We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and affordable hacienda stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat to your Saves list
Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Pedro Nohpat | Calle 22 Colonial, Merida, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Merida
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Friendly and affordable hacienda stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The hacienda is beautiful and has been lovingly restored with just 3 guestrooms in its current configuration. Our party of 6 enjoyed 3 nights there and would have been happy to stay longer. Great base for exploring the region without having to deal with the traffic hassles of a central Merida location. Iona and JR were great hosts. Our rooms were lovely and the pool and palapa were a great setting to hang out. Wonderful cooking and enjoyed meals on the terrace outside. Lots of personal attention and great recommendations for restaurants from Iona. Not super luxurious but very comfortable accommodations with great service. Would love to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    10
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
31
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Thank you to Iona and the staff for making our first days in Mexico so special. The house is amazing, the garden, the swimming pool, everything seems enchanted. Our room was clean and very spacious, excellent very fresh breakfast and very precious tips from Iona: check out the restaurants she recommends to you AND the way to get there... it's worth it!!!
The area can seem remote at first, but it is quite close to Merida and the hacienda is definitely worth the detour!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, UK
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hacienda is beautiful and has been lovingly restored. Our room was spacious and comfortable and had a large jacuzzi. Its terrace overlooked the lovely pool which we had to ourselves as we were the only guests at the time. We very much enjoyed our stay and received an extremely warm welcome from our hosts Iona and JR who invited us to share dinner with them and their neighbours and to JR's birthday party during our stay. There is no restaurant at the hacienda so the easiest option is to take a 'taxi' into the nearby Kanasin - an experience in itself. Although not centrally situated it was quite straightforward to get into central Merida to see the sights. We chose the location so as to avoid having to drive into the city centre. Breakfast was cooked to order and was very good. A very personal and different experience from anywhere else we stayed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. A very old hacienda with a lot of character. Easy to reach from the airport or on the hiway to Valladolid. (We also like the Meson de Marquis in valladolid.) We spend a lot of time just within the hacienda relaxing after very busy work in the US. It is also pretty easy to get into down town Merida though we had a car. Only downside is the immediate neighborhood is not the prettiest - very few trees outside the hacienda walls and limited restaurants thought the owners can give you good tips for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Spent three wonderful nights at Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat with two young children (2 and 6). The Hacienda is amazing, a terrific historic property lovingly restored by its owners Iona and JR. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable, the pool is wonderfully relaxing, and the grounds have interesting local plants and animals (parrots especially entertaining for kids, very accommodating place to stay for family with children). Breakfasts of hotcakes or eggs, local fresh fruit, and endless coffee set the mood for the day. Location well situated, on the outskirts of Merida so easy to get into the heart of the city or go day tripping to Mayan ruins, caves, or cenotes. Very affordable, friendly and helpful owners, plan to stay there next time we're in the Yucatan.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

This was the fifth time I stayed at Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat, which is a good indication of how much I like it there. While it is not in Merida Centro, it is in the metropolitcan area of Merida, a short drive to Centro. Or one can take one of two local buses. It is an oasis of tranquiity, with two swimming pools and lovely grounds. Hundreds of birds nest in the vicinity at night and leave early in the morning. So nice to hear birds rather than traffic in the morning. The owners will go out of their way to assist you -- or leave you alone to think and meditate. Your choice. The complimentary breakfast on the veranda -- fresh orange juice, fruit, and just about anything you want -- is a wonderful way to start the day. Made and served by the delightful young Mayan lady, Teresa, who is always smiling. There is a town nearby, Kanasin, and it is fun to take a tricolo into that village to stroll through the market and observe the local comings and going. I was the only "gringo" in Kanasis and I had the opportunity to practice my Spanish (dictionary in hand). People were friendly and helpful. Also, there is a nice. clean, colorful restaurant there -- Susana International -- which serves local dishes.

The hacienda is a lovely place, with a variety of rooms, each different. This time I enjoyed staying in the "Casa Principal" (the main house) in a room with a huge dressing room/bathroom. (Note that the pictures on the hacienda's website are truly representtvie of the property. Add to that the soothing atmospere.)

I highly recomend this hacienda/hotel for those who want a taste of old Mexico in a lovely setting, with modern conveniences. This is an easy-going place and great for families with children (there are even two donkeys to amuse them) as well as for seniors and solo travelers.

Room Tip: For those who are pool-centric, ask for a room right by the large pool. If you want total privacy, n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ponoka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Beautifully upadated hacienda with a friendly and very helpful staff. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms have most modern conveniences. Personalized breakfasts were excellent and staff very helpful. When my wife sprained her foot in a fall in Merida and we stayed put for two days we were provided with an evening meal; even though this wasn't part of the arrangement. The town itself is not attractive and there aren't appealing tourist friendly restaurants. However, it you have a car there are numerous interesting sites in the area, and Merida,a major city, is not far away. If you don't need to be on the beach everyday of your Mexican vacation this hacienda hotel is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat

Address: San Pedro Nohpat | Calle 22 Colonial, Merida, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Vintage Boutique Hacienda Hotel is located just off the highway from Merida to Cancun. Just one kilometer from the Merida city limits, guests can enjoy the peacefulness of a small village along with conveniences of city bus and taxi service right at the Hacienda gates. Guests with cars can save time and the frustration of city driving, having easy access to roads leading to all the major sights. The property has large green spaces, tranquil gardens, pool, indoor and outdoor lounges and comfortable accommodations. On a stroll though the gardens you can stop and chat with parrots or enjoy the three tropical outside aquariums . Tropical plants and fruit trees align your path and regional birds fill the air with their daily songs. For the business traveler or the person who likes to stay in touch, wireless broadband Internet service available.The Hacienda has air-conditioned lounges for dining, socializing and small conferences. The Hacienda has hosts weddings, baptisms, birthdays. Meal and beverage services are available at the Hacienda. This Boutique Hacienda Hotel consists of three suites, differing in style to suit every traveler's need. Hacienda suites are quietly cooled with mini-split air-conditioners and have en-suite baths with walk-in showers. Hacienda suites also offer Jacuzzi or large spa tubs, with semiprivate pool and palapa area. Guests can start their day with a well balanced American or Yucatecan style breakfast included with their rooms. Hacienda San Pedro Nohpats Canadian owners and their staff can provide guests with airport pickup and delivery service, travel assistance, tour bookings, rental car assistance, laundry and child care services. Sightseeing and cultural tours are available from the hacienda. Feel at home while experiencing Hacienda living at Hotel Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat, daily tipping is not required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat Merida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.