We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Paseo de Montejo #480 x 41 | Col.Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Merida
Hewlett, New York
1 review
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My family and I recently had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful boutique hotel in Merida. Everything was just perfect. The restaurant was excellent, the spa was wonderful, the rooms-luxurious! Our host, Mr. Kolozs, was warm and accommodating. A truly wonderful stay from start to finish!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    23
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
36
73
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We found out this hotel thanks to local people and stayed only one night, I would have stayed there for a week!!! EVERYTHING PERFECT, the hotel staff pampered us all the time. Beautiful and spacious rooms, very well decorared and with all the conforts. The external bathtub wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

OK, I've read all the other reviews here.

The question is ... what to expect?

This is a boutique hotel, and my experience of boutique hotels is that they have to be painted in muted shitake and have very very moody lighting. The functionality of the place comes secondary to design.

This hotel meets the category expectations.

Yes the staff are variable. Yes the reception is sometimes unmanned. Yes the language understanding is variable. But I think that's all part of it.

The air conditioning in our room was silly. Off or on full, and pointing the wrong way. But it's in now, and they're probably not going to change it. The mini bar never worked. The room was obscured because the view opposite was awful ... but this is also Mexico, and Mexico is not Las Vegas.

Our waiters and staff were all actually delightful. Our main waiter had worked in the US and had perfect English and lots of stories, and lots of deep information on food and drink.

The breakfast was on time and beautifully presented despite what others have said. The juices were all freshly squeezed, the fruit beautifully arranged. The breads and coffee good ... and so it goes on.

The dinners were really really good. We didn't even contemplate going outside to try other food.

We ate in the courtyard which was charming beyond compare. There was also a main restaurant which looked pretty good too.

The decor is very very male. It's billed as romantic, but it does lack the soft feminine touches mentioned in the reviews.

I think it's for romantic weekends. Where love can patch over the quirky shower tubs which you have to be a bit of an athlete to get into and out of.

I'd recommend it to young couples.

Older fuddy-duddies beware :-)

Room Tip: Have a look at a few. I suspect they all vary a lot. Maybe arrive the day before to choose a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were enchanted by this property with it's lovely architectural design and decoration. The staff was amazing and the location was good (along the colonial mansions of Paseo Montejo and a couple of blocks to the start of the downtown area). Room # 5 was huge which they set-up for us with a king size bed along with a twin on the side for our 6 year old daughter. The bedding was soft and very comfortable. The bathroom was amazing with the separate outdoor tub/shower as well as the dual sinks and interior shower. Wi-fi was included as well as breakfast which offered eggs, fresh everything: baked breads, juice, fruit and coffee. The pool outside our door was another plus to the interior decor. My daughter loved the fish ponds. There was nice music playing throughout the hotel but it was never too loud and we did not have any issues with being so near the reception area. I highly recommend this place and would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Room #5 is next to reception and pool area, but still quiet and very large with a separate outdoor t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon. The hotel is beautiful, the room was spacious with an indoor shower and an outdoor bathtub. We loved the restaurant (we had the prix fixe dinner). The best part was that when we ordered room service the second night (after the aforementioned dinner), the food quality was the same and even plated similarly. The folks at the front desk were really helpful as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great hotel, very quaint and yet sophisticated. Loved the shower/outdoor tub combination... great idea! ... and the air conditioning actually works! Good bed although it creaks and sounds... free internet, good breakfast... what else can you ask for? ... well, a bit noisy (room 7) since it's next to the rooftop bar!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had 4 nights at Rosas y Xocolate. The position of the hotel and its design and decor are excellent. We had a problem with our room on the first night as the aircon was too strong and noisy. The management eventually moved us the next day and we were happy with our second room. Great bathrooms and facilities. The pool area is very small but works. Noise from the bar was evident but did not spoil our stay - the roof top bar is a great place for drinks. I would have loved to give this beautiful hotel 5 stars but I can't. It charges at a high level so needs to perform at that level. Breakfast was inconsistent and not that good compared to other hotels we have stayed in in Mexico. Generally the staff were inconsistent. Some excellent and some not really knowing what they were doing. One example - being out all day at the sights and coming back at 3.30pm to find our room had not been cleaned. We then could not use our room for 30 mins while it was cleaned. Petty but very annoying at the time.
Overall, this appears to be the best in Merida and it is a great place to stay. I hope they push forwards on the individual and detailed service required in small expensive boutique hotels such as this.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: Paseo de Montejo #480 x 41 | Col.Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Merida
#4 Family Hotel in Merida
#4 Business Hotel in Merida
#6 Luxury Hotel in Merida
#8 Romantic Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of colonial Merida, on the shaded avenue of Paseo de Montejo, the elegant facade of Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel glows pink: a beacon to luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosas And Xocolate Hotel Merida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.