We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hennessy's Irish Pub

Hennessy's Irish Pub
Paseo Montejo No. 486-A, 41 y 43 | Col. Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
999 923 8993
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 340 restaurants in Merida
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Hennessy's Irish Pub: Bringing an authentic taste of Ireland to Merida, Mexico. Opened in late 2010 by Irish expats Sean Hennessy and Colm Cooney, Hennessy's has quickly become one of Merida's favorite watering holes and resturants, popular with locals, expats and travelers alike. Don't miss Hennessy's stunning front bar, cozy Polo Bar in back, open-air patio and billiard room. In addition to its stellar Fish-n-Chips, don't-miss menu items include stunning curries, fresh salads and delicious steaks. Hennessy's also offers a great selection of beer, wine, cocktails and Irish Whiskey. And Guinness, of course.
Tomball, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We kept coming back to Hennessy's because the food is great and the service is excellent. Everything we ate was outstanding! This is a must!! Also we were able to watch American Football so we didn't miss our teams while we were away.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    165
    70
    31
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great City, Great Pub, Great Food and the Best Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Staff that care and share appropriate menu (english or spanish) once they hear you speak or try to...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ireland in Merida ,MX.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Went there with my spouse to view first presidential debate.Despite a stong democrat crowd, great beer , great food and good service at a fairly reasonable price.
Fish and ships were great, no complaints...................................................................................

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Progreso, Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“It's alright but...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Not long ago some friends invited me to an evening out and suggested Hennessy's. I went a while back when they first opened and was not impressed with the food or the prices. My friends convinced me I'd caught them on a bad night or maybe they were still working out the "kinks" of a new restaurant. So I went. Sadly I must stand by my initial impression. My first visit I had an over priced and over cooked hamburger with under cooked fries. The meat on the burger was soooo dry I ended up downing it in ketchup just to eat it. The fries were not fully fired and were limp and still a little cold inside. On this visit I opted for the salmon on a friends recommendation. Now maybe I'm a salmon snob since I grew up near the Columbia River in the PNW, my friend liked hers. But to me the salmon was tasteless. It literally could have been cod or some random white fish. Other then the caramelized onions it had no taste at all in my opinion. The baby potatoes were quite tasty and it was, according to the menu, suppose to come with bacon. Neither mine nor my friends plates had any bacon on them. At first I thought maybe the bacon was in the onions or over the potatoes but nothing tasted like bacon and noting looked like bacon.

To me I fail to see how this location continually gets such high marks. Maybe I've just had two bad experiences? But I highly doubt I'll be talked into trying them a third time. The drinks are fine but by Merida prices fairly expensive. The food would be decently priced if it wasn't so bad. If you go be warned if someone in your party does not speak Spanish you may have problems. The table next to us could not explain their order so we translated for them. There is no parking, none. You either find a spot on the street or walk it or take a taxis.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food! Nice people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in for a late night snack after a movie. Lovely space and beautiful bar. Very friendly staff. We split an order of their lite pasta with chicken and it was plenty for both of us. Perfect al dente pasta with tomatoes, asparagus, red peppers and chicken finished with olive oil and a light dusting of parmasean cheese. The friendly owner stopped by the table to inquire about our food and wished us well as we left. Lovely time!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hennessy's Irish Pub also viewed

Merida, Yucatan
Merida, Yucatan
 
Merida, Yucatan
Merida, Yucatan
 

Been to Hennessy's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hennessy's Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.