We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably one of the few places with a large selection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Bierhaus

La Bierhaus
Calle 23 entre 18 X 20 (Colonia Mexico), Merida, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 430 Restaurants in Merida
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: http://www.lawsonsyucatan.com/2010/05/01/la-bierhaus/ http://v6.yucatan.com.mx/noticia.asp?cx=17$1310030000$4294232&f=20100502
NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Probably one of the few places with a large selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

If I recall correctly something like 50 beers mostly German with a smattering of English and Mexican. Prices vary from relatively inexpensive to a bit high. Staff is very nice. Be warned, no beer until noon!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Little Germany in Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

What a great change from the usual Mexican fair. The dishes are quite authentic and delicious. They have Currywurst, a Berlin specialty I have seldom seen outside of Germany. Their selection of beers is remarkable, They even carry Berliner White Beer (Weisse) a beer you hardly find outside of Berlin. It is a beer sweetened with Raspberry or strawberry syrup, very refreshing and low on alcohol.
The décor is nice and reminds very much of a German pub.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wurst ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Ok, so I lived in Berlin when I was young and every time I'm in Germany I'm looking for that great Imbiss with the delicious curry wurst. When I saw this on the menu I hesitated but reasoned that even tho this is Merida, it's a German restaurant, how bad could it be? Plenty bad let me tell ya. The sausage itself was bad, nothing else to say. Greasy, weird texture. The travesty was the curry sauce. There was absolutely no curry taste whatsoever! None, nada, zilch, kein. Some nasty brown lumpy sauce was applied with no discernible flavor. Unbelievable. I met a known foodie living here who is from Europe. We commiserated. I asked, how hard is it to make curry sauce? The curry is just a powder. He said, ketchup and curry powder, that's it.

Give me a break! The wife had a flatbread that was ok. You'll not see me here again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Welcome Change for Variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Even though Yucatecan food is delicious, it is so nice to have a restaurant of a different ethnic background in the downtown area that mostly populated by Yucatecan fare. A nice variety of beers that are difficult to find anywhere else in Merida. The deserts are good, too. It is a little expensive for my taste, but using their 15% off coupon from my City Passport coupon book helped me swallow the bill a little better. Will return again!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Falls Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A nice change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We ate here twice in the last month and found it a nice change from Mexican fare. We enjoy Mexican food but after being here for two months it is nice to have a change. Both times we enjoyed the experience. Pleasant surroundings in the courtyard, good location in Centro, good service and good food. We liked the large beer menu and enjoyed Tingstao in Mexico!
A little pricy but the food was plentiful and of good quality. Would recommend this restaurant if you like German food and a large selection of beers.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bierhaus also viewed

 

Been to La Bierhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bierhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.