We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our First Visit to Merida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Merida Santiago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Merida Santiago to your Saves list
Hotel Merida Santiago
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Calle 74-A # 499 Barrio Santiago - Centro | x 57 y 59-A, Merida 97000, Mexico (Formerly B&B Merida Santiago)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Cheapest Price!
Ranked #6 of 77 Merida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect for our First Visit to Merida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We just returned from 9 days in Mexico. The first 3 began with a drive from Cancun to Merida (avoid the toll highway ("quoda" -$24 usd) and take the highway "libre"). After flying all morning, renting a car, and driving 3 hours (with a lunch stop in Vallolodid), we pulled into Merida after dark and exhausted. We found the HMS on a quiet side street near the Centro of Merida. Its streetside facade gives little away about how warm, welcoming and comfortable it is once you cross the threshold. The owners Jon and Rita greeted us at the door and we entered a poolside dining courtyard that made you completely forget your were in the center of a city of 1 million. Jon offered me a cold cerveza and immediately gave us an orientation of the city, the do's and don'ts, the surrounding area, etc.

Our room was the large king room above the living quarters. It was perfect. I found the bed very comfortable (a bit on the harder side) and the wifi, etc. worked well. The parking is on the neighborhood street in front of the HMS and never an issue. THe breakfasts were local, home prepared with fresh ingredients, and the coffee was excellent. We did use the pool one hot afternoon after a long day of exploring Merida, and it was cool, clean and refreshing.

HMS is not a "Hacienda" or similar resort experience. But if you want a very affordable and lovely appointed hotel with charming hosts and staff, you will not go wrong here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    10
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
194
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

although the term seems overused in the reviews i can't find a better term to describe it. Behind the modest blue wall a beautiful courtyard and stunning pool. we booked the suite on the front above the living quarters and it came with a private patio (no view but great for chilling out) that we really enjoyed. The breakfast is not to be missed and came with fresh fruit, fresh juices, eggs or other main dish, fresh french bread, delicious coffee and some form of amazing desert (yes desert for breakfast) all for $8. We loved the pool and the fact that there were only about 7 rooms so very few guests. Jan and Rita were very helpfull with local tips and trips to do. The only ugh was the spotty internet but i know Jan was working on correcting this.
We will be back here again.

Room Tip: book the room at the front with the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campeche, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place this is. A ten minute walk from the city centre and once your pass the door, you'll experience an urban oasis with the warmth hospitality of Jan and Rita. We had a spacious room with a bubble bath and we felt like royals. Also the custom made mexican breakfast was muy excellente! Thumbs up for Jan and Rita!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Rita and Jan have created a lovely, small hotel and are wonderful hosts. We stayed here for five nights and they were always happy to advise on the itinerary for the next day. The room was very clean and had all the amenities you could wish for. The swimming pool was very clean and nice for dip at the end of the day. The breakfasts were different each day which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed here twice on a recent visit to Mérida. It is an extremely pleasant oasis in the city. The courtyard is lovely and built around a small swimming pool. The whole place is impeccably clean and isolated from street noise. The rooms are very spacious, clean, and nicely appointed. Good beds and nice bedding. Bathrooms are very large with big showers.
Breakfasts are offered as an addition and are beautifully served in the courtyard.
The best part of all is the the hosts, Rita and Jan, are very welcoming, friendly, and helpful with any travellers' needs. They are full of good suggestions about where to eat, from whom to rent a car, and tours offered.
I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: I stayed in the two upper rooms at the west and these were both very good -but I don't think the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The two of us stayed in Suite 1 and it was a very nice experience. Beautiful, small property with a nice courtyard and "hacienda" pool. Plenty of space for lounging and chatting with the other guests. Breakfast, though not included, gave the day a good start. Location was perfect for us, as we like to be near, but not in the center of towns we visit. Best part were the innkeepers, Rita and Jan, who seemed sincere about helping their guests, and providing useful information. Overall a pleasant stay in Merida.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Always good to be back here. A really home away from home feeling. Location is great, centric but in a quiet street in Santiago. Due to the fact that the have just 6 rooms, it will never get crowded or noisy in the hotel and patio. Rooms are spacious and tasteful decorated and have all you need: flatscreen, wifi, airco etc. The owners are more than happy to provide you with any kind of information for your visits in the city or trips outside of the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Merida Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merida Santiago

Address: Calle 74-A # 499 Barrio Santiago - Centro | x 57 y 59-A, Merida 97000, Mexico (Formerly B&B Merida Santiago)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Merida Santiago 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Merida Santiago is a relaxed Yucateca colonial style hotel located in the historic center of Merida. It's walking distance from Merida's main attractions: the central market square, the zoo, Palacio del Gobierno, the old market Lucas Galvez, Paseo de Montejo and much more. Hotel Merida Santiago has six luxurious and spacious suites, each with its own character. Five suites offer comfortable king sized beds and the sixth suite has two queen size beds. All come with refrigerators and valuables safe. Large en suite bathrooms feature double sinks and walk-in rain showers. Two suites have Jacuzzi tubs with hydro jet massage. Massage is available on request. The central courtyard offers guests a place to relax, eat, drink and swim. It's an excellent place to escape Merida's tropical heat. The bar is fully stocked and the pool is open 24 hours a day. We serve a full Yucatecan style breakfast and a vegetarian version is available as well. At night there is a social time in which guests are encouraged to try free local drinks and botanas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Merida Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Merida Santiago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.