go back in a second. We felt so at home, but at a really magnificent home!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Arcos Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Arcos Bed & Breakfast

Address: Calle 66 #448-B | (49 x 53 ) Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate bed and breakfast in Merida, Yucatan. Enjoy a private pool and lush tropical gardens in our luxurious oasis. Within easy walking distance of colonial El Centro, yet quiet and isolated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Arcos Hotel Merida
Los Arcos Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Arcos Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.