We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Mexican Beach Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Progreso

Progreso
State of Yucatan, Country: Mexico | Progreso Is a City and So Not in Merida!!!! The Attractions Need to Be Updated to Reflect Where They Really Are, Merida, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 41 Attractions in Merida
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Real Mexican Beach Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I've been there a couple times now with friends. My last visit was in February'13. It's a quant fishing village that's evolving as tourism grows. We go to relax on the beach, enjoy the food and cerveca's. It's a slow pace of life which is very welcoming than the pace of life back home.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    149
    79
    32
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cruise ship America”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We took a bus from Merida, and we had chosen a day that we were told would be quiet, without cruise ship visitors. However, when we arrived, the place was full of folks from a cruise ship, and all the vendors wanted US dollars for their wares, being sold at inflated prices. We were happy to get back to peaceful Merida.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL United States
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Progreso Cenotes tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Just got back from a tour of the cenotes while our Carnival Elation ship was in port in Progreso, Mexico. 16 people in my family (teens to 83 year olds) went to Chunkanan cenotes with William Lawson tours. The cenotes are beautiful "swimming holes" with crystal clear water, formed from natural sinkholes, caves or caverns. You get to them by horse-drawn carts that follow an old rail line that had been used for shipping sisal. The cenote we went to was incredibly beautiful and our tour guide Ralf allowed plenty of time for us not only to swim, but so sample some local cuisine--and even climb a nearby pyramid in Acanceh. Since I can't do justice to this beautiful and breathtaking spot, I'm posting a picture. What a terrific experience, and the tour group took great care of us--even provided drinks and life jackets, appetizers at the nearby restaurant and gave us samples of the jicama and mango grown locally.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A well kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Love Progreso! Bought a condo there 4 years ago.
Feel safe walking the streets and the beach day or night!!
Stroll along Progreso's 18 block seaside walkway or sit on the long stretch of a cemented bench to enjoy The Malacone view, people watching will be fun and will take you back in time.
This is where you can still enjoy the true flavor of the old Mexico charm.
This small town of Progreso features a great beach, boat rental to go fishing or just for a ride (very inexpensive), enjoy volleyball, jet ski rentals, and other water sport options.
There's a large crafts market near the pier (the longest pier in the world) as well as other tourist shopping along the town's streets.
There are several restaurants along the beach road that serve drinks and food at their tables and palapas situated right on the expansive beach.
Enjoy live music at the night clubs, and relax in the local bars.
Merida is a beautiful city in the heart of the Yucatan with fantastic examples of Spanish colonial architecture dating back to the 16 and 1700's.
The sheer age of this city gives it an old world flavor, but the fact that so many of these structures were built to last has enabled a level of preservation that makes you feel like you have stepped back in time.
Merida is known as the White City because it's so clean. Now-a-days, one of the most tranquil and safest cities in Mexico.
Enjoy a horse and buggy ride or have fun at the CASINO.
What ever you decide to do to fill up your days,
we know you will come back!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“San Crisanto - worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

If you've made it as far as Progreso or Merida, take a half-day tour to the tiny village of San Crisanto, about 30 miles from Progreso. Get on a small boat with a guide and take a leisurely journey through the mangrove jungle. Your destination - a cenote (a fresh-water spring) that you can swim in.....along with some very friendly tarpon fish. This eco-tourist experience was made possible by the local villagers who spent 7 years creating water canals through the jungle so that others can share the unique environment. Recognized by the United Nations for their contributions to sustainable eco-tourism, this little gem of a village is something special. Only $40 pesos per person (less than $4 US) this is a wonderful afternoon diversion.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Progreso also viewed

 

Been to Progreso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Progreso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.