We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Five Star!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hacienda VIP

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hacienda VIP to your Saves list
Hotel Hacienda VIP
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 62 441-A x 51 y 53 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Not Five Star!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Sorry but we were rather disappointed with Hacienda VIP!
It was certainly pretty, lovely grounds and very peaceful but the room we were given (the large one at the end of the pool) became a concrete cave after our first night. There was no "atmosphere" at all - it lacked so much warmth which would have been easy to rectify. The cavernous bathroom had one shower head (behind a wall like a stable!), poor fittings and was simply not 5 star - a beautiful bath could easily have fitted in. I also like glass on windows and not just shutters and mosquito nets - when open there was no privacy and they started mopping the terrace right by our room first thing in the morning, a small fridge is nice for a 5 star property too - especially as after breakfast there was no way to get any food or drink (two small bottles of water provided, we did get more after asking) and better toiletries please!
Also take note that a "spa" is not just a tent in the yard of the sister property with cloth walls that could be overlooked from close rooms - although the massage was good!
Breakfast was adequate, the bar next door was dreadful - no atmosphere and poor cocktails. a bad Margarita in Mexico!
The staff in the VIP section were certainly nice and the owner charming but we expected a lot more for the price and will not go again...after 3 of our 4 nights we moved to Roses & Chocolate and if you read our review of that hotel you will see why!

Room Tip: Probably the one with the balcony - all the others had no views - some have no windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexhaciendamerida, Owner at Hotel Hacienda VIP, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are terribly sorry you didn't like your experience at our hotel. We will make sure the flaws you pointed out are not overlooked for our future guests.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    14
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
76
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, RI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

My teenage kids and I thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of the Hotel Hacienda VIP. We spent two nights and three days in Merida, visiting el Centro and Los-Dos Cooking School. The staff was courteous and eager to assist us in getting settled and setting up a Cenote tour the following day. In that I had not finalized the day trip to visit the cenotes prior to my arrival, I mentioned to the concierege our desire to do so the next day, and he immediately telephoned his contact and the trip was booked. The friendly driver arrived on time the next morning and a less than internet price was obtained. The hotel is beautiful and the room was spacious, with a wonderful balcony overlooking the pool, with a view of the cathedral towers in the city square. The room was impeccably refreshed each morning, a luxury that seems to have waned in boutique hotels over the past several years. We had breakfast at the hotel one of the two mornings and were impressed with the taste and efficiciency. Checking out was not difficult. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and wish only the best of luck to this fine hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the balcony, located in the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Merida is not the most beautiful city in the world, nor the likely star of your trip in Yucatan. That said, Hacienda VIP (which is just the slitghly more upmarket neighbour of Hacienda Merida) will surely make your stay better.

It is a four room secluded and wonderfully designed property, wrapping around a super tranquil patio. The room we were given was big and beautiful. All common spaces are simply perfect.

A special recommendation goes to the people working there: all increadibly helpful, friendly and sweet. We stayed two days visiting Uxmal and other ruins a short car ride from Merida and strolling around the city. Just a pity we couldn't find a good restaurant in the city.

Anyway, this would be really five star everywhere, even more if you consider its location.

Room Tip: We think all four rooms are just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

A stunning property with impeccable seeive. English speaking waiters. A gorgeous and clean pool, a quiet location, serenaded by songbirds, only metres away from the chaos of Merida grid roa system. It is worth braving the traffic and non-existent road signage to find this oasis if decadence. nothing wa too much trouble and the sun neve stopped shining, not a cloud in sight.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hacienda VIP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda VIP

Address: Calle 62 441-A x 51 y 53 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hacienda VIP 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience our hidden oasis where contemporary art and deco chic meets colonial classicism. In the historical center of the colonial city of Merida, the Hotel Hacienda Merida VIP is our new exclusive getaway for a perfect relaxing vacation in the mist of the exhilarating Mexican lifestyle. Discover this newly remodeled 1820 historical home, with its exclusive 4 luxurious bedrooms, distinguished hospitality and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Hacienda VIP reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hacienda VIP, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.