We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Dos Cooking School

Los Dos Cooking School
Calle 68 No. 517 | Colonia Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Los Dos is the only school in Mexico devoted exclusively to the regional cuisine of Yucatán. Whether you are an avid cook, an eager eater, or a professional chef, you will find enrichment in the Los Dos experience. Los Dos has been featured on the Martha Stewart show as well as on Rick Bayless' "Mexico: One Plate at a Time." One-day classes, all inclusive packages and tasting classes are offered.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An Amazing Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Beginning with David's lecture on Mayan cuisine, the day flew by. He is extremely knowledgable and we learned many interesting facts about the Yucatan and its food. Our trip to the market was fascinating with its array of colors and aromas. Everyone in our class was equally involved in the food preparation and the results were delicious! The staff at Los Dos is very friendly and helpful. David's home is lovely and his hospitality is exceptional. We look forward to trying some of our newly acquired recipes back home in Wisconsin. Thank you for a wonderful cooking adventure.
Lynn and John Cerny
Polar, Wisconsin

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elm Grove, WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great day at Los Dos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

What a fun and delicious day. Chef David took us on an exhilarating trek through the market to purchase our ingredients... Then back to his fabulous kitchen where we had lots of laughs along with hands on schooling. Chef has a wealth of knowledge in yucatanean cuisine; his staff is great, too. All in all, an experience not to be missed in Merida. Hoping for a book tour in the midwest to get a signed copy of his new cookbook about to be released!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Estupendo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

One of our best days in Merida. Chef David Sterling is like having a good friend share with you the culinary secrets of a special place. The food was fabulous and we received detailed recipes to take home. By the end of the day we were ready to move to Merida and embrace all that the lifestyle has to offer. David's knowledge of everything Yucatecean is incredible and we look forward to a return visit.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Grand Introduction To The Yucatan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My friends and I took this class on our first day in Merida. Not only did we cook fabulous food and share a delightful dinner but I can't think of a better way to acclimate to a foreign city. We learned so much; history, culture, spices, food and so many other things. We walked to Meridian Market, which surely we would have found on our own but was so much more manageable under David's direction...It's HUGE and my senses were filled and overflowing with all there was to experience.
Los Dos cooking school is beautiful and elegant. The size of the group was perfect, not crowded, we made new friends. Now to recreate those delicious recipes......

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Total Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had been wanting to do this class for a few years and finally had the chance during our recent visit to Merida. Chef David Sterling is a real kick, and kept us laughing and having great fun in his class! We found him very down-to-earth and easy to be around. It's obvious he loves what he does and is very good at it, but what really impressed us is how well-studied he is about all things Yucatan. He gave a very enlightening introductory talk about the history of the area and it's foods which was worth the price of admission all by itself. Everyone participated in the market tour and prep of our meals. The home is stunning with a beautiful pool and tropical surroundings. We took turns learning to make tortillas by hand outside by the shady gardens, it's not as easy as the little lady made it look but we all managed. I can't believe my husband actually did so much cooking, as that is usually my area of expertise, but he had a blast and is still talking about it! We took a break during the day and were encouraged to put our feet in the pool and have something refreshing to drink. David is a good host, very well-thought-out planning, everyone enjoyed it! Highly recommend his class!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Dos Cooking School also viewed

 

Been to Los Dos Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Dos Cooking School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.