We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dream in a magical, sweet city.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Verde Merida

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Verde Merida to your Saves list
Villa Verde Merida
Calle 56 # 468 | 53 y 55 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 72 Merida B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
“A Dream in a magical, sweet city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My partner and I booked 2 nights here, and had to add another night because we couldn't tear ourselves away from this beautiful B & B. From a delicious home cooked breakfast, to relaxing on the hammock, dipping in the pool or sitting on the sun-deck, it was classy with such attention to detail. When the brilliant minds of the two (sweet) owners who have a background in hospitality and architecture combine, they create a tranquil, breathtaking space that tempts you to abandon life at home, and move to Merida.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
51
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Villa Verde was so perfect it was hard to leave to explore the treasures of Merida! From the restful seclusion of the room, to the hummingbirds flitting by as I lounged with a book, to the spring fed pool-large enough for an actual swim-every inch surpassed my expectations. Robert & Michael are perfect hosts, making each of us feel special & I could tell how much they enjoyed sharing their chosen city with us. Yummy, healthy breakfast, totally fun happy hours!
The owners have beautifully updated this historic villa with total respect for its past.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This B&B is absolutely wonderful: beautifully renovated villa decorated with taste, spacious and cool room, peaceful pool area and courtyard to rest from the bustle of Merida - Villa Verde is the perfect hotel to stay at while discovering a great city.
The hosts are generous, friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are delicious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The only comment that we will make is that it is up to the expectations you might have by looking at the other reviews: a superb and elegant villa, a secret haven close to the City centre, Michael and Robert as the perfect hosts, splendid breakfasts, and friendly happy hours to socialize with other guests. A perfect place to spend a few relaxing days, with all that Merida and Yucatan can offer you within reach. And you will feel sorry for leaving, just as we did. Even though we are living in France and Merida is a long way from home, we are already planning to go back! Thank you, Michael and Robert!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

What a gorgeous setting Villa Verde Merida is and the Spa Services they offer are the best ever! The Villa is absolutely stunning with the soaring 20ft ceilings, beautiful pasta tile floors and every detail perfectly considered. Furnished impeccably and with the charming hosts Michael and Robert you would think this vacation paradise would be complete with nothing more. However a visit to Villa Verde is not complete without the incredible spa service/massages offered. The beautiful Villa Verde setting for my first massage was complimented with soft music, fresh flowers, and an ice bucket with bottled water and I knew I was in for a treat. Felipe my masseuse was incredible! Obviously highly experienced in massage, Felipe is a master! The session was unrushed and his attentions to my needs clearly his priority, amazing! I thought this experience could never be better. I was only slightly wrong, for my next massage at Villa Verde the setting was on the upper terrazza under the stars. This was HEAVEN!! I can hardly wait until my next Villa Verde Merida visit and an appointment with Felipe!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We are very seasoned travellers and have travelled around the world and stayed in alot of accomodations and Villa Verde is in our top three of all time. This place is absolutely amazing from the minute you walk in through the main entrance and you are greeted by the magical courtyard and the wonderful architecture of this colonial home. This five bedroom home is finished to the smallest detail from the original tile floors to the 20 foot ceilings. We had the pleasure of staying in the King Room, which had a wonderful kingsize bed, air conditioning and was wonderfully appointed to make you feel right at home. The hosts (Bob and Michael) add to your whole experience and make you feel like family from the minute you walk through the door. They are most helpful and will direct you to the local scene from restaraunts to pubs to local tourist attractions. Every morning you are greeted with a wonderfully prepared breakfast (that far exceeds any B and B I have been to) on the veranda overlooking the pool. Every evening they host a happy hour so you can meet with your hosts and socialize with the other guests, which adds to the whole feeling of being with friends.

Villa Verde will be my new measure for all other B and Bs to compare to, this place is absolutely AMAZING. If you get the chance stay here and it will add to your visit to Merida.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful there is not a bad place at Villa Verde.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

From the moment we were welcomed inside, my husband and I knew that we had chosen the perfect bed and breakfast for our stay in Merida. Robert and Michael were warm and helpful from the start (even sharing tips about the city on e-mail before we arrived.) Villa Verde is stunning. The furniture was designed as if for a home rather than a hotel, and what a home it is! Tall ceilings, gorgeous tile floors, and charming touches everwhere make it surprisingly beautiful.
My only disappointment was the length of our stay: too short!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Verde Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Verde Merida

Address: Calle 56 # 468 | 53 y 55 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Verde Merida B&B/Boutique Inn is a beautifully restored 250 year old colonial mansion and grounds located in the downtown heart of Merida's "Centro". Just steps to everything!While Villa Verde is a huge property centrally located, we feature only 5 guestrooms to ensure your tranquility and comfort during your stay in Merida.Enjoy your tasteful guestroom featuring private bath, premium linens and towels, upscale amenity products, free Wi-Fi, flat screen televisions, safes, iPod/iPad chargers, blow dryers, and much more. All reservations receive complimentary breakfast each morning and complimentary happy hour cocktail each evening in our bar.Pool lovers will appreciate Villa Verde's large waterfall pool surrounded by sun and shade areas, including our roof top sundeck.Stroll or relax in our historic front portico courtyard with mosaic French pasta tile and 5 trickling fountains. The Villa Verde dining room features a guest computer and library of Merida maps and history. Read a book, share cold drinks in our outdoor lounge - or reserve a relaxing massage in our back private tropical garden.Villa Verde Merida is your home away from home while you explore beautiful Merida and the wonders of the Yucatan. We feature on-site spa services, excursion arrangements, and are always here to assist with restaurant and bar referrals, details and directions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Verde Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Verde Merida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.