We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little oasis of tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Merida Santiago

Save Saved
You added Hotel Merida Santiago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Merida Santiago
Calle 74-A # 499 Barrio Santiago - Centro | x 57 y 59-A, Merida 97000, Mexico (Formerly B&B Merida Santiago)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 70 Merida B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little oasis of tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed for a couple of days and really enjoyed it. Our hosts welcomed us warmly and were helpful, giving us a lot of tips for visiting the city. We would totally command this hotel, which is really intimate with its 4 rooms and perfect for couples.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    246
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
159
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here only a few weeks ago and we had an amazing time. From back packing around central America before arriving in Merida, the Boutique Merida Santiago was like luxury travel! Yann and Rita were incredibly helpful, organizing day trips and train tickets for us which was just added to our bill at the end of our stay. They were also very good at recommending places to eat during our stay. We also loved the personal touches like a bottle of wine to celebrate our honeymoon.
The rooms are very spacious and comfortable and have been beautifully decorated. The hotel is also very affordable.
The hotel is an easy 10 min walk from the central square and 50 MXN taxi ride from the CAME ADO bus terminal. There isn't a lot to eat around the area but central square has many options and is not far away.
We would HIGHLY recommend staying here! Thanks Yann and Rita!

Room Tip: At this stage there are only 4 rooms, we stayed in the 2nd smallest room which was more than big eno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our second time at Hotel Boutique Mérida Santiago, in this beautiful, crazy, busy city called Mérida. When we arrived, we were greeted with a warm welcome by Jan and the Gio (the dog). It was like we had never left. The B&B was even more beautiful then we remembered.

Next morning we were looking forward for Donna Anna's wonderful Mexicain breakfast. In the following days we had a lot of catching up to do with Jan and Rita.

The place was impeccable as always. Jan, Rita and staff makes it their priority to give every guest the attention so they feel comfortable and at home during their stay. There were more amenities for the guests comfort. There was a IPod adapter in our spotless room which was appreciated. A cold drink upon our return from exploring the surroundings of Mérida was always appreciated in late afternoon.

It was nice to be reacquainted with guests from last year.

Thanks again Jan and Rita for your warm hospitality, we can't wait to return to this little oasis of yours.

And yes Gio Rick will share his snacks with you.......

Rick and Louise from Canada

Room Tip: Try Suite #4, it's our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed there in February and it was perfect! Recommend it! Even if it's about 10-15 minutes walk in the center, we would choose it again because the hotel is in a quiet area, what is really recreative in a city like Mérida. We also loved the city of Mérida!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

It's a long story, but after making a reservation here, our lives took a very different turn and we weren't able to keep the reservation. Unfortunately, I got so distracted with other things, I forgot all about the reservation and never cancelled it. When we failed to show up as expected, a gentleman named Juan called me. At the time, Merida was the furthest thing from my mind and I couldn't even figure out what he was talking about. I'm afraid I could have been much nicer to him. But the next day, I went through my records, and discovered that he was right. I called back to apologize and to inquire as to whether they might re-rent the room to help us cut our loss. Juan could not have been more gracious and understanding. (I can't help but wonder if I would have handled the matter as well, if I had been he.) And he was far more accomadating than I ever would have anticipated. What a gentleman! This is the kind of person you ALWAYS want to do business with! And, unfortunately, you don't often get the chance. We are hoping to make it to Merida sometime soon, and we will definitely want to stay here. I can't imagine that we could possibly do any better anywhere else. And besides, I'd like to give my business to this fine businessman.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Jan and Rita could not have been more gracious hosts. This is a welcoming, friendly, charming place to stay. The B& B is well situated in a residential part of the city and therefore quiet yet only a 10 - 15 minute walk from the centre of town. Jan has lots of great advice about things to see, tours, restaurants and other attractions. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious changing every morning of our stay. I highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

stayed 4 nights here and only wish we had stayed longer for our stay,
located close to city center and wonderful zoo,
rooms are massive with lovely spa option, and very intimate place with only 3 other rooms and is peaceful location. the owners are lovely couple who tend to every need and is top class service.
thanks so much jan & rita and hope to stay and see you again as we already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: choose the spa option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Merida Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merida Santiago

Address: Calle 74-A # 499 Barrio Santiago - Centro | x 57 y 59-A, Merida 97000, Mexico (Formerly B&B Merida Santiago)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mérida Santiago is a relaxed Yucateca colonial style hotel located in the historic center of Mérida. It’s walking distance from Mérida’s main attractions: the central market square, the zoo, Palacio del Gobierno, the old market Lucas Galvéz, Paseo de Montejo and much more. Hotel Mérida Santiago has six luxurious and spacious suites, each with its own character. Five suites offer comfortable king sized beds and the sixth suite has two queen size beds. All come with refrigerators and valuables safe. Large en suite bathrooms feature double sinks and walk-in rain showers. Two suites have Jacuzzi tubs with hydro jet massage. The central courtyard offers guests a place to relax, eat, drink and swim. It’s an excellent place to escape Mérida’s tropical heat. The bar is fully stocked and the pool is open 24 hours a day. We serve a full Yucatecan style breakfast and a vegetarian version is available as well. Rita and Jan are the owner-hosts. Besides taking care of your lodging needs, they will share their extensive knowledge of Mérida and the Yucatan to make your visit a great success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Merida Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Merida Santiago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.