We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Santa Cruz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda Santa Cruz to your Saves list
Hacienda Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 86 s/n, Merida 97315, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Merida
Andernos-les-Bains, France
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

The Hacienda Santa Cruz was our special treat, during our Yucatan holiday in February 2009. The hacienda has been entirely renovated and decorated with exquisite taste. Everything about it is absolutely lovely and I highly recommend it.

The restaurant is very nice, but expensive for Mexico. The hacienda is located just outside of the circular road of Merida and approximately a 20 minute drive into Merida which is fine as long as you have your own car or provide a budget for taxis (the owner can arrange this for 200 M$ per trip).

Tarquin Heath, Bordeaux, 01/03/09

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    14
    6
    2
    6
See reviews for
45
58
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
holland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

This hacienda is the perfect place for a holiday: it lies outside Merida ( buses pass by all the time and taxi's are available to get you into town in 20 minutes). Robert and Caroline Franck are such wonderful hosts, friendly, informal and they anticipate on everything you might me needing. Caroline is also a very good cook, she mixes french, creole and mexican food into very tasty dishes. The other staff is very good, they love what they are doing and that's all centered on giving you a good time.
We were there during the Xmas-holidays for 11 days; we were there with our family of 8 persons ( 6 adults and 2 children aged 7 and 9) and we really didn't want to leave. We all travel a lot and are critical people, but our conclusion for once was unanimous: this was the best hotel we have ever stayed in!
The hacienda has 2 pools, a big garden, a spa and rooms ( all different) scattered on the premises, so you have a lot of privacy. We stayed in 2 suites, those were huge with incredible bathrooms ( never seen such big baths) and private terraces.
Everything was very clean and lovingly restored in a beautiful mixture of old and modern style. We really couldn't think of anything that needed changing, but the most wonderful thing remained the atmosphere of staying with friends.
Robert and Caroline speak fluently english, spanish and french, a bonus which helped in arranging trips to everything interesting the Yucatan has to offer.
If you want to have a holiday in which you are spoilt rotten in beautiful surroundings, go to this perfect place!

  • Liked — verything, above all the high level of hospitality
  • Disliked — it's so far away from holland!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

We spent a few nights at the Hacienda Santa Cruz and could believe our luck in finding this place. This hacienda is located on a large property that has been completely renovated by the French owners. There are only 9 rooms but they have been beautifully renovated with all of the modern conveniences. The food is prepared by the owners wife and is amazing . They pair it with wines from Argentina.

We enjoyed the place so much we discussed having our daughters wedding here!

Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Quiet place in beautiful surroundings
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

Hacienda Santa Cruz is a truly special property and anyone traveling to Merida should consider staying here. The hotel has not yet made it into U.S. guide books, an omission that I hope will be corrected in forthcoming editions.

The owners, who acquired the property just seventeen months ago, left their lives in Paris to run this hotel, and their dedication and commitment are evident throughout. The rooms are apacious and the decor is stunning, with gorgeous fabrics and furnishings. The bathrooms are magnificent- large and luxurious. The public areas are beautfiful as well.

The grounds are a delight. The casitas open on to a lovely courtyard, each with its own small balcony and hammock. There are two refreshing pools and a beautiful garden enclosed by high stone walls filled with orange trees and other flora.

The food is terrific. We had splendid meals each night on the patio. The desserts, in particular, were phenomenol. The owners also provide a continental breakfast (included in the price) and fresh eggs. The bread is excellent, and on the last day included homemade cinnamon doughnuts.

The location is incredibly convenient -- near Merida, but much quieter. We visited Uxmal, which is easily accessible, as well as Celustun (to see the flamingo preserve), both of which I highly recommend. We could easily have filled several more days with other jaunts.

Hacienda Santa Cruz is also a wonderful place for families. We were there with four kids, who simply fell in love with the property, especially the wonderful dogs, Daisy and Negrita, who are such a delight!

The owners, Frank and Carolina, are so gracious and such marvelous hosts, and we very much enjoyed meeting them.

All in all, an absolutely first rate experience.

  • Liked — Loved it all
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

Our one week stay at Santa Cruz was beyond perfect! The hacienda is beautiful and quiet, yet in a convenient location in regards of the airport, Merida and most touristic attractions. The place is gorgeous, the renovation is very tasteful, respecting the historical beauty of the construction while adding tasteful decor and modern conveniences (fabulous bathrooms and silent AC). The garden, full of trees and exotic birds, is a great location for a wedding or some other event, and the swimming pool is just perfect, not too hot, not too cold. Breakfast consists of delicious home baked croissants and brioche + exotic fruit juices, and the possibility of having a delicious dinner that is not traditional Mexican food is great (the kitchen at the hacienda offers French Creole food, you do not want to stuff yourself with Yucatecan delicacies all the time!) Robert and Caroline, the owners, are very friendly and helpful, we felt very much at home.

  • Liked — the place is gorgeous and calm
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2006

Hacienda Santa Cruz was the highlight of our Yucatan visit. The grounds were lovely, and the small pueblo just outside the gates was charming and genuine. We felt like we were in a “real” part of Mexico, not just some park designed for tourists. The owner was a lot of fun and quite a character; it’s worth picking her brain for ideas on what to do and where to eat.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2005

This Hacienda is not for every traveler, but for our family it was one of the best places we have ever stayed.
- Location: the Hacienda is located about 20 minutes from the center of Merida. It is easy to find and get around. It is located in a quiet village -- we awoke each morning to roosters crowing (way too early) and hundreds of birds singing. You feel like you are off in the country, not near a major city. We felt comfortable driving at night back and forth from Merida.
- Acommodations: We stayed in the larger of the 2 casitas. It was enormous and very pretty. It easily fit our 2 boys and my wife and I. There was a patio out back as well. There were no other guests, so we felt like we had the place much to ourselves. You should be aware that you can't lock the casita up -- this didn't bother us, but might bother others. The buildings and public areas were all very beautiful and wonderfully restored. The pool was somewhat cold and deep all around. If you travel with small children, this might be an issue. The only negative I had about the setup was the lack of comfortable outdoor furniture -- by the pool and in the backyard patio -- there were only some really uncomfortable wooden chairs.
- The hosts: Fiona and Alfredo were very nice -- but gave us plenty of space -- this is not the sort of place where the innkeeper is looking to be your new best friend (mercifully). That being said -- Fiona is a really interesting person and gave us excellent insight into the local culture as well as excellent touring suggestions. Fiona also could not have been kinder to our children.
- The food: breakfasts were fine -- fresh fruit salad, strong coffee, cereal, muffins, french toast, etc. We arranged for dinners 2 nights, both very good.
- Why it won't work for everyone: this might be to quiet a place for some. It did feel a little odd to be the only guests. I think a large group traveling together might be the perfect arrangement, taking over both casitas. The location out of town might be a turnoff for others as well, although we found it quite convenient for some of the sights (Uxmal, etc.).
- Overall: the hacienda is a place of great peace and beauty. If you are after this kind of serenity in the Merida area, you could not make a better choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Santa Cruz

Address: Calle 86 s/n, Merida 97315, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Merida
#9 Romantic Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Santa Cruz 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hacienda Santa Cruz is an " hotel boutique " with 11 rooms inside a georgous property of 2 Ha of gerdens with centuries trees. We have 2 swimming pool , a SPA center and a delicious restaurant owned by the Chef Raul Ramirez from Puebla. Very closed from the most important atractive sites of Yucatan ( Chichen Itza , Uxmal , Maya pan , Labna etc..etc..)and 15 mn from the historic center of Merida.it is a place of calm and peacefull . a trip in the Yucatan history . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hacienda Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Hotel Santa Cruz Palomeque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Santa Cruz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.