We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“colonial charm in a colonial city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luz En Yucatan

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luz En Yucatan
Save
You added Luz En Yucatan to your Saves list
Calle 55 #499 x 60 y 58 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Merida
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“colonial charm in a colonial city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

This is the perfect spot for people who like intimate, small hotels with character, authenticity, and a personal touch. We've stayed here twice and would again without hesitancy. Tom and his mgrs are generous hosts, always around when you need them, ready to answer questions. excellent location in the old city. Nice place across the street for breakfast or lunch, and excellent restaurants a block away. Santa Lucia plaza nearby offers musical entertainment most nights.... For free. Many Mayan sites accessible from here using Turitansmerida, right down the street. Mega resorts are fine for the coast but you can't beat Luz for colonial charm in a colonial city.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    82
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
132
448
61
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We arrived, tired and hungry after a long travel day from Boston to find a nondescript door. No fancy exposure here, but we did find a very warm welcome and nicely designed common spaces. Our room was simple, colorful and charming. As mentioned in other reviews the upholstery and bedspreads could have been newer, the bed a bit firmer, but none of that detracted from our happiness here. Our first room had a second floor patio with hammock overlooking the colorful and small pool. Our second room, much bigger and right at poolside, also had a private patio and hammock. Water is hot; Wifi is good. We were happy with both rooms. Owners Tom and Donard were informative and delightful to talk with. As former travel agents they seemed to know just what rough spots they wanted to polish out when they built Luz en Yucatán out of an ancient nunnery.
Our fellow guests seemed mostly well seasoned travelers, several of whom didn't need to avail themselves of the excellent English spoken by much of the staff. We did notice that many of the American tourists we saw seemed perfectly comfortable in Spanish.(Ain''t that a nice development.) Having said that most other tourists we met in Mérida were Mexican nationals, mostly from DF, the rest were European. North Americans were smallest in number.
Our rooms had fridge, coffee maker and a five gallon dispenser of bottled water. Very convenient. Oh, the two beers in the fridge are a gift of welcome from the hotel. There is a common kitchen if you choose to bypass the excellent selection of eateries nearby and cook a meal. We did that one night and enjoyed every aspect of the experience. The common dining room is a congenial place. There is fresh coffee in the kitchen every morning if you don't want to wake your mate by brewing in your room. No breakfast is supplied. There is a small restaurant across the street which we tried once, not much to our liking. However, a block or two away is clean and tasty breakfast joint, Cafeteria Pop, which seemed to please a lot of the locals as well as us.
Luz en Yucatan wouldn't take our money to hold our rooms for us. All they said was "let us know if your plans change" and their word was golden. What a refreshing treat. This is a good place run by good people.

Room Tip: I can see that the hallway room closest to the office might get a bit of noise. Sorry I didn't n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, anada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I just read the last review and wondered if we'd stayed the same place! We stayed at Luz en Yucatan for only two days in early January and found it really quirky (GOOD quirky) and appealing. For that kind of money you are not getting a five-star hotel, and shouldn't expect one. What you ARE getting is a five-star REVIEW. (And anyway, they aren't really "stars," they're little circles!) You are getting an intriguing old building, simple but attractive furnishings, lovely courtyards, one with a nice pool, and exceptionally welcoming and friendly staff. We had no bugs, no dirt, no noise, no worn out linens. We stayed in The Studio on the second floor, which was huge, looked directly into the trees of the front courtyard, and came with a basic but nicely equipped kitchen and a pleasant place to sit outside the room. My one caution: If anyone other than me is uncomfortable when windows must be covered all the time for privacy (or they come with obscure glass, as some in Luz en Yucatan do), then your should choose your room carefully with the help of staff. The hotel is in a great location, complete with a very good little cafe directly across the street that has a nice patio.

Room Tip: Have a conversation with staff (by phone or email) and tell them about any concerns you might have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Recently spent four days in Merida (first time); definitely going back. We highly recommend Luz en Yucatan to any traveler who wants a unique experience. The staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful; we really appreciated them. Charming vintage construction of wood and tile within the thick concrete walls of an old nunnery - the room doors have windows within windows - our Standard room was clean, well maintained and safe. Two cold beers were already in the fridge when we arrived; there is also a liqueur cart in the hallway, a gratis treat. The poolside area is beautifully surrounded by tropical plants, very calming and serene. We met a few fellow travelers who were kind enough to share their champagne and chocolate as we traded stories seated around a table - thanks Ann! Check out Ki Xocolatl on Santa Lucia Parque for exquisite chocolate - it's on the handy two page guide you'll receive upon arrival. The Luz is close to lots of great restaurants, shopping and the city bus tour. Plaza Grande, by the Cathedral, is just a few blocks away. At the end of our 'all too brief' stay I asked if hotel staff could help us coordinate bus tickets. They purchased the tickets, handed them over and said we could pay for them later (I didn't have enough pesos on me at that moment); how refreshing to find trust! If you seek a low key, friendly and relaxed environment, this is it.

Room Tip: Plan ahead if you want one of the poolside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is an excellent value hotel in a brilliant location in Merida, with really interesting rooms. We had a poolside room with two double beds and a hammock across the middle of the room. The staff were really friendly and the hotel was clean. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

I really can't understand how this hotel gets five stars. We stayed there for a week and did not like it a bit. Here's my assessment: Buggy, dirty, noisy, moldy, old worn out linens, not much of a deal for the money. The location on a nice street is a plus though. I think the owner is very good at gaming this site and the guides. Oh yeah, there's free tequila, but do you really need that in Mexico?





Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuzenYucatan, Owner at Luz En Yucatan, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Here's the deal. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us here at Luz en Yucatan but we are a bit confused by your review.

You orignally had a 21 night reservations with us but after 5 days approached to say you had decided that you didn't want to spend so much time in Merida and wanted to travel around the Yucatan. You asked if you could cancel most of your remaining reservation which we agreed to with no penallty for canceling even though this is our busiest season and we have turned away many reservations for these dates. Actually you still received a 5% discount for your stay of a week or longer. Here at Luz we don't take deposits or have cancellations fees, we try to make it easy on our guests and just ask that you let us know as soon as possible if your plans change. Then you asked to pay your bill with Paypal which isn't somehing we normally do and we even absorbed the fee for this transaction.

Here is where we get confused, when we received your payment through Paypal there was a nice comment in the notes section that I will copy here.

Thanks Tom, We enjoyed our stay here very much Thank you for being so accommodating Bill and Susan

If you really didn't enjoy your stay a bit like you said in the review then why did you write this note and stay for 3 additional nights after you decided to leave?? You can imagine our surprise when we read your review and the tone. We aren't even sure what you mean by "gaming Tripadvisor and the guidebooks" .

Also while Luz is in an old building located next to a church from 1575 and full of character it is clean and we have quality linens and comfy beds.

After more then 7 years at Luz we realize it's impossible to make everyone happy but if you aren't happy here please let us know and we will do our best to remedy the situation.

Thanks,

Tom Williams
Owner Hotel Luz en Yucatan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Don’t be fooled by the plain façade on the street. As soon as you open the heavy, old wooden door, you will enter an oasis in the city. From the many colonial corridors beautifully furnished, to the pool in the secluded courtyard, this is a hidden gem.

We stayed in the top floor penthouse which had an outdoor kitchen, patio, and even a comfy hammock – all overlooking the city. The bedroom was very spacious and equipped with a refrigerator, coffee pot, and purified water; the shower was large also, and the counter had ample space for cosmetics – very rare in the Yucatan.

The location could not be more perfect, adjacent to Santa Lucia square which had live music, dancing and shops, a five-minute to the bustling Plaza Grande with its 16th century cathedral and square which comes alive on Sundays, and 15-minute walk to the fashionable, tree-lined Paseo de Montejo, the elegant, upscale boulevard that locals lovingly refer to as their Champs-Élysées where you’ll find myriad restaurants, shops, nightclubs, 19th century colonial mansions

If you are looking for an authentic experience but with full amenities, look no further. The staff is top-rate, and owner Donard was incredibly friendly and helpful. I am a travel writer who has traveled throughout the region, and this is one of my favorite places to stay!

Room Tip: The penthouse was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luz En Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz En Yucatan

Address: Calle 55 #499 x 60 y 58 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Merida
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#2 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#4 Business Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've arrived! Once an historic convent, now Merida's Original Urban Retreat. We have been inspiring guests since the beginning and we invite you to come and see why. Choose Luz! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luz En Yucatan Merida
Luz En Yucatan Hotel Merida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luz En Yucatan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.