We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great new restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apoala Mexican Cuisine

Apoala Mexican Cuisine
Calle 60 471-2 X 55 | Col. Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
+52 999 923 1979
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 430 Restaurants in Merida
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Contemporary mexican cuisine
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“great new restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

we love this restaurant. amazing food and great energy!
we had the ceviche, short rib and tuna tacos and short rib appetizer.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    67
    23
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Maarten-St Martin
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

There are very little few words to describe this restaurant: Delicious, Fantastic, Creative, refreshing, original... We had an excellent dinner, 4 of us! Four different choice of meals, all of them original, absolutely delicious and excellent. The only down side was that we went on a thursday, and it was May 1st, which is international labor day, celebrated in Mexico and most around the world, so there was some kind of dance show on a stage, just next to the restaurant, and the music was so loud that, being sat on the terrace we couldn't keep on with our conversation. I want to say though, it wasn't the fault of the restaurant, as they weren't the organizers of the event, but it would have been an even better experience without this loud musical event next door. I will definitely go back and enjoy this fabulous food next time we are in Merida, which is only a couple of month away from now.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Had Dinner with my girlfriend this evening and It was fabulous!! She had the tuna salad, I the beef. Never had any better.. After the chocolate cake and cocktails. The waiters made our evening and the live music supported it. An absolute recommendation for visitors of Merida. Note: It is not as cheap most mexican restaurants but for the european standards this restaurant would earn a Michelin star and is therefor excellent value for money!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Go there on a Sunday for lunch and get an outside table and watch the locals dance. There is also a flea market outside too which makes the whole thing even more charming. Food is sublime. Delicious, fresh cooking. Great service. Maybe a bit pricey for Merida but if you compare with London prices, there is no comparisson, in any case we felt it was worth every peso!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious food in pretty courtyard setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stopped here for a welcome lunch after a day's sightseeing around the main plaza a little walk to the south. It's well worth strolling up here both for the food at this busy restaurant and the lovely setting on the plaza Santa Lucia. We sat on one of the outside tables - it was about 2.30pm or I think we might not have been so lucky! First up came tasty salsas and tostaditos to whet our appetite, followed by excellent tacos and an incredibly good tuna salad with roasted vegetables and a sweet habanero chilli dressing. The tuna was perfectly seared and the sweet potato, green beans and peppers sweet and full of flavour. We skipped dessert as we were short on time, but I'd bet it's equally good - or just go to Ki Xocolatl next door for thick, dark hot chocolate!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apoala Mexican Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Apoala Mexican Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apoala Mexican Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.