We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The colors are magical.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Medio Mundo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Medio Mundo to your Saves list
Hotel Medio Mundo
Calle 55 #533 por 64 y 66 | Centro Merida, Merida 97000 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 72 Merida B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“The colors are magical.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2005

The vibrant use of fresh color is hard not to love at MedioMundo. We stayed two nights in our charming large room that came equipped with a very comfortable king-size bed. A highlight of each day was the wonderful breakfast served on the pool patio. Unlimited rich coffee, followed by fruit, yogurt, rolls, jams and cheese--each course served on lovely china. The fluent English-language owners, Nelson and Nicole, are very welcoming and friendly. A wonderful value!

Stayed November 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    33
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
109
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2005

Not much more that we can add to the other reviews, but wow!
Gorgeous place, with fantastic staff and possibly THE most quiet and yet effective AC EVER!

The whole place is beautifully decorated, the location is close enough to town not to be a chore, but far enough to provide an oasis at the end of each day.

Beds are super comfy, pool is lovely and breakfast is delicious....honestly do not have one bad word to say.

NB. You have to go to the restaurant Albertos (details in the hotel info book). Really great building with lots of history, very friendly staff and superb food...best food (inc vegetarian options) throughout Mexico.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2005

One cannot do better in Merida than at this gem of a small inn. This beautifully restored colonial home will be your oasis in the center of town where you can enjoy a sumptuous tropical breakfast before going off on your day's adventures and then return in the heat of the day to cool off in the exquisite pool.

Few accomodations in Merida rise above just being quirky and although that can be fascinating at first, sooner or later you tire of the frayed shabbiness of it all and you want a place to relax, where things have been done with taste and style, are not pretentious and yet still affordable. Hotel MedioMundo is all of that. Owners Nicole and Nelson and their wonderful inn will not disappoint you.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2005

We stayed at the hotel MedioMundo for 2 nights in April and really enjoyed the convenience and safe area to explore the wonderful city of Merida. The owners (Nelson and Nicole) are very friendly and helpful and the staff go out of their way to assist you.
Merida is a lovely city and we are planning our return visit already for next year and will stay at the MedioMundo when in the city. For those that like the sand and sea, we recommend the Chixchulub area north of Merida where there are numerous beautiful beach houses to rent on a weekly and monthly basis. This is also a very safe, quiet region to stay without the hustle and line-ups of all-inclusive resorts. That was our final destination for the week but we will always spend at least 2 or 3 days in Merida now that we have found this spot to relax after shopping etc.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2005

This hotel is a beautifull jewel, almost in the center of town (just 10min walk to the zocalo). The decoration is just fantastic, very colofull! Big rooms with a hammac. Their breakfast is excellent. We really loved this place.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2005

Merida is a fabulous city to see. We felt extremely safe in the city and at our hotel, Hotel Mediomundo. After careful searching, we decided on this hotel because of its inexpensive rate and proximity to the city central. It exceeded all of our expectations. It contributed to our trip so much. The staff was so friendly and helpful and fun. The rooms were simple, but comfortable, clean and cool. They served a delicious breakfast, for an extra cost, each morning of fresh tropical fruits, juices, coffee and MORE! We would lounge by the pool in the afternoon and sometimes with a bottle of wine during the evening. When we return to Merida, we will stay here.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2005

Hotel MedioMundo is a beautiful place of serene respite in the heart of Merida, Yucatan. It's two courtyards, delightful pool, comfortable and lovely rooms--all provide the environment for their wonderful staff to offer delicious breakfasts, kind service, and welcome beverages. I will always cherish starting my Merida mornings with coffee and my book followed by stimulating conversation with co-proprietor Nelson. His wife and partner Nicole helped us in every way we could imagine. Hotel MedioMundo was a great base for our exploration of the ruins at Uxmal and Kabah and the delights of this state capital. We will return.

Hugh (and Kyle) Grefe
Toledo, Ohio, USA

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Medio Mundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medio Mundo

Address: Calle 55 #533 por 64 y 66 | Centro Merida, Merida 97000 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel MedioMundo is an enchanting 10 guestroom hotel located in the historical center of the colonial city of Merida, Mexico on the Yucatan Peninsula. A fine quality gift shop and a cafe serving 100% vegan international cuisine are located on the premises and are open to the public. Hotel MedioMundo has been welcoming travelers from all over the world since 2001. We offer our guests an urban oasis with lush tropical patios and pool, an intimate and serene atmosphere, and genuine Yucatecan hospitality to come home to after a hard day of vacationing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Medio Mundo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Medio Mundo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.