We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Oasis in Historic Merida!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Verde Merida

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Verde Merida to your Saves list
Villa Verde Merida
Calle 56 # 468 | 53 y 55 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 72 Merida B&B and Inns
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Perfect Oasis in Historic Merida!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband & I spent 3 nights at Villa Verde. Photos can't capture how beautiful & serene this historic mansion is. It is located only a block or two from the main street making it very pedestrian friendly. The Plaza Grande & the Paseo de Montejo along with all the attractions in between are easily accessible by foot day or night. We had a rental car since we began our holiday in Cancun & were ending it in Tulum. We took a day trip to Celestun to see the flamingos but parked the car the rest of the time. Parking is on a side street; a bit worrisome but we had no issues.

We were greeted by Michael upon arrival. He took us to find a parking spot & gave us a thorough tour of the Villa & our room. He also provided us with city maps outlining all of the main tourist attractions, bank locations, & restaurant recommendations. This was extremely helpful!

Villa Verde has a total of 5 guest rooms. The first 4 are located in the historic building along a beautiful terrace overlooking a small garden & water feature. They offer cathedral ceilings, ornate tile floors, antique windows & doors. We chose the newest room which is an addition to the back of the building. It has a private garden on one side & faces the pool. Although it is spacious, it lacks all of the character that the other rooms have. The bathroom is modern but uninspiring & the furnishings were reminiscent of Ikea. It also had a strong mildew odour. I would recommend one of the terrace rooms instead.

The Villa has a pretty, unheated pool & a few lounge chairs on the patio & a nude sunbathing terrace on the second level. The breakfast area is on a terrace beside the bar overlooking the pool. Breakfast consists of unlimited coffee, fresh O.J., & a creative hot entree. We loved the french toast served with apples cooked in rum; delicious! A complimentary beverage; pop, beer, or wine is served at the bar each evening. Great way to meet the other guests & share stories from the day.

Michael & Robert were gracious hosts; but their poodle Archie stole their thunder! Thanks again for a wonderful stay; highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose one of the 4 historical rooms along the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
51
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

It's taken me quite some time to write my review. This is a truly lovely hotel that is perfectly located. We had a wonderful time in Merida and at the hotel. Robert and Michael are attentive and helpful hosts and really know the hotel business. For example, the beds are divine (a deliberate choice to go for the best on their part). Also, I loved the toiletries provided were fantastic-I'm very picky on that front (FYI, natural/organic and a mild, non-chemical fragrance are important to me, not brands).

I love that they give you time to settle in and then, at your convenience, take time to orient you with a map and recommendations. They really listen to what you want to do. When I saw the pictures of the pool online, I was worried it would be too small, but it's just something about the photo. The pool is a good size! My husband and I definitely plan to return to Merida, and if it's a short visit, we will stay here again! If there were anything I would change it would be this: the occasional smell of smoke bothered my husband, who is sensitive to it, and although most breakfasts were generally excellent, those that are not hot need to be "beefed up" a little.

Room Tip: Room 5 is the most spacious and has a huge closet. As it is at the back, it is the most private. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellington, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I was one of 10 women who went to Merida with plans to relax, explore Merida and spend time looking inward. We had heard that Villa Verde was amazing, but were completely overwhelmed by all aspects of the property!
Michael and Robert have anticipated every amenity you could dream about. Everything was perfect in every way. Each morning I would get my coffee and sit outside my room and be in awe of what surrounded me! I visualize this now as I am surrounded by snowbanks back home.
We were all so fortunate that Michael and Robert knew the perfect places to explore and then expedited the details for us to make it happen!
I would absolutely return to Villa Verde and next time stay longer.

Room Tip: Our room had 2 queen beds and was perfectly located for access to all amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayzata, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Villa Verde was the perfect place for our first Goddess Trip to Merida!
Robert and Michael have not only restored a 250 year old villa to pristine elegance ; they have created a place of peace and quiet in the center of a large city that feeds the body and soul.
A group of women on a self-care trip found everything they needed, and felt supported and cared for by our gracious hosts.
They have created the perfect getaway!!!
We are already planning our next trip.
Could not have been more pleased and grateful .
Connie D

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent ! Room in the back doesn't have the high ceiling like the others do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had a group of 10 women at Villa Verde for a week. We had the entire place to ourselves and we were treated like royalty. Our every need was attended to from early morning until sometimes late at night. Our hosts arranged trips for us as well as airport transportation that was wonderful. We enjoyed 2 fabulous catered dinners and even had our own musician one evening during happy hour and dinner. It couldn't have been more perfect. One week is not enough time to see and do everything, so we will be back for at least 10 days next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I was part of a group of women "of a certain age" who rented the entire villa for a week in January. We are all world travelers with experience from backpacking to 5 star resorts. This villa is not only centrally located, clean and comfortable, but it has a charm and ambience that is hard to achieve in even 5 star resorts. Michael and Robert are gracious and helpful hosts. They helped us connect with interesting locals they thought we would enjoy. Merida was a great travel experience, and our stay at Villa Verde was one of the highlights..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at Villa Verde for 5 nights in January and enjoyed every minute of the experience. Michael & Robert are great hosts and make sure that all your needs are met. We wanted to go to Celestun one day and they went to the trouble of going to the travel agency at 8 for a 9 am pickup(on the same day). That's service! We found our room to be very comfortable and cool thanks to great A/C & a very powerful fan. Loved the bath products also!

Villa Verde is within walking distance of a number of good restaurants as well as most museums and other places of interest. You are given a map with about 20 restaurants and comments on each as well as a Yucatan Today magazine that is filled with maps and suggested day trips from Merida.

Breakfasts are excellent also with a different one each day. If you have to leave for a day trip before the 9 am breakfast time you will be accommodated.

Villa Verde has a lots of public spaces and a wonderful pool and sun bathing areas so if you feel like chilling and doing nothing this is the place to be.

Next time we're in Merida we'll be at Villa Verde

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Verde Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Verde Merida

Address: Calle 56 # 468 | 53 y 55 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Verde Merida B&B/Boutique Inn is a beautifully restored 250 year old colonial mansion and grounds located in the downtown heart of Merida's "Centro". Just steps to everything!While Villa Verde is a huge property centrally located, we feature only 5 guestrooms to ensure your tranquility and comfort during your stay in Merida.Enjoy your tasteful guestroom featuring private bath, premium linens and towels, upscale amenity products, free Wi-Fi, flat screen televisions, safes, iPod/iPad chargers, blow dryers, and much more. All reservations receive complimentary breakfast each morning and complimentary happy hour cocktail each evening in our bar.Pool lovers will appreciate Villa Verde's large waterfall pool surrounded by sun and shade areas, including our roof top sundeck.Stroll or relax in our historic front portico courtyard with mosaic French pasta tile and 5 trickling fountains. The Villa Verde dining room features a guest computer and library of Merida maps and history. Read a book, share cold drinks in our outdoor lounge - or reserve a relaxing massage in our back private tropical garden.Villa Verde Merida is your home away from home while you explore beautiful Merida and the wonders of the Yucatan. We feature on-site spa services, excursion arrangements, and are always here to assist with restaurant and bar referrals, details and directions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Verde Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Verde Merida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.