We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Museo del Mundo Maya

Gran Museo del Mundo Maya
C. 60 Norte. | Unidad Revolución, Ex-Cordemex, Merida 97110, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 85 things to do in Merida
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“New”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was very nice, I'm not a a Museum person but did enjoy it, so much to see...If you love the mayan culture this place has a lot to see.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    95
    35
    16
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Interesting museum, lack a clear focus sometimes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Modern, interactive museum, sometimes a bit unfocussed. The explanation are sometimes only in Spanish and Mayan... Far from the centrum but it is possible to grab a bus along calle 60 going north towards "liverpool" and ask the driver for the stop.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“If you are interested in Mayan history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Nicely laid out museum with lots of artifact, all having to do with the Maya. All placards are written in Maya, Spanish and English, not a lot of history is explained but i think that it might be in the video room which unfortunately are all in spanish.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worth a visit but prepare for a sticker shock”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We drove by it a few times and decided to visit on our last day in Merida. The museum is brand new, recently opened in December 2012 and was not listed in our newer Lonely Planet guide. Admission was a whopping 600 Pesos (app. $50) for a family of 4. However, after you tour the museum you realize that the price is somewhat justified. It is super modern with cutting edge technology and high end displays. There are a lot of interactive exhibits with touch screens, iPads and several movies (in Spanish) that are attractive to both adults and school age kids. Definitely go if you have the chance.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good surprise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We heard about this museum, it's outside the city downtown, we take the chance to go there, great way to know about mayan history culture, and they way mayan's build their empire and culture. they give you 50% off showing your student ID even if your are graduate but you have a valid student ID.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gran Museo del Mundo Maya also viewed

 

Been to Gran Museo del Mundo Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Museo del Mundo Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.