We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Fiesta Americana” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fiesta Americana Merida

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fiesta Americana Merida to your Saves list
Fiesta Americana Merida
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Montejo 451 | Esquina Avenida Colón, Colonia Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 88 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love the Fiesta Americana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was my 2nd visit to the Fiesta Americana in Merida. I LOVE this hotel. When I booked my reservation, I requested a room on an upper floor. Upon check-in they wanted to put me on the 2nd floor, but when I told them about my request, I was given a Club Room at no extra charge. The Club Room offers beverages and light snacks throughout the day free of charge. Our room was spotless, and relatively large. The Lobby area is lovely and boasts a stain glass ceiling. The pool area (the main reason I originally stayed here) is wonderful and has ample lounge chairs and tables with umbrellas. Although the hotel is about a mile and a half away from the old, historic section of Merida. If you are a walker, it’s fairly easy and if not, there are buses that run along the historic Passeo de Montejo or you can easily catch a taxi.
For the money the Fiesta Americana is a bargain.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    154
    47
    16
    11
See reviews for
100
105
27
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

No we did not stay in a room at this hotel, but we did have a coffee and took advantage of their services for tourists.
We found it it nice hotel with an interesting loby including someone playing on a baby grand piano.
The staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful with arranging trips and other advice tourist may like to ask.
As far as location, it was a little far to walk to the historic downtown,even though we did a few times, but is is along the grand boulevard with beautiful mansions and museums and convieniently located to the ADO GL bus station with direct busses to Cancun airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed for one night at the Fiesta Americana in a club room. The hotel itself is beautiful, and was decorated beautifully for Christmas. The room was okay, and price tags on everything, including the packet of coffee to make coffee.
Front desk staff were excellent, and their assistance went above expectation.
The Club Room offerings of hors d'oeuvres were terrible. There were no wine glasses,no red or white wine available. Just no attention paid to the 'bar' and keeping it equipped for guests to have a quiet drink before going out for the evening without having to ask, or wait while the attendant cleaned tables rather than ensuring that new guests arriving were catered for.
The Club Room breakfast was better, however again, the attention to keeping the supplied stocked seemed to be secondary to clearing. It almost appeared that it was a timed activity rather than based on need.

Room Tip: If you can get a deal on a club room, it generally does make a difference with the inclusion of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

If you like your hotels with room cleaning offered 5-10 times per day, you'll love it here. Friendly staff, anonymous rooms where everything is surcharged (wifi, coffee and even bottled water). Full of business types. Expensive.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I spent 4 nights at the Fiesta Americana in Merida and to be honest I would have not picked this place if it had not been selected as a group hotel with a negotiated rate for the event that I was attending. It is a big business type of hotel with a mall on the ground floor, in the more residential modern part of town. It is one of those places where you could be anywhere in the world (except of course when you go to the restaurant), but to be fair, it is very clean and comfortable, with good service and has an outdoor pool, a gym and a tennis court. The breakfast buffet is spectacular and if you probably can skip lunch after that...
You do have to walk about 20/30 minutes to get to the nice historical part of town (or go on a 5 min taxi ride) and you are just off the Avenida Montejo (the Champs Elysees of Merida) which is definitely worth a stroll.
Would probably want to stay at a smaller boutique-type hotel if I went back to Merida, but this is a perfectly decent option (depends what you are looking for of course).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

As we are seasoned travelers, our 2 kids, 11 yo and 7 yo, my wife and I, We stumbled on this hotel by chance while visiting beautiful Merida just because we wanted to spend the new year eve at one of the most prestigious parties. At the time we hadn't yet stayed at the hotel but the next day we had to. The hotel is an art work from the architecture to the works of mosaic glass all over including the roof. Service is spectacular and the grounds are very but very clean. There's a free kids club and the swimming pool is refreshing and immaculate. We played tennis as well and we tried the restaurants. All were delicious. We recommend this hotel and I still wonder why it's only a 4 stars??!! After staying in over 30 hotels all over the world I think my 7 yo daughter will assure any traveler that this hotel should be a 5 stars :) We will be there again between December 30th and January 2nd for the 2013 party.

Room Tip: Go for the club rooms, you will get a delicious breakfast and many upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Although its been better this hotel is a good options when travelling to Mérida. I was very impressed by the housekeeping staff. This hotel is very well located and in general satisfies. Service has gone a bit down in bell boys but otherwise I was quite happy.

The areas are good and the ffact that it was built on using one of Méridas fabulous landmarks certainly helps to make it a great place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fiesta Americana Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiesta Americana Merida

Address: Paseo de Montejo 451 | Esquina Avenida Colón, Colonia Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Merida
#3 Family Hotel in Merida
#4 Spa Hotel in Merida
#10 Luxury Hotel in Merida
#14 Romantic Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fiesta Americana Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Fiesta Americana Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiesta Americana Merida Hotel Merida
Merida Fiesta Americana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiesta Americana Merida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.