We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, great Location - Stay on the West side of the hotel...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Castellano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added El Castellano to your Saves list
El Castellano
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 57, 513 | Entre 62 Y 64 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 87 Hotels in Merida
Conifer, Colorado, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Place, great Location - Stay on the West side of the hotel...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

This was a timeshare trade out for us.
Our unit is in Orlando, FL sleeps 8 and has three bedrooms.
Can't fault the hotel for the uneven trade of adjoining rooms, which I will describe later.

We drove in from a week on the East coast (Akumal) and arrived at 1400 on Saturday 27DEC08. The bell hop immediately grabbed all of our luggage, inspected our car for dents and parked it before we could enter the clean - smoke free - lobby. (signs everywhere stating no smoking).

The desk clerk was very friendly and pulled up our reservations immediately handing us the keys without much more than a signature.

When we got to our rooms we were a little disappointed that we had traded our huge place for adjoining hotel rooms. Nice, but basically hotel rooms all the same. One room had a king size bed, mini-fridge, satellite TV/DVD and standard hotel-type sink. The room was on the second floor overlooking the pool and the eastern part of downtown Merida. The bathroom looked a bit aged but the water pressure was great.

The adjoining room had a double pull down bed, mini-fridge, Sat TV/DVD and what we considered our "kitchen". A microwave, coffee maker, standard stainless steel kitchen sink and place setting for four people. This bathroom also looked a bit aged but was was clean with even better water pressure.

We unpacked and went downstairs to the restaurant for a wonderful early dinner, after stopping by the desk to request anextra bed for our son. The restaurant staff provided with tremendous service and spoke moderate english, (we spoke moderate spanish so all was well).

We then walked the area around the hotel and discovered that though the Merida streets were created very narrow in the 1850's the sidewalks were adequate and the traffic wasn't that bad for a city of almost a million people. Yes the streets are a bit dark, but each block had police so we felt very safe.

Right around the corner from the hotel, left as you leave, is the Univerisity of Yucatan which has a tremendous courtyard. A couple more short blocks and we were on to the main plaza square with vendors and touristas everywhere. As we walked back we picked minmal groceries and a couple jugs of water.

The wife and son went for a quick swim in the shaded pool. While my daughter and I relaxed in the room. Yes the hotel uses low output CF bulbs and the lighting isn't great, but it was fine for relaxing. Just needed our reasding lights for seeing our books.

The pool is located on the east side of the 15 story hotel and doesn't get much sun so there is a large sunning deck with an indoor grass carpet as the deck and tons of deck chairs. The sunning deck is a short climb up a single story sprial staircase and seemed well maintaiined.

We then settled in for a great night's sleep...at about 2130 we were shaken out of bed by what we thought were a group of drunks partying at the pool singing VERY LOUDLY. I got up to look down at an empty pool, so I called the front desk to inquire about when the bar closed. The desk clerk politely told me that the hotel doesn't have a bar, but the bar across the parking lot has an outdoor stage.

Now it was Saturday evening, the week before New Year's eve and if we didn't have 10 and 13 year-old children my wife and I would have probably just gone and joined the party. But after checking to see that the kiddos were sound asleep, we turned the AC fan on, covered our ears and went to sleep.

Unfortunately, the pounding bass guitar would have penetrated solid concrete walls...and easily went through the glass windows. The party didn't stop until I was 30 minutes into my work out in the fitness center - at 0430 !

I went down and requested a room on the other side of the hotel, but a cruise ship had checked in and was told that the only rooms available were not adjoining. At breakfast a Manager came up to us and apologized stating that they regularly contact the police and had spoken to the city to get the band stage relocated into the building, but unfortuantely wasn't much more they could do. So we settled into our room and figured that the weekdays would be better.

But let me tell you, the Merida people and the touristas are a partying lot ! The music started each night at 2130 and didn't stop until 0430. Fortunately the bands switched out and actually got a little better, or we were getting used to them...

As we left the hotel the next couple of days we noticed significant remodeling, or actually reconfiguring of the lobby. The staff were removing doors to the adjoining lobby ballroom in preperation for the New Year's eve partty. And what a party it was ! At least 400 people, a band (very good band), great food and cheap champagne. It was a great party that lasted, you guessed it until 0430. Our family had a great time and the staff was again tremendous.

After sleeping in until noon on New Year's day we went down for breakfast. By this time the staff recognized us, called us by name and knew how each of us liked our eggs. What a wonderful feeling of service and care !

The hotel is located in the heart of the city, walking distance to all the great museums and shops. For a different flavor, the Italian restaurant a block east fo the was great. The only thing we would suggest is to get a room on the west side of the hotel...

  • Liked — Great Staff and Location
  • Disliked — Non-exisitent business center
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    75
    38
    9
    8
See reviews for
29
73
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

We were on our honeymoon tour and when we entered the hotel it was really cloudy with cigarette smoke! The room was spacious and it had a nice view. However we had a couple of probs . 1) Fridge was padlocked . 2) ac was leaking. 3)on the second day the maid left no mat for the bathroom, no facecloths and not towels!!! - when we asked for towels i went in to shower and as soon as i took towel to dry, i realised that the towel was dirty!

My husband wanted to use the pool and went downstairs to the miniature pool however when he arrived he found half a dozen kids jumping and splashing all over the place.

There is no place to relax.

Breakfast was ok. nothing grand.

Reception desk lacks client care and everything. very snob indeed.

  • Liked — the room furniture was nice
  • Disliked — the bathroom... needs an uplift
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida, usa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

Well located and with good service. Staff eager to help you.
The hotel is a bit dated but clean and overall safe. It has a restaurant thats fairly good, and a spacious lobby, where a big cloud of smoke concentrates as they allowed smoking. There is no gift shop, food mart or anything else, nothing to do onsite, but a swimming pool that sits on the shade...this is basically a place to sleep and carry on to your tours around merida. I believe there is a tour desk/table on the lobby arranging available excursions.

The rooms are a bit dark, even when you turn all the lights on. seems they use low light bulbs or power voltage is less... i had to keep all curtains open to have some light in my room.
the kitchenette has no furnace, just a mexican microwave. this is an interesting feature as the buttons are preprogram to heat up by button a)tortillas, b)huevos rancheros c) tacos etc...
There was a slight musty smell on my room when i got in, but it seemed to fade as the days went by, or i guess i became ued to it. the AC worked well

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

We chose this hotel for its 5 star rating. I could not be more disappointed. While the rooms were clean, they had a very low- end hotel look.

The pool stays in the shade all day, so don't plan to get any sun while there. The alternative is an ugly rooftop area where they've put some lawn chairs, quite a distance from the pool. Also, there was no pool attendant, no towels, no bar service, nothing.

I expected coffee in the lobby, but none is provided. The little package in the room is available for $2.50. Not what I consider good service.

This hotel costs more than others. I thought I was going to get a lot more for my money, but boy was I wrong.

  • Liked — location to square
  • Disliked — price vs amenities
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony, France
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2007

We stayed in this hotel only one night.

Staff is not nice and they always follow you as a dog!!!

The hotel by itself is in a nice place.

Food is not good!!!

Only rooms are nice!

Conclusion : beurk...

  • Liked — Area
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed February 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca Mex
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2006

Pros. I have been traveling to merida for six months twice a month, I have stayed at four different hotels; I always select "el castellano" as my first option because of the ubication and excelent service; for those who love service this could be the option

Cons. The water in the shower is warm and yes, it never gets hot. And some rooms are very small.

There's a picture of the view from one of the rooms

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2005

I truly recomend it we had a fantastic honeymoon in this hotel we had a honeymoom package everything went according to plan excelent room. The staff is very friendly, the hotel has a travel agency were you can book guided trips to all archeological sites.

The breakfast is also very good with a lot of food to choose from, they also have three excenlent muscians playing there romantic "boleros" during breakfast time who also you do not have to pay for, it is part of the service of this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Castellano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castellano

Address: Calle 57, 513 | Entre 62 Y 64 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Castellano 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Castellano Hotel & Club, are located at the heart of Merida, capital of the Stat of Yucatan, in Mexico. It is the getaway, to an area reach on tourist attractions, We have 170 rooms in 10th floors at our tower:with amenities:Air conditioningKings Size bed or twho double bedselectronic Safety deposit boxWi FIIron and Ironing boardElectronic locks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your El Castellano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castellano Merida
El Castellano Hotel Merida
Hotel El Castellano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Castellano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.