We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven in the city.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Real Yucatan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Real Yucatan to your Saves list
Gran Real Yucatan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 56 No 474 Por 55 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 87 Hotels in Merida
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Haven in the city.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Very clean hotel, nice decor inside. Service is good, albeit a little distant. We stayed four nights. We were moved to the upper fifth floor after two days, which was good because we were getting away from the elevator and higher over the pool. Very nice room indeed. There is a restaurant and a small bar. We only had breakfasts there. We did appreciate the pool when the wheather got over 35. Que calor! The hotel is perfectly located between el paseo montejo and el centro. Both areas being accessible by walking. Merida is a city bustling whith activity, people, restaurants, stores, public vendors. It is an adventure to immerse in the crowd at parks and mercados. Especially at night when the people enjoyed the freshness. Having rented a car, we used Merida as our base to go to the sites of Uxmal and Dzibilchaltun. We also went to Celestun and along the coast. Lot of fun. We enjoyed very much Yucatan. Most people are of maya descent and quite friendly. Of course, a few words of spanish are helpful since most people don't speak english.

Room Tip: try to get to higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    42
    21
    8
    16
See reviews for
22
53
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Located close to the old centre of Merida, but just outside of it. It was not as difficult to find by car. The car parking lot is a junkyard, but it's ok.

Hotel seems clean and well maintained (except for the swimming pool, ignore it, I dont think it's ever used). Rooms and beds are great. Had a great sleep.

We ate at the hotel restaurant for lunch and it was surprisingly nice. We didn't eat there for dinner, as there are many great restaurant options in the old centre of Merida. The hotel is within walking distance of the centre.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

The hotel is fashioned from a mansion stemming from the time of sisal wealth barons.
It's beautifully appointed in the public areas, the rooms are spacious and clean, ours opened to an inner courtyard with plants and flowers, and was very quiet. There is free internet available and a friendly and helpful desk clerk. Forget the hotel restaurant.
You can easily walk to the bustling downtown area with good restaurants and a lively local
scene on the Plaza Grande and a crowded Mercado. Day trips are available to all Mayan ruins and the attractions of the Costa Maya. The hotel only features some tour operators, so
do your research in advance as to cost, length of trip and available days.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

It doesn't look like much when you drive up, but walk through reception and you will see a stunning garden in a huge open-air courtyard surrounded by a spacious sitting area and dining room. The rooms are nicely furnished, large and spotless, with marble tiled floors and antique looking wood furniture. The bathrooms have excellent hot water and water pressure, the kind you expect in the big resorts. The restaurant is always quiet and practically deserted. The food was good and affordable. The staff have some English but it helps if you can at least order from a menu in Spanish. The porters and desk staff were very polite and helpful and changed money for us when no one in the centro would accept American $100 bills. Parking was offered but no valet service. Free wireless that actually worked, which was rare during our stay in Mexico. Most impressive was how quiet and still the hotel was, a vast contrast from the noisy chaotic streets of Merida. We got an excellent deal on our booking through Expedia. Very good value. The only complaint I would have is that noise travels so well that on the rare occasion someone passed our room or opened a door on our floor we could hear it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burstadt, Germany
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

We stayed in this hotel during a tour and the room was ok but not great. The hotel advertises 5 stars but has less in international standards. The room we got was made for really small people, I am only 1,72m and I couldn't even stretch my legs in the bathtup when sitting upright. The whole bathroom was really tiny. The only thing in real size were the beds and man, they were comfortable and I didn't wake up once at night ... like normally. What really sucks is the breakfast, the coffee tastes like brown water, the fruit wasn't fresh etc. I can only recommend booking it without and going to a nearby café instead.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

We stayed in a different Hotel and it was moldy so we found this Hotel instead. I was in shock. It is spotless clean, no smell of mold or anything, calm, the receptionist are great and it made the trip a lot better.
For those people complaining up here, I din't get it, Merida is a small town, if you want a 5 start resort with dolphins and turtles go to Hawaii.

This is a good one, trust me.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Gran Real Yucatan hotel is located just a couple of blocks from the main square in the historical center of Merida. It provides free parking. The hotel staff was really friendly and helpful. The room was quite big, very clean and beautiful. We only stayed there for one night but the overall impression is very good. And all that for $87 only.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Real Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Real Yucatan

Address: Calle 56 No 474 Por 55 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 87 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gran Real Yucatan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gran Real Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Real Yucatan Hotel Merida
Gran Real Yucatan Merida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Real Yucatan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.