We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for lunch in Merida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Creme

Cafe Creme
Calle 41 esquina con 60 Col. Centro | Two Blocks From Paseo Montejo, At the Corner of Calle 60, Merida, Mexico
+52 999 278 5073
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 410 Restaurants in Merida
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: It is owned by a french man who wanted to set a "european" style cafe. He has excellent selection of cheese and makes his own quiche and a "Menu of the day" as well as home made deserts. It is a cosy cafe close to the Paseo Montejo and Archeological Museum. It is a good option for vegetarians as well, as they have great salads and many will enjoy a break from the delicious, but heavy, yucatecan cuisine.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for lunch in Merida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This cafe has a casual and comfortable ambiance. The food is FANTASTIC and the service is wonderful. Great place to stop in and have a big glass of iced tea to cool you off from the Merida heat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronique L, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Creme, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review.

We will be glad to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    25
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This wonderful cafe was just two blocks from our B&B in Merida, and recommended by our friends at the B&B. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced. I especially enjoyed their French hot dog and quiche. One more reason to visit Merida!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronique L, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Creme, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review.
We hope to see you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I regret that we didn't find this place earlier in our stay in Merida. We attempted to go on Sunday and it was closed, and we didn't return until Tuesday. We had to leave Merida early the next day. If we had known how much we would enjoy the food, we probably would've had lunch there several times! It's a little hard to find, a couple blocks West of Paseo de Montejo, but well worth finding. I had the Croque Madame, which was a warm sandwich with ham, lots of cheese, and an egg on top then toasted to perfection. It was delicious! My wife had Quiche with broccoli and blue cheese, also very good. They both came with salad with a honey dijon dressing , beautifully presented around the Croque/Quiche. All priced very reasonably, I think each was about 60 pesos. Set in an old colonial building, its not a fancy place, but very good food, good prices, and the pastries are fantastic as well. Do yourself a favor and have lunch there at least once, and do it early in your vacation so you will have time to go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronique L, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Creme, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks a lot fort you kind review.
We are glad you enjoy that much our Café and if your planning to come back to Merida come and visit us, it we'll be a pleasure to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Indiana
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Can't wait to see what they have done.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

On my second trip to Merida, I was lucky to find the owners of Cafe Creme, who back then had a French bakery and served all kinds of pastries, cakes, French cheeses. I was very to have found them because I wanted to hire a caterer to do a party for me for about 40 persons in my hotels colonial courtyard, to thank their staff, spend some time with Merida friends and other hotel guests, and celebrate the hotel owner's birthday (a curmudgeon who doesn't like birthdays!). These two Patrice and his brother in law jumped in to help me out and produced the most astounding display of cheeses and breads, pastries, and cakes that I have ever seen! These people really know food. I can not attest as to what their new place is like as I haven't been there but I can certainly speak about their food. No wonder they are rated No. 1 restaurant in Merida in just a few months! Congratulations!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronique L, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Creme, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks a lot for your review.
We hope to see you here in the near future as Café Crème is a combination of what Patrice does and some other typical french dishes as quiches, french hot dog, fresh salads and of course our imported cheeses!

Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Great coffee, pastries, and French brunch. Owner always there. Only flaw: no AC, in case you go during the PM s of the hot months.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronique L, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Creme, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Creme also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Creme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Creme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.