We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, close to all the interesting sights and sounds of a friendly city.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hacienda VIP

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hacienda VIP to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda VIP
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 62 441-A x 51 y 53 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 88 hotels in Merida
2 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, close to all the interesting sights and sounds of a friendly city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Good choice for travelers! Rooms were very clean, up to date and service very personalized!
Would stay again!
The city is amazing, loads of things to do.
Tours to the Mayan ruins are available at the front door.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    10
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
59
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Beautiful hacienda in the old town of Merida. The rooms are sophisticated, comfortable and very tastefully decorated. The interior decor of the entire hotel is out of this world. There is a lovely patio and terrace and small swimming pool. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food is good. Perfect for honeymooners.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Gorgeous hotel and highly recommended. Great location - a quiet few blocks away from the historical centre. Lovely comfortable rooms, and great to have drinks and snacks by the pool in the afternoon. The property is lovely, but its best feature is the staff who were all wonderful. Also recommended is the bar down the street (away from town); a good local.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Lorenzo, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We decided to stay here after reading great reviews on tripadvisor and we are completely satisfied with our selection! I absolutely love the large hacienda style doors on the building facade and from the street, you have no idea what's behind those doors. There is definitely more than meets the eye. We stayed in the suite on the VIP side of the hotel, but as guests on the VIP side we had access the bar next door at the Hacienda Merida. You don't even have to leave the hotel to get some good eats for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The choices are simple, but satisfying and you can also get some local dishes like cochinita pibil delivered right to your room. Our room was gigantic. I could probably have ran some laps around it (ok, maybe not that big, but definitely spacious). We were on the second story and our room had a nice balcony, overlooking the pool. My husband and I definitely sat on the balcony to catch some rays, but had to come back indoors due to the rain. The location is great. It is within walking distance from the main plaza, numerous restaurants, and historical sites. The hospitality is outstanding. Highly recommend this place. It's the perfect balance authentic Merida and luxury! Book room #4!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simcoe, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I am here right now and this boutique hotel is a true gem. You would never know what was waiting for you from the street but as soon as you enter through the beautiful, stately doors, you will be very pleased. The staff cannot do enough for you, in ensuring a most wonderful stay, especially Isak and Jonathan. Although attentive, definitely not obtrusive. Breakfast was wonderful, next to the beautiful pool. A massage with Lupita is a must. Highly recommend this hidden secret to anyone thinking about a stay in Merida. It is worth it! You will not be disappointed. We hope to be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 VIP, but 3 is on the end of the pool. Great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We loved this place! The employees (especially Francisco and Isak at the front desk) are sincerely friendly and welcoming people, and had time to answer any question we had. We spent one night in the Deluxe room: The design is absolutely amazing, the room is a great size, bathroom amazing with great shower and amenities (lots of towels, hair dryer, bathrobe, water). We loved the colonial architecture, the colors, the wonderful swimming pool, the peaceful and relaxing atmosphere, the welcome drink, the tasty dinner and amazing breakfast, the extra large bed with beautiful sheets ....

After two weeks of travelling in Yucatan by car we seriously needed a moment to relax. This hotel was perfect for us and we highly recommend it to other travellers.

Room Tip: the hotel has only 6 rooms. providing very high standards, i am sure you will be happy in any of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarklake, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We discovered Hacienda Merida by Conde Nast's best new hotels in the world article.
The moment you enter through the enormous colonial doors, the outside disappears and you are transported to a sophisticated elegance and quiet. We were "upgraded" to their newest property,
Hotel Hacienda VIP, a couple of steps away,next door. High colonial ceilings, huge rooms, very comfortable with great attention to detail and service. The restoration and modernization of these 2 buildings by owner Alex is extraordinary. Merida is undergoing a historical city restoration and this/these 2 hotels are a "must stay" to truly expreince this city. After taking in the art scene, (we even visited a mini Andy Warhol exhibit) returning to the candle lit pool/ terrace, enjoying a drink by the pool...sublime! An incredible value, less than $150,USD per night. They offer spa services that we did not experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Hacienda VIP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda VIP

Address: Calle 62 441-A x 51 y 53 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 88 hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hacienda VIP 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience our hidden oasis where contemporary art and deco chic meets colonial classicism. In the historical center of the colonial city of Merida, the Hotel Hacienda Merida VIP is our new exclusive getaway for a perfect relaxing vacation in the mist of the exhilarating Mexican lifestyle. Discover this newly remodeled 1820 historical home, with its exclusive 4 luxurious bedrooms, distinguished hospitality and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Hacienda VIP reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hacienda VIP, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.