We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luz En Yucatan

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luz En Yucatan
Save
You added Luz En Yucatan to your Saves list
Calle 55 #499 x 60 y 58 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Merida
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Not only is Luz en Yucatan the best place to stay in Merida, it is the best in all of Mexico! The location is perfect, right in the middle of all of the amazing music, food and sites Merida has to offer. Once we checked in, we felt like we were in our own little secret home in the city...very quiet with unexpected touches given the very reasonable price. A beautiful little pool surrounded by hammocks and lush plants, many comfortable spots to relax including a reading room with a great selection of books and magazines, a stocked bar cart for an after dinner drink, printed helpful hints for services and sites in the area...all make for a wonderfully relaxed and welcoming feel. Tom and Donard and staff are friendly, helpful and very warm-they make everyone feel at home.
We're in the middle of a 6 month motorcycle trip through Latin America, and have yet to find any other place in any country that even comes close to Luz in terms of customer service, comfort and a great laid back vibe. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    80
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
126
423
58
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Luz en Yucatan is really a little gem of a hotel situated in a colonial style property just a few blocks and a 5 to 10 minute walk from the impressive and vibrant historic centre of Merida.
The service we received from the moment we arrived at the hotel was exceptional. All the staff members were really keen to help. And the co-owner, Donard, was a wealth of information about the city.
We had a standard room on the first floor overlooking the interior patio. It was spacious, light and airy, and more than adequate for our three night stay. Also it was exceptionally clean and well looked after.
Although it is in the centre of the city, at night the hotel was very quite and this, combined with the very comfortable beds made it very easy to get a good nights sleep.
So, on our return to Merida, which we are already planing for next year, we will definitely stay at Luz en Yucatan again, only this time we might splash out and stay in the penthouse apartment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel is located in a quiet street just a short walk from the main square. It's a lovely, charming place, clean and with very friendly staff. They provide a very useful leaflet with tips for restaurants, shopping etc. We had a poolside room on the first floor which offered a nice terrace and more privacy than the rooms on the ground floor. I would recommend this hotel to everyone unless you want to avoid meeting Americans (as they are there aplenty).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed there three times and have never felt more appreciated as a customer. Donard, Tom, Augustine and Esteban are the most helpful hosts. They go out of their way to make your stay as worry free as possible. From the gracious welcoming upon your arrival to suggestions regarding dining options. I highly recommend the Luz, I know without a doubt in my mind I will stay there on my next trip.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Wow! This hotel is simply awesome. It is hard to judge by an internet search what type of lodgings to really expect but this one was spot on. The reservation was a snap, the directions from the airport were perfect and the welcome beers were the icing on the cake after a long day of travelling. The entire staff was so accommodating and they always took their time to make sure all of our needs were fully met. The hotel has such charm and warmth. The rooms are well appointed and VERY clean, the bathrooms are spotless and well designed and the pool is a little haven. The wifi was great at the pool and the kitchen was well stocked with any cook wear and utensils needed. You can not go wrong staying here!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms were awesome, great access to the pool and wifi connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Perfect central location; very helpful, english-speaking staff; awesome colonial building, with a nice courtyard with pool.... what more does one need? My stay could not have been better, and if I am ever fortunate enough to visit Merida again, I will absolutely stay here. I've been all over the world, and this is one of my favorite guesthouses that I've stayed at. Only drawback (it really didn't bother me) is that there is no on-site restaurant. There are, however, plenty of local places within an easy stroll.

Highly-recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zacatecoluca, El Salvador
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is an wonderful hotel. The staff is exceptionanlly helpful and pleasent without hovering. The rooms are lovely, clean, quiet, with everything one needs. It is located in the heart of the center of town, but on a side street. There is a nice pool, parking, and free "welcome" beers in the in room refrigerater. There was good internet access, and Luz definitely lives up to all its positive reviews. It was reasonably priced for Merida, which tends to be expensive by Mexican standards. Staying here was a very positive experience for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luz En Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz En Yucatan

Address: Calle 55 #499 x 60 y 58 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Merida
#2 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#3 Business Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've arrived! Originally an historic convent now Merida's Original Urban Retreat, we have been inspiring guests since the beginning. We invite you to come and see why. Saludos! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luz En Yucatan Merida
Luz En Yucatan Hotel Merida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luz En Yucatan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.