We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t Stay Anywhere Else!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Arcos Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Los Arcos Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Los Arcos Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Calle 66 #448-B | (49 x 53 ) Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 77 Merida B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Don’t Stay Anywhere Else!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My family and I stayed at this beautiful B &B over the holidays and I can’t say enough positive things about my experience. First we showed up with an extra person which David (the owner) was totally accommodating about. David was just overall wonderful! Kind and accommodating- talkative when you want to chat and reclusive when I just wanted to read or whatever. He was just the nicest person. Supper helpful in terms of arranging day trips, giving advice regarding activities we were considering, or just general questions like where to exchange money. The guest quarters are beautiful as are the garden and pool; it’s like a tropical lagoon (as the photos demonstrate). The food was also amazing! I highly recommend Los Arcos Bed & Breakfast!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
175
17
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

A wonderful B and B. Beautiful courtyard, comfortable rooms, and a pool for an afternoon dip. David is an excellent host; we miss him already! We spent about 5 days here, and because of David and Los Arcos we had an excellent time. The location is great, it is quiet but just a few blocks to the cathedral on one end and the Paseo de Montejo on the other.

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden room with a double bed. It was quiet and the window looks out over the beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This bed & breakfast is where I stayed with friends on my first trip to Mexico and it was fantastic. The guest quarters were comortable and well air conditioned as well as beautifully decorated with art and local relics. The courtyard where we had our breakfasts was amazing! Its beautiful plants and trees with a refreshing pool was like a wonderland.. The food for breakfast, especially the tamales, was great too. The owner's local restaurant recoomendations for dinner were excellent. The interior decorating of the main residence is astounding and worth the trip for that alone. I can't wait to go back there again and would recommend this establishment and its owner, Dave Reed, to anyone without reservation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Clearly no better time could be had in Merida. David'd attention to detail coupled with his relaxed attitude; made this a fantastic vacation. We spent almost a week in Merida and in fact spent the New Year's break at Loa Arcos. Our celebrations could not have been better! Goumet breakfast with the best tamales in Mexico was only out done by David;s ample knowledge of the area's sites and restaurants. Los Arcos is and will remain our home in Merida for as long as its doors are open!

Room Tip: Both back rooms are excellent; as David to include tamales for breakfast. He has to schedule these w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I cannot sing the praises for Los Arcos loud enough. David Reed is a master of hospitality - warm, inviting and always one-step ahead of his guests. The main house will take your breath away with a stunning floor-to-ceiling collection of antiques, paintings, iconography and sculpture. Walk through, pick up your jaw, find yourself in the back courtyard and drop it again. Tucked away, the courtyard defines serenity with a crystal clear pool, luscious jungle landscape and charming nooks for reading and sipping coffee (or cocktails, who are we kidding)? Fabulous location in the heard of Merida - easy access to restaurants, shopping, museums and all the sights. A steal and a treasure. Thank you David for an unforgettable, magical trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Superb - that's all we have to say about Los Arcos. It's indeed like an oasis in the heart of Merida.

There are thousands of words here about how great Los Arcos is. All true. The minute my wife and I stepped into the gorgeous garden after a 5-hour bus ride to Merida, we felt just refreshed. Although we just stayed 2 nights, we can understand why everybody loves it. Every morning we have a BIG breakfast with lots of fruits/juice/yogurt/cake/etc. Very healthy and delicious! I especially like the perfectly seasoned scrambled eggs cooked by Lucas. In every evening when we come back, we just sit in the garden and relax. Peaceful! By the way, the bed and linens are so comfortable. We had very good sleep every night. Everything is perfect!

The person who made Los Arcos fantastic is David. We arrived at Merida on Christmas Day, with no prior arrangements on tours or anything. We just thought about visiting Uxmal the next day and hopefully Chichen Itza on our way back to Playa. We discussed with David about bus schedule, rental car, tour guide and things alike. There are many potential problems that concerned us. Then, David said, "Let me ask my friend Denis, he may be able to help." We didn't expect much as it's holiday. In the evening, David told us with a big smile that he called Denis several times and finally got him on the dining table. Denis can arrange our tour to Uxmal and, more importantly, our trip back to Playa with a stop at Chichen Itza. That customized tour solved all our problems and cleared all our concerns. We couldn't believe it when we first heard the great news! "Miracle" is the only word jumped out of our minds. What a memorable Christmas day! By the way, Uxmal and Chichen Itza are AMAZING! Without David and Denis, we'd have missed a lot.

The second miracle was on our Day 2. We took a taxi back to Los Arcos, and 5 minutes later my wife realized she left her iphone on the taxi (btw, that is not the miracle). She felt so bad that all the beautiful pictures she took would be lost. David and Lucas immediately called the taxi company for help. David even lit a candle for us. Then, 10 minutes later, the miracle occurred: the taxi driver found the phone, drove back and returned it to us. He didn't hear the radio broadcasting, but he just thought it's the right thing to do. Salute to Merida people! We started to understand why David found himself belong to Merida when he first came there.

Good things happen without a plan. Ture. If you meet people like David, Denis and Lucas, you can expect good things...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just spent 3 days in Paradise! Totally made my trip to Merida a fabulous time.Like all the buildings in Merida the outside door doesn't tell you what is inside.Once you go inside the door you will be suprised, the lush courtyard, pool, the decor. The back courtyard is perfect for drinks and coffee. The rooms are beautiful done each one is artfully decorated, in fact the whole house is like an art show! David Reed in fact is an artist, and his talent is reflected in the decor and beauty of Los Arcos. I highly recommend this wonderful old town residence.

Room Tip: all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Arcos Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Arcos Bed & Breakfast

Address: Calle 66 #448-B | (49 x 53 ) Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate bed and breakfast in Merida, Yucatan. Enjoy a private pool and lush tropical gardens in our luxurious oasis. Within easy walking distance of colonial El Centro, yet quiet and isolated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Arcos Hotel Merida
Los Arcos Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Arcos Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.